Narenda Modi at centre of storm over university project

Here is something that should be something of an eye opener to fans of Amartya sen. :sick:

Amartya Sen quits Nalanda University but his sour exit does him no credit - Firstpost

While sending this letter, quoted by The Indian Express today (20 February), Amartya Sen also could not resist taking a potshot at the centre: “I am also sad, at a more general level, that academic governance in India remains so deeply vulnerable to the opinions of the ruling government, when it chooses to make political use of the special provisions. Even though the Nalanda University Act, passed by the Parliament, did not, I believe, envisage political interference in academic matters, it is formally the case - given the legal provisions (some of them surviving from colonial days) - that the government can turn an academic issue into a matter of political dispensation, if it feels unrestrained about interfering.”

This statement is surely not the whole truth. There is no evidence whatsoever that the central government meddled with “academic matters” – unless its (apparent) reluctance to appoint Amartya Sen is deemed as one such interference. :cheesy: The Ministry of External Affairs is the nodal ministry in the governance of Nalanda, given its proposed international character.

I would not quarrel with anything Amartya Sen has to say about political interference in academic institutions. This has been the case all along in many places. The sooner it is ended the better.

However, one wonders why he thinks his own appointment as chancellor of NU was not political in nature.

There is little doubt that Amartya Sen was the intellectual father of many of Sonia Gandhi’s social spending schemes. And Sen himself kept making political statements in support of “my friend’ Manmohan Singh, and, famously, said that he would not like to see Modi as Prime Minister.

For so political a person to complain about how politicians are meddling with academic institutions is interesting. :P

But, even assuming the Modi government is not keen on his continuing as Chancellor (we don’t know that as yet), there are good reasons to consider other options beyond Amartya Sen once his term ends this July.

First, Sen is well past 81. Why should someone this old be running a young institution? When the university formally opened for its first academic session last September, Sen did not turn up for the event.

Second, Amartya Sen has not distinguished his tenure as chairman of the board (and de facto chancellor) by setting any great example of high-minded governance. In fact, the key appointments to the university have been dogged by controversies relating tonepotism and non-transparency.

For example, the Vice-Chancellor, Gopa Sabharwal, was just a reader at Delhi’s Lady Shriram College when she was appointed to the top job and given a salary of over Rs 5 lakh per month. :woot: While this may not be objectionable in a university that has a global mandate, this salary was nearly twice what the Delhi University VC was getting. :D The brouhaha forced her to take a cut. But despite the fact that NU is based in Rajgir, where a 450-acre campus is being planned, she is reported to be functioning out of Delhi. :cheesy:

Third, many key appointments appeared to point to the influence of Upinder Singh, a historian and daughter of Sen’s friend Manmohan Singh. Soon after Gopa was appointed VC, Upinder was appointed as guest faculty at the University. :enjoy:

According to this Bihar Times report, Sabharwal appointed another friend, Anjana Sharma, as officer on special duty, again with a hefty salary.

Bihar Times lists Upinder Singh, Anjana Sharma, Gopa Sabharwal and Nayanjot Lahiri as four “sahelis” from Delhi who are closely associated with Nalanda. :enjoy:

The newspaper also notes that APJ Abdul Kalam, former President and the man who first suggested the idea of reviving Nalanda’s past glory in 2006, declined to become its First Visitor (President Pranab Mukherjee is now the First Visitor, an honorary position) as he felt that the university needed a full time Chancellor and VC and not someone with other preoccupations. This implies that he did not think highly of the appointment of Sen as Chancellor, or his VC (read Kalam’s note here).

Sen is right to flag political interference as a big issue in Indian academics, but he does protest too much. He appears to have done little to distinguish his own tenure at Nalanda with unimpeachable appointments that everyone would have lauded.

Nalanda University, which will be fully funded by the centre to the tune of over Rs 1,000 crore, deserves someone younger and more committed to the idea of reviving its past glory as a knowledge centre. It was ransacked and burnt by Muslim marauders in the 11th century AD.

Unfortunate that we are not able to utilize the expertise of people like Amartya sen..
Seiko
There 're some issues in this case.
1)Sen's appointment itself had some political influence. He's known to 've good relations with Manmohan singh nd Sonia Gandhi.
2) isn't it inetresting to note that APJ abdul Kalam who first came up with this idea of reviving Nalanda's past glory never became the first visitor?
3) subramanian Swamy has already pointed at the money squandered by Sen.(Swamy doesnt speak without a proof).
And if Sen does have his hands in the cookie jar then he might quit without creating a ripple. He would not add fuel to fire.....but for that we will have to wait and watch.
What does that in Urdu say in your signature? It should be 'ہندوستانی' only...I guess...
Al hindustani won't do??
Let me edit it.

PS: look at the colleges he worked mate..It tells you something..

