My Father’s Killer’s Funeral

SecularNationalist

ON Feb. 29 — a bad day for anniversaries — Pakistan executed my father’s killer. My father was the governor of Punjab Province from 2008 until his death in 2011. At that time, he was defending a Christian woman who had fallen afoul of Pakistan’s blasphemy laws, which are used by the Sunni majority to terrorize the country’s few religious minorities. My father spoke out against the laws, and the judgment of television hosts and clerics fell hard on him. He became, in the eyes of many, a blasphemer himself. One January afternoon his bodyguard, Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri, shot him dead as he was leaving lunch.

Mr. Qadri became a hero in Pakistan. A mosque in Islamabad was named after him. People came to see him in prison to seek his blessings. The course of justice was impeded. The judge who sentenced him to death had to flee the country. I thought my father’s killer would never face justice.

But then, in the past few months, it became possible to see glimmers of a new resolve on the part of the Pakistani state. The Supreme Court upheld Mr. Qadri’s death sentence last October. Earlier this year, the president turned down the convict’s plea for mercy — which, at least as far as the law goes, was Mr. Qadri’s first admission that he had done anything wrong at all. Then on the last day of last month came the news: Pakistan had hanged Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri. How would the country — not the state, but the people — respond?

I spoke to my sister in Lahore and for a moment we dared to hope that Pakistan, which had suffered so much from Islamic terrorism, might turn a corner. A lot had happened in the five years since Mr. Qadri killed our father. There was attack after hideous attack. In December 2014, terrorists struck a school in Peshawar, killing 132 children. Was it possible that Pakistan was tired of blood and radicalism? Had people finally begun to realize that those who kill in the name of a higher law end up becoming a law unto themselves? Had the horrors of the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria done nothing to dampen enthusiasm for Islamism? Perhaps. I hoped.

But when a BBC interviewer asked me about this, something made me equivocate. I said it was too early to say and that we should be careful not to confuse the hardening resolve of the Pakistani government with the will of its people. Mr. Qadri’s funeral was the next day. That would give a better indication of the public mood.

And so it did. An estimated 100,000 people — a crowd larger than the population of Asheville, N.C. — poured into the streets of Rawalpindi to say farewell to Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri. It was among the biggest funerals in Pakistan’s history, alongside those of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, the father of the nation, and Benazir Bhutto, the former prime minister, who was assassinated in 2007. But this was no state funeral; it was spontaneous and it took place despite a media blackout.
As pictures emerged of the sea of humanity that coalesced around the white ambulance strewn with red rose petals that carried Mr. Qadri’s body, a few thoughts occurred to me: Was this the first funeral on this scale ever given to a convicted murderer? Did the men who took to the street in such great numbers come out of their hatred of my father or their love of his killer? They hardly knew Mr. Qadri. The only thing he had done in all his life, as far as they knew, was kill my father. Before that he was anonymous; after that he was in jail. Was this the first time that mourners had assembled on this scale not out of love but out of hate?

And finally, I wondered, what happens when an ideology of hate is no longer just coming from the mouths of Saudi-funded clerics but has infected the body of the people? What do you do when the madness is not confined to radical mosques and madrasas, but is abroad among a population of nearly 200 million?

The form of Islam that has appeared in our time — and that killed my father and so many others — is not, as some like to claim, medieval. It’s not even traditional. It is modern in the most basic sense: It is utterly new. The men who came to mourn my father’s killer were doing what no one before them had ever done. As I watched this unprecedented funeral, motivated not by love for the man who was dead but by hatred for the man he killed, I recognized that the throng in Rawalpindi was a microcosm of radical Islam’s relationship to our time. It drew its energy from the thing it was reacting against: the modernity that my father, with his condemnation of blasphemy laws and his Western, liberal ideas, represented. Recognizing this doesn’t pardon the 100,000 people who came to grieve for Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri, but it reminds us that their existence is tied up with our own.

Welcome back

ON Feb. 29 — a bad day for anniversaries — Pakistan executed my father’s killer. My father was the governor of Punjab Province from 2008 until his death in 2011. At that time, he was defending a Christian woman who had fallen afoul of Pakistan’s blasphemy laws, which are used by the Sunni majority to terrorize the country’s few religious minorities. My father spoke out against the laws, and the judgment of television hosts and clerics fell hard on him. He became, in the eyes of many, a blasphemer himself. One January afternoon his bodyguard, Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri, shot him dead as he was leaving lunch.

Mr. Qadri became a hero in Pakistan. A mosque in Islamabad was named after him. People came to see him in prison to seek his blessings. The course of justice was impeded. The judge who sentenced him to death had to flee the country. I thought my father’s killer would never face justice.

