One killed, 24 injured in Kashmir violence

Gryphon

9 August, 2013

chenab.jpg

One person was killed and over 24 were injured in clashes between two communities in Kishtwar town of Jammu region on Eid Al Fitr on Friday after about 500 villagers raised pro-independence slogans.

The mobs torched over two dozen shops, some vehicles, a petrol pump and government offices before the army was called in to clamp an indefinite curfew in the town.

Police sources said members of the mobs fired at each other, in which one person was critically injured and later died.

"Neither security forces nor the army fired at the mobs. Two columns of the army were moved in after the situation turned ugly. The town is calm now after an indefinite curfew was imposed," a police officer told IANS.

Immediately after reports of the communal clashes, state Director-General of Police (DGP) Ashok Prasad, Commissioner (Home) Suresh Kumar and additional DGP (Coordination) P.L. Gupta rushed to Kishtwar to take stock of the situation and supervise law and order.

Police exercised caution, using only batons and tear gas shells to disperse the rioters, who continued to indulge in violence despite police intervention.

On the district administration's request, two columns of the army were deployed.

The trouble started early Friday when a procession of around 500 people from Hullar, Bandna, Punoo and Bhata villages took out a procession in Kishtwar town, 220km from winter capital Jammu, raising pro-independence slogans.

This prompted members of another community to pelt stones at the procession at Kulid Chowk in the town.

As the news of the clashes spread to the Eidgah grounds where people had gathered to offer Eid prayers, many of them joined the violence.

One killed, 24 injured in Kashmir violence - Khaleej Times

So sad RIP innocent Kashmiris.
@Yzd Khalifa @BLACKEAGLE @al-Hasani @Serpentine @Hazzy786 @Neptune @Mosamania etc
Can i ask you guys why OIC is so quiet against indian terrorism in Kashmir? Why don't your countries take a hard stand against india just like Pakistan has taken against Israel on Palestine issue?
@CENTCOM @jhungary @gambit
Can i ask you guys why is USA not saying any word? US was the country who took a tough stance on South Sudan issue why not on Kashmir issue? Are Kashmiris not humans?

@American Pakistani

The OIC had never been soft on India, in fact, the rejected India's proposal to join them a few years ago for the second time.

However, this isn't what I honestly expected from the OIC, they have to do more than condemnation and rejection of membership.

As I stated earlier, the General Assembly is going to hold a meeting regrading the current upheaval in Khasmir.

I don't think this is a matter of concern to the US though.

So sad RIP innocent Kashmiris.
@Yzd Khalifa @BLACKEAGLE @al-Hasani @Serpentine @Hazzy786 @Neptune @Mosamania etc
Can i ask you guys why OIC is so quiet against indian terrorism in Kashmir? Why don't your countries take a hard stand against india just like Pakistan has taken against Israel on Palestine issue?
@CENTCOM @jhungary @gambit
Can i ask you guys why is USA not saying any word? US was the country who took a tough stance on South Sudan issue why not on Kashmir issue? Are Kashmiris not humans?

do you have default responses saved up? Did you even read the article? It is a communal riot between shias and sunnis.

But I do agree, OIC needs to no something about this issue plaguing their religion.

do you have default responses saved up? Did you even read the article? It is a communal riot between shias and sunnis.

But I do agree, OIC needs to no something about this issue plaguing their religion.

It is indian army installed terrorists who start fighting with Muslims near Jammu when Muslim Kashmiris raised pro-independence slogans. Where did Shia VS Sunni came into this.

What will OIC do here? Make another meeting for condemnation? ha ha ha.. That's a joke! US won't come in and neither will anyone else... It's an internal issue and the border issue is a bilateral one with Pakistan... Is begani shaadi mei koi aur abdullah dewaana nahi hoga, rest assured!

It's so amazing how any incident is turned into an Army vs civilian issue, when Kishtwar has a known Sect issue, that plazed out during milltancy peak in the Kishtwar & Doda belts...

Every one knows how active is Shiv sena & modi terrorist in & around Jammu.

They have been brought by indian army to change the demography of Maqbooza Kashmir.

would you please care to elaborate that a bit? Which Shiv Sena exists in and around Jammu that everyone ostensibly knows of?

Every one knows how active is Shiv sena & modi terrorist in & around Jammu.

They have been brought by indian army to change the demography of Maqbooza Kashmir.

LOL.. if India wanted that ,all the trouble makers from sri nagar would have been thrown out long ago. you know, like what you did with azad kashmir bringing in hoards of Punjabis and marginalizing kashmiris.

Jammu has a larger population of Hindus. so if your sneaked in Punjabis try anything naughty there they will be schooled properly.

No wonder they were stoned. LOL

@American Pakistani

The OIC had never been soft on India, in fact, the rejected India's proposal to join them a few years ago for the second time.

However, this isn't what I honestly expected from the OIC, they have to do more than condemnation and rejection of membership.

As I stated earlier, the General Assembly is going to hold a meeting regrading the current upheaval in Khasmir.

I don't think this is a matter of concern to the US though.
With all due respect mate, there is not a single thing that the Arabs can do against India apart from bandying words.

Relax dude...Turkey is not much active in OIC. But our stance against this issue is very well known as most of you predicted

but It's betweel India and Pakistan, in deed i'm not representing my government so I can't make a clear shot through this subject.