On Surgical Strike Day, Indian DM says Deterrent action against Pakistan will continue at the border

manlion

As the government marks the second anniversary of surgical strikes across the Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir, defence minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Saturday said deterrent action against Pakistan “will continue at the border” even as Home minister Rajnath Singh claimed that the BSF had taken strong action against Pakistani forces at the border “two-three days ago” to avenge the killing of a BSF jawan.

“There are intrusions on the border and we are also eliminating a lot of them at the border itself, not allowing them to come in. I believe an action of this kind will deter Pakistan from training and sending in terrorists,” she told the media here.

“Our action will continue at the border irrespective of whether they have learnt a lesson or not,” she added.

On Friday, Rajnath Singh, while speaking at a public function in Uttar Pradesh’s Muzaffarnagar, had said that “something big” had happened at the border recently to avenge the death of the Border Security Force (BSF) head constable Narender Singh who was killed by the Pakistani forces on September 18 in Ramgarh sector along the International Border.

“Something has happened and will also happen in future. I had told my BSF jawans that Pakistan is a neighbour and so you shall not fire the first bullet. But if a bullet comes from their side, then you shall not count how many bullets you fire,” Rajnath Singh said.

BSF director general KK Sharma, while refusing to giving details of what punitive action the BSF took, said that the force took action at the Line of Control (LoC) to avenge the killing.

“If something happens on the IB (International Border), it is not necessary that we immediately take action at the IB itself. We have taken action on the LoC side to avenge the death of our brave soldier.

India is observing the second anniversary of the cross-LoC military strikes, commonly called the “surgical strikes”, as ‘Parakram Parv’, or the celebration of valour.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...-sitharaman/story-lkCOUkSaPK6v80v3PeMZaM.html

On surgical strike day, BSF says jawan’s death avenged
The BSF chief said some counter-action has already been taken along the LoC. “We have taken sufficient action along the LoC to avenge the death of our soldier. We have reserved our right of retaliation and time."
modi7592.jpg
Prime Minister Narendra Modi at ‘Parakram Parv’, to mark the surgical strikes, in Jodhpur on Friday. (PTI photo)

On the day India marked two years of the surgical strike against terror launch pads in Azad Kashmir, outgoing Border Security Force Director General K K Sharma, referring to the September 18 killing of BSF head constable Narender Singh by a Pakistan border action team, said “we have taken sufficient action along the LoC to avenge the death of our soldier”.

Speaking to reporters in New Delhi Friday, the BSF chief did not go into details of the “sufficient action”. And in Muzaffarnagar, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh too said: “Something has happened, I won’t say what… just two-three days ago.”

In a video uploaded by NDTV on its website, Rajnath Singh can be heard saying: “Kuchh hua hai. Main bataunga nahin. Batlaya bhi nahin. Hua hai, aur theek-thaak hua hai. Vishwas rakhna, theek-thaak hua hai 2-3 din pehle… aur aage bhi dekhiyega kya hoga (Something has happened, I won’t say what. Didn’t declare it. It has happened, it has gone well. Have faith, it has gone well, just two-three days ago… see what happens ahead).”

Providing details on the killing of the BSF head constable by a Pakistan border action team (BAT), Sharma said Narender Singh was shot three times on the chest and dragged to the other side of the fence. His feet were tied and the throat slit. But the body, he said, was not mutilated and the cause of death was due to bullet injuries.

“The gun and ammunition of the jawan, who went ahead of the fence in Jammu’s Ramgarh sector along with seven other personnel, were taken away. This incident is a first of its kind because generally, on the International Border (IB), you don’t have BAT action. This was BAT action.”

Sharma said some counter-action has already been taken along the LoC. “We have taken sufficient action along the LoC to avenge the death of our soldier. We have reserved our right of retaliation and time. We have given tough and befitting replies, causing manifold damage. And we will do it again,” he said.

He said the day the BAT incident took place, the BSF noticed that the other side had emptied. “They were nowhere in sight. They also got their villages vacated, thinking we will hit them. So, even if we had retaliated, it would not have been of any use at that time,” he said.

https://indianexpress.com/article/i...ke-day-bsf-says-jawans-death-avenged-5378875/

Surgical Strike Day shows Modi govt has little to celebrate on national security front

Three notable events took place in the 10 days preceding the second anniversary of the surgical strikes on 29 September 2018.

First: The UGC on 19 September issued an ‘advisory’ to all universities and higher education institutions to observe ‘Surgical Strike Day’ on 29 September by holding special NCC parades and talks by veterans, organising exhibitions and through students writing letters and cards pledging support for the armed forces. The government is also organising a mega multi-media exhibition at the India Gate.