But then, in the past few months, it became possible to see glimmers of a new resolve on the part of the Pakistani state. The Supreme Court upheld Mr. Qadri’s death sentence last October. Earlier this year, the president turned down the convict’s plea for mercy — which, at least as far as the law goes, was Mr. Qadri’s first admission that he had done anything wrong at all. Then on the last day of last month came the news: Pakistan had hanged Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri. How would the country — not the state, but the people — respond?

I spoke to my sister in Lahore and for a moment we dared to hope that Pakistan, which had suffered so much from Islamic terrorism, might turn a corner. A lot had happened in the five years since Mr. Qadri killed our father. There was attack after hideous attack. In December 2014, terrorists struck a school in Peshawar, killing 132 children. Was it possible that Pakistan was tired of blood and radicalism? Had people finally begun to realize that those who kill in the name of a higher law end up becoming a law unto themselves? Had the horrors of the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria done nothing to dampen enthusiasm for Islamism? Perhaps. I hoped.

But when a BBC interviewer asked me about this, something made me equivocate. I said it was too early to say and that we should be careful not to confuse the hardening resolve of the Pakistani government with the will of its people. Mr. Qadri’s funeral was the next day. That would give a better indication of the public mood.

And so it did. An estimated 100,000 people — a crowd larger than the population of Asheville, N.C. — poured into the streets of Rawalpindi to say farewell to Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri. It was among the biggest funerals in Pakistan’s history, alongside those of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, the father of the nation, and Benazir Bhutto, the former prime minister, who was assassinated in 2007. But this was no state funeral; it was spontaneous and it took place despite a media blackout.
As pictures emerged of the sea of humanity that coalesced around the white ambulance strewn with red rose petals that carried Mr. Qadri’s body, a few thoughts occurred to me: Was this the first funeral on this scale ever given to a convicted murderer? Did the men who took to the street in such great numbers come out of their hatred of my father or their love of his killer? They hardly knew Mr. Qadri. The only thing he had done in all his life, as far as they knew, was kill my father. Before that he was anonymous; after that he was in jail. Was this the first time that mourners had assembled on this scale not out of love but out of hate?

And finally, I wondered, what happens when an ideology of hate is no longer just coming from the mouths of Saudi-funded clerics but has infected the body of the people? What do you do when the madness is not confined to radical mosques and madrasas, but is abroad among a population of nearly 200 million?

The form of Islam that has appeared in our time — and that killed my father and so many others — is not, as some like to claim, medieval. It’s not even traditional. It is modern in the most basic sense: It is utterly new. The men who came to mourn my father’s killer were doing what no one before them had ever done. As I watched this unprecedented funeral, motivated not by love for the man who was dead but by hatred for the man he killed, I recognized that the throng in Rawalpindi was a microcosm of radical Islam’s relationship to our time. It drew its energy from the thing it was reacting against: the modernity that my father, with his condemnation of blasphemy laws and his Western, liberal ideas, represented. Recognizing this doesn’t pardon the 100,000 people who came to grieve for Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri, but it reminds us that their existence is tied up with our own.
The attendents at the funeral showed how deep the cancer has infected us

1 lakh people at the people do not represent 200 million people of Pakistan. My guess is Pakistani public have grown tired of terrorism in the name of Islam after what they have went through for the past 7-8 years. These religious nuts can always be able to back up followers in big time. But a short time burst.
Situation is visibly improving in Pakistan and I hope more Qadri's are put to gallows.

No one is allowed to play with sentiments of Pakistani people.. they are highly sensitive when it comes to religion and these so called liberal secular think as west and react as stupid... The more they push this nation towards them the more reaction they will receive..
let them decide their fate instead of making them non religious.

Words cannot describe...:(

This is the unfathomable core of it. I don't know how it ends, if it ever does.

Indeed, it was sadden to see so many Pakistani people calling a murder 'a hero'. But on the positive side, justice was served. Also vast #s of Pakistanis were appreciating it & that also tell they find Salman Tasir an innocent unlike the others. Having said that, I must say, the blasphemy law is needed & purpose of Sunni majority is NOT to terrorized anyone or minorities. That's pretty disturbing for me at least to read. Muslims can't keep calm when something nasty is said or done against Rasool Allah (saw) or even Allah (Swt). So as we all know Pakistan is Muslim country and the only purpose of this law is to keep the peace in society. So if a person does or pass an unacceptable comment on Rasool Allah (saw), no one should kill him/her, rather a lawsuit will be brought up into court and they deal with it. Unfortunately, it's implementation is needed.

Additionally, as per my knowledge, mr. Tasir was not against the death penalty against the proven blasphemy. Hence, this law is necessary for the peace. Many of us are erroneous here and mixing two thins up--------he was not against this law, BUT only was trying to help this lady.

