NA bars Hindu lawmaker from presenting bill seeking ban on alcohol

Dubious

RETIRED MOD
  • Dr Ramesh Kumar called for introducing strict laws to ban sale of alcohol in the name of any religion.
by Mahmood Idrees | Published on December 11, 2018 (Edited December 11, 2018)

640x366xramesh-kumar.jpg.pagespeed.ic.uNIB6pL17a.webp

ISLAMABAD – A Hindu lawmaker was barred from tabling a constitutional amendment bill, seeking a ban on the sale of alcohol, in the National Assembly on Tuesday.

Pakistan Tehreek Insaf’s (PTI) Hindu MNA Dr Ramesh Kumar sought permission to present the bill, stating that alcohol consumption is prohibited in all religions, including Hinduism, Islam and Christianity. He called for cancelling the alcohol permits in the country.

The PTI and Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal supported the bill but it was opposed by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP). The bill seeks an amendment to the Article 37 of the Constitution.

A section of the Article states, “The State shall prevent the consumption of alcoholic liquor otherwise than for medicinal and, in the case of non-Muslims, religious purposes”.

Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri, however, barred the minister from presenting the bill after the majority of lawmakers, who were present at that time, voted against it.

The MMA, in response to the deputy speaker’s order, protested and demanded voting on the bill again.

The opposition parties, including PML-N and PPP, staged a walk out in NA over not running the session according to the agenda.

The session of the lower house of the parliament was then adjourned till Wednesday.

Talking to media outside the assembly, Kumar called for introducing strict laws to ban sale of alcohol in the name of any religion.

Kumar said unfortunately a number of people had obtained the permits for alcohol business in the name of Hindu religion, which was unacceptable.

An expert is of the view that the PTI legislator could get approved the bill from the NA easily by ensuring the presence of the members of the his party and allies as the Imran Khan-led party is in the majority.

In 2014 when Kumra was also the MNA had said alcohol is strictly forbidden according to the teachings of the Shrimad Baghwat Piran – a Hindu holy book, while also emphasising that decision makers (MNAs) or other higher-ups in the community are prohibited to drink under any circumstances.

Sale, production, importation and transportation of alcoholic beverages in Pakistan occurred under the banner of minorities which is strongly offensive and insulting,” Dr Ramesh said.

https://en.dailypakistan.com.pk/pak...ll-seeking-ban-on-alcohol/?utm_source=bouncer

Their level of hypocrisy is truly astounding, if it was upto me they would all be facing the gallows.Kudos bhai
80-90% of PMLN and PPP members drink and that is why when an MNA from south Punjab (I forgot his name) talked about drinking in the MNA hostel, they all turned against him and prisoned him under false charges and punished him severely.

wow. so that shows their real face... these bastards misuse the liquor licenses given to the minorities.. What a shame for these so called "Muslims" of PMLn
@django @Maarkhoor @Pan-Islamic-Pakistan @FalconStar

I have personal knowledge of this going on in Lahore. Muslims (mostly youngsters) buy alcohol from minorities. It promotes all types of vices like gambling, horse trading, zina, other drugs, street racing, mafias, and prostitution.

This is why many people are in favor of a blanket ban on alcohol.

80-90% of PMLN and PPP members drink and that is why when an MNA from south Punjab (I forgot his name) talked about drinking in the MNA hostel, they all turned against him and prisoned him under false charges and punished him severely.
Not only that these swines indulge in orgies with dancing girls, a bloody shameless lot that I can tell you.Kudos bhai

wow. so that shows their real face... these bastards misuse the liquor licenses given to the minorities.. What a shame for these so called "Muslims" of PMLn
@django @Maarkhoor @Pan-Islamic-Pakistan @FalconStar
I am in favor k jiss ko peena hai vo piye jiss nahien peena woh na piye….. Govt will get huge taxes in billions if they legalize it ….example is Dubai....they making billions USD...

Mujra b hota hai, piya b jata hai but Govt get nothing from it only local thana in charge warm his pockets...that all.

Yeh meh hai maghas k keh nahien hai…. @Imran Khan

Not only that these swines indulge in orgies with dancing girls, a bloody shameless lot that I can tell you.Kudos bhai
Sir, I know a few bureaucrats and the culture inside their homes.. If I tell you the details, you will forget Reham bitch's book. Salman Taseer was really notorious for that. Then a lot of media persons and even some so called mullahs ...really we need a major purge..

I am in favor k jiss ko peena hai vo piye jiss nahien peena woh na piye….. Govt will get huge taxes in billions if they legalize it ….example is Dubai....they making billions USD...

Mujra b hota hai, piya b jata hai but Govt get nothing from it only local thana in charge warm his pockets...that all.

Yeh meh hai maghas k keh nahien hai…. @Imran Khan
Lakh di lanat

Sir, I know a few bureaucrats and the culture inside their homes.. If I tell you the details, you will forget Reham bitch's book. Salman Taseer was really notorious for that. Then a lot of media persons and even some so called mullahs ...really we need a major purge..
Oh believe me I know, have seen these swines in action, they truly are deplorable and they exist on all sides of the political spectrum but non more so than those in PPP and PMLN.Kudos bhai

Alcoholism and related problems like abuse, fights, and indecency affect minorities also. It is a big problem in these communities and holds them back from advancing their society.
Alcohol is even regulated in Europe...Nothing to do with religion...
It is common sense that
if you are under the influence, you might kill someone while driving or even harm yourself
You may do crimes like take advantage of passed out girls or even have no control over yourself
If you hit alcoholic levels you may gamble, fight, steal to sustain your habit and even kill if need be!

Alcohol is even regulated in Europe...Nothing to do with religion...
It is common sense that
if you are under the influence, you might kill someone while driving or even harm yourself
You may do crimes like take advantage of passed out girls or even have no control over yourself
If you hit alcoholic levels you may gamble, fight, steal to sustain your habit and even kill if need be!

I mean to say that we Muslims sometimes forget about the side effects of alcoholism among Non-Muslims due to the belief that they should be allowed to practice their religion in which alcohol is allowed.

What we forget is that many leaders in our Non-Muslim communities like the PTI MNA above, women’s rights groups, physicians, and minority rights activists seek an alcohol ban for their own community as well.

We should be more willing to listen to what they have to say and what benefits their community.

PTI is doing the right thing by furthering this cause.