Second: The government, based on a request by Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan, on 20 September agreed for a meeting of the foreign ministers on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly session. Within 25 hours, on 21 September, the meeting was cancelled citing “… brutal killings of our security personnel by Pakistan-based entities and the recent release of a series of 20 postage stamps by Pakistan glorifying a terrorist”.

Also read: Surgical Strike Day a plot to curb student activism or move to instil national pride?

The official statement also made a direct attack on Imran Khan by stating “…the evil agenda of Pakistan stands exposed and the true face of the new Prime Minister of Pakistan Imran Khan has been revealed to the world in his first few months in office”.

Imran Khan responded on Twitter: “Disappointed at the arrogant and negative response by India to my call for the resumption of the peace dialogue. However, all my life I have come across small men occupying big offices who do not have the vision to see the larger picture”. Thus, diplomacy is on the back burner for the foreseeable future.

Third: The Chief of Army Staff has given a series of interviews and public statements saying that it was time for more surgical strikes and other military action against Pakistan. “Terrorism emanating from Pakistan is the biggest challenge to the country. But surgical strikes are not the only option we have. The armed forces have several other better options for tackling cross-border infiltration and terrorism.”

The import of the surgical strikes, launched by the Special Forces on the night of 28/29 September 2016, was not in the number of enemy casualties and the infrastructure destroyed or the depth and frontage of the operation or the type of weapons used. Similar strikes have been covertly launched many times earlier. It lay in the declaration of India’s intent for dealing with the proxy war perpetrated by Pakistan in the future. “Alea iacta est” (the die is cast), we all thought. At last, a government has come up with a comprehensive political and military strategy of “compellence” for dealing with Pakistan.

Also read: The Indian Army surgical strike people do not know about

Pakistan’s response to the surgical strikes was in consonance with its long-term strategy. The surgical strikes were denied and ridiculed, putting the onus on India to provide the details. Over the last two years, it has responded to India’s aggressive posture along the LoC in a quid pro quo manner, using matching firepower and Special Forces/Border Action Teams.

Beheading and mutilation of soldiers’ bodies have been routinely carried out. Infiltration into Jammu and Kashmir has increased and so has the terrorist violence. The recent killing and mutilation of a BSF jawan and three police personnel in Jammu and Kashmir nearly 10 days before the second anniversary of the surgical strikes is a mocking reiteration that there will be no change in Pakistan’s strategy.

Escalation in the event of non-compliance is an integral part of a strategy of “compellence”. In the absence of any follow up to the surgical strikes, they remain a standalone and well-executed tactical operation and nothing more. In a nutshell, the surgical strikes were a brilliant tactical success but a strategic failure.

In the last four years, no reforms have been carried out with respect to higher defence management. National security strategy has not been formalised. There is no formal force development strategy either. Modernisation of the armed forces is at a standstill for want of adequate budget. The structure and organisations of the armed forces are of World War 2 era. Pakistan continues with business-as-usual in Jammu and Kashmir, and China initiates humiliating border incidents at will.

The Army chief continues to publicly reveal the strategic intent for more surgical strikes or other military actions against Pakistan. If these threats were made to send a signal to Pakistan, the purpose has not been achieved. And when you intend resolute military action, you do not shout from the rooftop!

Also read: Celebration of surgical strikes is political opportunism at its worst

The sole aim of such statements is nothing more than an indirect political support for the government. The diplomatic volte-face with respect to talks with Pakistan was again more due to compulsions of domestic politics than a long-term strategy.

Do the surgical strikes merit celebrations at a scale not even seen for Vijay Diwas, which commemorates India’s greatest military victory?

The only justification I can visualise is that the government has little else to celebrate on the national security front. So, with nothing else to celebrate on the eve of the general elections, celebrate the “Surgical Strike Day”.

Lt Gen H S Panag PVSM, AVSM (R) served in the Indian Army for 40 years. He was GOC in C Northern Command and Central Command. Post retirement, he was Member of Armed Forces Tribunal.

As the government marks the second anniversary of surgical strikes across the Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir, defence minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Saturday said deterrent action against Pakistan “will continue at the border” even as Home minister Rajnath Singh claimed that the BSF had taken strong action against Pakistani forces at the border “two-three days ago” to avenge the killing of a BSF jawan.

“There are intrusions on the border and we are also eliminating a lot of them at the border itself, not allowing them to come in. I believe an action of this kind will deter Pakistan from training and sending in terrorists,” she told the media here.

“Our action will continue at the border irrespective of whether they have learnt a lesson or not,” she added.