Welcome back

The attendents at the funeral showed how deep the cancer has infected us
@Zibago Hell mate :)Yes i am back after a long and stressful exam period.
Yes that showed the mind sets of most people.

1 lakh people at the people do not represent 200 million people of Pakistan. My guess is Pakistani public have grown tired of terrorism in the name of Islam after what they have went through for the past 7-8 years. These religious nuts can always be able to back up followers in big time. But a short time burst.
Situation is visibly improving in Pakistan and I hope more Qadri's are put to gallows.
You are right 100,000 people don,t represent the 200 million population there are plenty of sane voices in pakistan but the majority is religious and backward.And the same can be said about india and Bangladesh.It,s a subcontinent thing.
Words cannot describe...:(

This is the unfathomable core of it. I don't know how it ends, if it ever does.
@Desertfalcon Thanks for the first positive rating .It looks so good after after 15 negative ratings :lol:

No one is allowed to play with sentiments of Pakistani people.. they are highly sensitive when it comes to religion and these so called liberal secular think as west and react as stupid... The more they push this nation towards them the more reaction they will receive..
let them decide their fate instead of making them non religious.
What sentiments?Kill all so called blasphemers without any solid proof or on the basis of some decision taken by the kangaroo court of your village? Or blame blasphemy on a christian just because you had some personal issues with him?And if later if someone decide to help the poor minority victim he is playing with your pathetic sentiments? Do you really want to know he/she is really a blasphemer or the moment you heard a christian did blasphemy you are 100% sure he deserves to die because you have a natural hate for other religions?
When a suicide bomber with a same radical mindset of mumtaz qadri blow himself and kill hundreds of innocents in a suicide attack,you people cry a river and when someone from the same mindset do ugly things you make him a hero just because he has the same mind set as yours.Change this uneducated backward thinking and change the future of upcoming generations.It,s easy to blame CIA,RAW and mossad ,though i agree they are involved in pakistan but first we can only blame ourselves.

Indeed, it was sadden to see so many Pakistani people calling a murder 'a hero'. But on the positive side, justice was served. Also vast #s of Pakistanis were appreciating it & that also tell they find Salman Tasir an innocent unlike the others. Having said that, I must say, the blasphemy law is needed & purpose of Sunni majority is NOT to terrorized anyone or minorities. That's pretty disturbing for me at least to read. Muslims can't keep calm when something nasty is said or done against Rasool Allah (saw) or even Allah (Swt). So as we all know Pakistan is Muslim country and the only purpose of this law is to keep the peace in society. So if a person does or pass an unacceptable comment on Rasool Allah (saw), no one should kill him/her, rather a lawsuit will be brought up into court and they deal with it. Unfortunately, it's implementation is needed.

Additionally, as per my knowledge, mr. Tasir was not against the death penalty against the proven blasphemy. Hence, this law is necessary for the peace. Many of us are erroneous here and mixing two thins up--------he was not against this law, BUT only was trying to help this lady.
Mohatarma with all due respect can you please tell me what purpose this blasphemy law really serves? The only purpose of this law is to destroy peace in society not to maintain peace.There are 52 muslim countries and none have this blasphemy law,even saudi arabia the birth place of islam does not have such a law.Here in pakistan most of the time it,s only used for personal revenge or agendas. Let,s not forget this law is one of the many gifts of zia-ul-haq alongside the suidice bombings,radical brainwashed mindset etc etc
Mr taseer was just trying to help out the poor lady who was victimized though i agree he got angry and used inappropriate words like "kala kanoon".He said "kala kanoon" to the law made by zia-ul-haq but radical people like qadri interpreted it differently.

You are right 100,000 people don,t represent the 200 million population there are plenty of sane voices in pakistan but the majority is religious and backward.And the same can be said about india and Bangladesh.It,s a subcontinent thing.

@Desertfalcon Thanks for the first positive rating .It looks so good after after 15 negative ratings :lol:

What sentiments?Kill all so called blasphemers without any solid proof or on the basis of some decision taken by the kangaroo court of your village? Or blame blasphemy on a christian just because you had some personal issues with him?And if later if someone decide to help the poor minority victim he is playing with your pathetic sentiments? Do you really want to know he/she is really a blasphemer or the moment you heard a christian did blasphemy you are 100% sure he deserves to die because you have a natural hate for other religions?
When a suicide bomber with a same radical mindset of mumtaz qadri blow himself and kill hundreds of innocents in a suicide attack,you people cry a river and when someone from the same mindset do ugly things you make him a hero just because he has the same mind set as yours.Change this uneducated backward thinking and change the future of upcoming generations.It,s easy to blame CIA,RAW and mossad ,though i agree they are involved in pakistan but first we can only blame ourselves.