Sure it does :P

After spending Rs. 500 Crores, this is what you have, :lol:

nalanda-univ_350_010514050930.jpg

......... No that is not a government primary school, its the world famous "nalanda university" set up by Amertya Sen for Rs. 500 Crores :lol:

And guess what ? .............. it teaches a grand total of 15 Students :devil: ............. and they have 11 Faculty for that :D

As you can see, its a world class institution :P ............. Money well spent on Amertya sen :enjoy:

Name is "A-Martya"?? Doesn't mean that he will not die!! Every one is a "Martya"

What does that in Urdu say in your signature? It should be 'ہندوستانی' only...I guess...

@levina auntie thinks of herself as a South Indian of Arab descent hence why shes written (or tried to) in Arabic ! :unsure:

Urdu tou waisee hiiii hum Pakistaniyoon aur Occupied-Pakistaniyoon aka You , key zabaan haiii ! :smokin:

@levina auntie thinks of herself as a South Indian of Arab descent hence why shes written (or tried to) in Arabic ! :unsure:
Your auntie wrote it in Arabic because if she wrote it in HINDI then fatsoo burger kids like you won't be able to read it. :P

Of course I won't be able to read it because Hindi script is :bad:

Whereas Urdu script is :smitten:

Gosh I'm such a prejudiced guy ! :(

And I like it ! :bunny:

:smokin:

Mr Sen, the word is "inaction" not "non-action".

The problem can be easily resolved. We should simply ask the Pakistanis to come into India and burn the university to the ground :D

Mr Sen, the word is "inaction" not "non-action".

The problem can be easily resolved. We should simply ask the Pakistanis to come into India and burn the university to the ground :D

What if we tell Bhabi that the University under question is where you used to go to to meet up with a certain lady after dropping Bhabi off for her classes during your College days ? :D

I bet Bhabi's cyclops's like gaze would burn the University to ashes ! :unsure:

you're prejudiced because you're ignorant. :haha:

ignorance[1].jpg

Unfortunate that we are not able to utilize the expertise of people like Amartya sen..

Nobel prize ,barring those of pure science, are never given for accomplishments alone.

Amratya Sen is a left of left economist. His award was due to 1998 being turn of leftist block for a Nobel prize.

He has very shitty perception of how economy works. His prescription for improving Indian economy was for India to follow example of Kerala. This is prepostrously stupid. Kerala has built it's economy on supplying salve labour to middle east. Such a model require existence of a very very large lazy population with money (Arabs) to employ all those labourers, and though it work for a small state like Kerala; for it to work for India, India would require 20-30 middleeast to be able to get enough menial job for it's 1.3 billion population. Probably after humans colonalize Mars and Venus, Sen model could be implemented.

This is the reason that Amratya sen is disliked not only by BJP+RSS supporters but by sane economists (including Jagdish Bhagwati) too.

His claim to fame was his Nobel prize. But then even Yasser Arafat and Barack Obama got that. And Gandhi did not.
The Nobel Peace prize is a highly politicized tool by which they try to push certain people and help garner support for their agendas. The prize for Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature, Economics OTOH are the most prestigious awards and the winners have universal respect from their respective communities. Just because a certain person is opposed to your Dear Leader and his so called 'Gujrat model' doesn't make his past accomplishments vanish. If you can't argue with his ideas and concepts, just like Bhagwati and co. , there is no need for ad hominem. Don't become a Bhakt.

Sure it does :P

After spending Rs. 500 Crores, this is what you have, :lol:

nalanda-univ_350_010514050930.jpg

......... No that is not a government primary school, its the world famous "nalanda university" set up by Amertya Sen for Rs. 500 Crores :lol:

And guess what ? .............. it teaches a grand total of 15 Students :devil: ............. and they have 11 Faculty for that :D

As you can see, its a world class institution :P ............. Money well spent on Amertya sen :enjoy:

:lol: the old Nalanda ruins are way better than this one.

In letter to Krishna, Kalam slams Amartya Sen - Rediff.com India News

^^ from 2012, media and amartya sen will conveniently play victim and make it look like evil Modi is after him.

Good, though that these leftists are being cleaned out.

Mr. Sen deliberately making a controversy out of it.....

The Nobel Peace prize is a highly politicized tool by which they try to push certain people and help garner support for their agendas. The prize for Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature, Economics OTOH are the most prestigious awards and the winners have universal respect from their respective communities. Just because a certain person is opposed to your Dear Leader and his so called 'Gujrat model' doesn't make his past accomplishments vanish. If you can't argue with his ideas and concepts, just like Bhagwati and co. , there is no need for ad hominem. Don't become a Bhakt.

Literature and Economics is also politicized.

Even those of pure Science are not 100% objective. They ignore reserchers who actually researched under the professor who won Nobel prize and did all the work. This is the reason that even Nobel prize for pure science has a very deep bias of race and nationality.