On Friday, Rajnath Singh, while speaking at a public function in Uttar Pradesh’s Muzaffarnagar, had said that “something big” had happened at the border recently to avenge the death of the Border Security Force (BSF) head constable Narender Singh who was killed by the Pakistani forces on September 18 in Ramgarh sector along the International Border.

“Something has happened and will also happen in future. I had told my BSF jawans that Pakistan is a neighbour and so you shall not fire the first bullet. But if a bullet comes from their side, then you shall not count how many bullets you fire,” Rajnath Singh said.

BSF director general KK Sharma, while refusing to giving details of what punitive action the BSF took, said that the force took action at the Line of Control (LoC) to avenge the killing.

“If something happens on the IB (International Border), it is not necessary that we immediately take action at the IB itself. We have taken action on the LoC side to avenge the death of our brave soldier.

India is observing the second anniversary of the cross-LoC military strikes, commonly called the “surgical strikes”, as ‘Parakram Parv’, or the celebration of valour.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...-sitharaman/story-lkCOUkSaPK6v80v3PeMZaM.html
" GAY HIND"

Let us celebrate this surgical strike day by giving it the status of public holiday.
I would like a day off.
:sarcastic::laugh:

“We have taken sufficient action along the LoC to avenge the death of our soldier. We have reserved our right of retaliation and time."
This might be one of the most self contradictory statement.
Revenge taken or right of retaliation reserved. Well make up your mind before blabbing away.

BREAKING NEWS : ‘Something big has happened across the border’ - Rajnath Singh

Home minister Rajnath Singh on Friday indicated that Indian forces may have hit Pakistani targets across the border with heavy artillery attack to avenge the brutal killing of a BSF trooper in unprovoked firing by the Pakistanis.

Referring to the killing of Narendra Singh on the International Border in Samba district, the minister said, “Kuchh hua hai, main bataunga nahin. Theek thaak hua hai. Vishwas rakhna theek thaak hua hai do teen din pehle. Aur aage bhi dekhiyega kya hoga. (Something has happened. I won’t reveal it now. Something big has happened. Trust me, something really big has happened two-three days ago. And you will also see what happens in future).”

Sources in the BSF confirmed that Pakistan suffered significant casualties in the heavy retaliatory shelling.

The BSF jawan, part of a patrol party that had gone to cut wild grass along the IB fence in Ramgarh sector on September 18, was killed when he and his colleagues came under unprovoked firing by the Pakistanis. His body was dragged into the Pakistani side and when it was recovered a day later, it had three bullet wounds in the chest and the throat was slit.

The incident prompted an alert across the International Border and the LoC. Reacting to the killing of the BSF jawan, Army chief Bipin Rawat had said the time had come for another surgical strike and paying back Pakistan in its own coin.

The minister, who was in Muzaffarnagar to unveil a statue of Bhagat Singh, told a small gathering, “I had asked our BSF jawans not to fire the first bullet as Pakistan is our neighbour. However, if firing starts from across the border, I told jawans to hit back hard and not count the number of bullets fired.”

The disclosure came on the second anniversary of the surgical strike carried out on terror launch pads across the border to avenge the strike on the Army’s Uri camp.

Recalling the 2016 surgical strikes, Singh said, “I remember the day the prime minister, showing his strong will power, gave the go-ahead to the Army and our soldiers entered their territory and hit the enemy hard. Only one of our commandos sustained injuries.”

Talking about border tension with China, Singh said, “I was told by ITBP jawans that India-China face-off these days is restricted to pushes and shoves without the use of weapons. This is the same country that once attacked us. Today, they only push and shove and this shows that they have realised that India is no more a weak country.”

Yes the second anniversary of the fantasy Bollywood movie surgical strike again from wonder wonder land haha lmao pathich liars and pathetic armed forces.

No government has ever been more shameless in the milking of India’s military for political benefit as this one.(Illustration: Aroop/The Quint)
Surgical Strikes Day: If Govt Had Any Shame, It Would Have Shut Up
SHASHI THAROORUPDATED: 26.09.18

If there was any doubt that this government has a tin ear for how its initiatives sound, it was dispelled this week when the University Grants Commission (UGC) asked educational institutes to observe 'Surgical Strikes Day' on 29 September. The idea fell with a thud upon the unwary and struck the public as painfully as any surgery.

Soon after it came to power, this government had offended Christians (and any officials who enjoyed their holidays) by declaring 25 December to be “Good Governance Day”.

There has been no sign of good governance since, and talk of Good Governance Day has quietly faded, as the nation has gone back to enjoying its Christmas.

But the government has apparently learned little from its mistakes.

