New beginning: Expats promised investment ops

Edevelop

LAHORE:

Chief minister-designate Shahbaz Sharif on Wednesday urged overseas Pakistanis to set aside their differences regarding the elections.

“I thank the overseas Pakistani community for voting for the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz in the general elections,” Sharif said to a delegation of UK-based Pakistanis who called on him in London.

“Many overseas Pakistanis travelled to their hometown to vote PML-N. Millions of others across the world prayed for our success,” he said.

Sharif said it was heart warming to see that supporters of other political parties had also declared PML-N’s victory a good omen for Pakistan.

He said overseas Pakistanis contributed as much as $13 billion to Pakistan’s economy annually. “We will create special investment packages in consultation with financial institutions,” he said.

At least 50 per cent of the annual remittances would be channelised towards productive investment.

Sharif said the PML-N would initiate a bank-loans-scheme for new expatriates to start small to medium businesses.

“Protection of property against land grabbers will also be ensured,” he said.

Speaking to a TV channel, Sharif said international institutions had appreciated the development schemes initiated by the previous PML-N government in the Punjab.

It was the only provincial government that had invited Transparency International to evaluate its projects, he said. It had declared them free of corruption, he said.

New beginning: Expats promised investment ops – The Express Tribune

Not a dollar will be sent untill PTI comes and clean the taxation and Justice/Police system

Why would any SANE investor invest in country where their is no electricity or police is busy with politicians.. I mean.... you have a RIVER flowing 24 hours a day and you can't build Kala Bagh Dam.... with out electricity will my business run on Prayer power ?

You will not let Pakistanis overseas vote .. so you shall not see a single dime .. make your own money !!! in Sugar mill, or go beg to Saudi prince

I rather invest in India or buy stocks there

Or better why don't you use the Rigging hired workers to print you US dollars now lets see how well that operation works

You word is NOT SOLID AS OAK Mr Shabaz

No Electricity
No Gas
No water lol I mean river flowing night and day and no water
All fruit and vegetables being sent cheaply to Middle east for pennies no food locally
No plan for power
No pan for taxation
No plan for Jobs

Only plan .. can someone come from outside and give us cash ? WHY ?

Why would anyone "RIGHT in their mind" invest in your government you have ZERO CREDIBILITY you may have got NRO .. but as member of Business community I know you have Corruption cases against you and you used NRO to be back in Pakistan.....

Man, will they ever stop copying PTI? Looks like Imran will indirectly run punjab as well, anything they will start in KPK will be copied for Punjab..

Good for people though.

I am not aware of anyone coming in hordes to vote PML-Nautanki party...
This sounds like Karz Utaro Mulk Suwaro v2.0

Not a dollar will be sent untill PTI comes and clean the taxation and Justice/Police system

Why would any SANE investor invest in country where their is no electricity or police is busy with politicians.. I mean.... you have a RIVER flowing 24 hours a day and you can't build Kala Bagh Dam.... with out electricity will my business run on Prayer power ?

You will not let Pakistanis overseas vote .. so you shall not see a single dime .. make your own money !!! in Sugar mill, or go beg to Saudi prince

I rather invest in India or buy stocks there

Or better why don't you use the Rigging hired workers to print you US dollars now lets see how well that operation works

You word is NOT SOLID AS OAK Mr Shabaz

No Electricity
No Gas
No water lol I mean river flowing night and day and no water
All fruit and vegetables being sent cheaply to Middle east for pennies no food locally
No plan for power
No pan for taxation
No plan for Jobs

Only plan .. can someone come from outside and give us cash ? WHY ?

Why would anyone "RIGHT in their mind" invest in your government you have ZERO CREDIBILITY you may have got NRO .. but as member of Business community I know you have Corruption cases against you and you used NRO to be back in Pakistan.....
Not a dollar? Shahbaz was able to bring investors in Punjab even when country was facing miserable time. He personally took the products of local enterprises to trade fares in Europe and ME. With support from the Centre, he now has a free hand to ensure investments. But I guess people are blinded by their hate so keep fantasizing such stuff.

He is emphasizing two points
1- Channelizing the remittances through legal sources since even with 13 Billion of remittances, 50% of our remittances are still sent by hundi and hawala. If we can somehow channel all of these through banking system we can bridge the imports gap and thus would not have to depend upon IMF for support.
2-Promoting FDI in Pakistan. FDI has been dwindling eversince the start of WoT. Its ironic that most of the FDI today is in fact, the reinvestment of profits by foreign investors rather than new investments.

Man, will they ever stop copying PTI? Looks like Imran will indirectly run punjab as well, anything they will start in KPK will be copied for Punjab..

Good for people though.

Abi cassete challi nahi aur bhangra pehlay he shuru kardiya hay. Pehlay koe concrete investment to aanay do KPK main :)

@hasnain0099 I am talking about ideas being copied; will those plans work and overseas invest in KPK or Pujnab is a different debate.

Cassette phans gai hai :woot:

shahbaz sharif went there on Malik Riaz's behalf.

I am expecting the same:

A repeat of the late 90s?

- Announcing treasury is empty
- Appealing to the public on television to give money to pay off debt
- People come out to help Pakistan again
- People are betrayed again

The common man wishes the same but unfortunately he is a Pakistani not a chinese leader who will put the welfare of the people above personal interests.

Saudi Arabia or UAE or even non-muslim Chinese or Japanese or South Koreans will do 1000% better than the politicians we have who do not know anything about governing a country if given a chance to govern Pakistan.

Good observation...they ruined their own fake promises and credibility when nawaz said that there is no money and we can't do much this shows their weak ambitions. I tell you people after 5 years if this government makes it to 5 years you all will see noon league would still blame musharraf and ppp and take vacation to UK-jaddah-amreeka-arab emarates unless begharat brigade stands in for election again.

Pakistanis living abroad know only too well about PMLN's past track record on corruption and governance.

Alongside this they were not given the vote as the 6 million overseas votes would have gone to PTI.

What this will means is investment and donations from these 6 million will be go to Imran Khan's affiliated funds as this will mean money for Imran to help people at grassroots and build awareness in the rural community about PTI.

Secondly they will invest money into the projects in KPK.

Overseas Pakistanis are way ahead of the game than us, they understand in order to free our country they must channel their resources to a party which has a clean track record and sound policies on governance.

They have turned their backs on Nawaz.

@hasnain0099 I am talking about ideas being copied; will those plans work and overseas invest in KPK or Pujnab is a different debate.

Cassette phans gai hai :woot:
Idea is one thing and materializing it another. Btw what new Idea SS has copied from PTI?

Nawaz sharif will not live in PM house ...nawaz sharif was priminister twice ..he never did that ..now to due to this PTI factor he countered it ..btw smart move i appriciate it ...

WELL I AM not against living PM house if does other things right
by the way he built a very nice "palac", now its built not living in it wont help us, however doing all conferences in PM house huge halls instead of PC hotel can save billions for pakistan

1) Asking expats to invest money (Where is Sharif's own money? Charity begins at home)
2) Youth mobilization (laptop distribution)
3) Social media
4) Structure of jalsas music, national anthem etc
5) War on terror policy - negotiating peace deal (Nawaz never ever uttered a single word about this since 2001 until recently)
6) Slogan of change - (hum ney badla hai punjab etc pichlay 25 salon main kia change ker liya)

the list could go on

N has a history of copying ideas and taking credit :lol:

Agree or not, this sense of competition could go in the favor of general public.