Not only will 'Surgical Strikes Day' be commemorated on 29 September, but Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman has announced that three days of events will be conducted around the nation from 28 September to 30 September to honour the valour of our soldiers, including parades, lectures, and a three-day exhibition at India Gate.

No government has ever been more shameless in the milking of India’s military for political benefit as this one, but this cynical exercise takes the proverbial cake.

We already have Army Day and Kargil Vijay Diwas to celebrate our army’s victories; why another occasion, and what exactly are we celebrating
We all know that, responding to repeated cross-border raids from Pakistan, the Indian Army had conducted what were dubbed “surgical strikes on terrorist launch pads” across the Line of Control on 29 September 2016.

The term “surgical strikes” normally refers to precision bombing, but none was conducted; army commandos slipped across the line in darkness and attacked areas where Pakistani terrorists were assembling to attack

This kind of pre-emptive action had been undertaken several times before by our army with no publicity, but the BJP government, anxious to live up to its belligerent past rhetoric, decided to beat the tom-toms. The evocative term “surgical strike” was used; posters and hoardings went up hailing the government’s action; the military was brazenly instrumentalised in the BJP’s campaign for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections two months later.

Many chests were thumped, notably the 56-inch one.
Extravagant claims were made that the strikes had put an end to cross-border terror.

They didn’t. Terrorist attacks resumed; all the problems that the “surgical strikes” had supposedly resolved continued unabated. Pakistani shelling and attacks along the LoC never ceased, causing a large number of civilian deaths and many victims among our security personnel. The Indian raid was a response to an attack on Uri, but soon afterward, our base in Nagrota was attacked, killing seven.

If the government had any sense of shame, it should have shut up about its “surgical strikes”

But this government is utterly shameless. Having mounted its propaganda coup, it could not let go. Two years later, it was clear that people were in danger of forgetting its great (albeit hollow) military triumph. Hence the fatuous pronouncement this week that we must all observe 'Surgical Strikes Day'.

Genuine patriots must be squirming at the prospect. First of all, the Indian military has many great achievements – the defence of Srinagar at the time of Kashmir’s accession, the liberation of Bangladesh, the takeovers of Hyderabad and Goa, the captures of the Zoji La and Haji Pir passes, forestalling a coup in the Maldives, wresting back the heights above Kargil – which had a lasting strategic impact and deserve far greater celebration by the country.

But none of them occurred under the present government, so a routine overnight raid of zero strategic impact has to be elevated to the level of national myth

The incursion of two years ago was neither new, nor decisive, nor exceptional, not even surgical, but it was used then to drum up patriotic fervour behind the Modi government – and it is being resurrected for the same purpose today. This is a disservice to the genuine heroism of the army, to the history of our country and to the common sense of all Indians. Why has the UGC, which not too long ago was rightly slated for abolition, taken up the cause of publicity for the Modi government, with greater zeal than judgement? Very simple: Because it is the pet poodle of the government, its woebegone performance revealing yet again the total lack of autonomy of our higher educational institutions and of those meant to regulate them.

The UGC has failed utterly to fulfil its assigned role of improving educational outcomes in our colleges and universities; with its craven announcement of “Surgcal Strikes Day” it has merely confirmed once again that it will do anything to keep the government of the day happy – anything, that is, but its actual job.

Ironically, the UGC-prescribed syllabi in India’s institutions of higher learning do not include military history; the genuine military accomplishments of the Indian army are not studied at our universities. Yet the UGC now demands that one minor episode in our glorious military history be celebrated on the very campuses that do not study the major ones.

Even Kafka would be embarrassed

The real problem is that we have a government singularly bereft of achievement over the last four and a half years of its misrule, which therefore feels obliged to invent triumphs that don’t exist in order to have something to celebrate.

Perhaps we should offer the UGC a few more ideas in a similar vein – Demonetisation Disaster Day? GST Form-filling Day? Collapsing Rupee Week? Or maybe, since the government prefers the military for cheap applause, how about Rafale Re-pricing Day

Let us not forget that in contrast to the many military victories that embellish India’s post-Independence history, the so-called surgical strikes were a strategic failure. Celebrating them discredits the UGC, misuses the army, misleads the public and mindlessly confuses shallow jingoism with real nationalism.

There’s only one possible explanation for this bizarrerie. Elections must be near.

(Shashi Tharoor is the member of parliament in the Lok Sabha from Thiruvananthapuram. Views expressed in the article are that of the author’s own. The Quint does not advocate nor is responsible for the same)

(The Quint is now on WhatsApp. To receive handpicked stories on topics you care about, subscribe to our WhatsApp services. Just go to TheQuint.com/WhatsApp and hit the Subscribe button.)