Mohatarma with all due respect can you please tell me what purpose this blasphemy law really serves? The only purpose of this law is to destroy peace in society not to maintain peace.There are 52 muslim countries and none have this blasphemy law,even saudi arabia the birth place of islam does not have such a law.Here in pakistan most of the time it,s only used for personal revenge or agendas. Let,s not forget this law is one of the many gifts of zia-ul-haq alongside the suidice bombings,radical brainwashed mindset etc etc
Mr taseer was just trying to help out the poor lady who was victimized though i agree he got angry and used inappropriate words like "kala kanoon".He said "kala kanoon" to the law made by zia-ul-haq but radical people like qadri interpreted it differently.

why would we blame cia raw or mossad when we have you guys acting as their sheild..now we have to deal their chicks before we deal with chickens..
that qadri guy deserve to be hanged it was fate.. he sudnt kill him but ST had no right to go out of way to support either she was innocent why didnt he let the court decide .. when you chose sides and play as wests puppets then people in east wont accept you..
you live and enjoy your high class life here but have no connection with people or ground reality then expect the unexpected..
i maybe not very religious but i will never let any one play against islam in my country... either you guys live with the land of law or move out like how west is doing they are not letting any redicalization happening in their countries why sud we encourage people who just stand against islam culture .. if you cant positive role dont play at all .
we all condenm for the lose of any innocent lives we have lost in our country. but dont teach us by western rule we will correct ourselves with in the limists of islam.

Inter or Bachelor level?

Many times this law is used to settle personal grudges we all remember Rimsha Masih case where molvi burnt Quran himself to drive Christians out

People burnt entire villages and communities over blasphemy which never took place our society has cancer we need chemeotherapy

Inter or Bachelor level?

Many times this law is used to settle personal grudges we all remember Rimsha Masih case where molvi burnt Quran himself to drive Christians out

People burnt entire villages and communities over blasphemy which never took place our society has cancer we need chemeotherapy
No second module of ACCA.
Yes no doubt these molvis should be drowned in the arabian sea.

No second module of ACCA.
Yes no doubt these molvis should be drowned in the arabian sea.
Logoan kay zehnoan par tala laga diya hay har.aat ko kufr o Islam ki jung bana daitay hain
Ab 5 bachoan ki jahil maan jo jharo pocha lagati the usko cia ka agent bana diya insay naat karna fazool hay

why would we blame cia raw or mossad when we have you guys acting as their sheild..now we have to deal their chicks before we deal with chickens..
that qadri guy deserve to be hanged it was fate.. he sudnt kill him but ST had no right to go out of way to support either she was innocent why didnt he let the court decide .. when you chose sides and play as wests puppets then people in east wont accept you..
you live and enjoy your high class life here but have no connection with people or ground reality then expect the unexpected..
i maybe not very religious but i will never let any one play against islam in my country... either you guys live with the land of law or move out like how west is doing they are not letting any redicalization happening in their countries why sud we encourage people who just stand against islam culture .. if you cant positive role dont play at all .
we all condenm for the lose of any innocent lives we have lost in our country. but dont teach us by western rule we will correct ourselves with in the limists of islam.
Agar kisi mazloom par zulm ho raha ho to kiya usko support karna ghalt hay?

Bhai isi Pakistan mein ham rehtay hain jahan bhai ki property hazam karnay kay liay bhe us par Toheen e Risalat ka ilzam lagaya jata hay jahan property dealers zameen khali karwanay kay liay bastiyan jalwatay hain toheen e Risalat ka ilzaam laga kar

Yahan 90% ko pata bhe nahe MQ kon tha but awein chalay gay janazay pay suni sunai batoan pay

Positive role yahe hay kay inteha pasandi aur nafrat kay nasoor ko apnay miashray say khatam karna hay aksar mein akela he support kar raha hota hoan aur ye naam nehad deen ke thekedar mujh par Gustakhe Rasool key supporter honay ka ilzam bhe lagatey hain par kiya mein dar jaon?

Is mulk ko thek karna hay to shoro,at karni ho gi apnay muashray say

i maybe not very religious but i will never let any one play against islam in my country... either you guys live with the land of law or move out like how west is doing they are not letting any radicalization happening in their countries why sud we encourage people who just stand against islam culture .. if you cant positive role dont play at all .
Dude seriously do you have any idea what are you talking about?You mean salman taseer should let that kangaroo court of a village decide that asiya bibi deserve to die without any solid proof?Do you have any idea about the real incident if no t then let me explain.Asiya bibi and a muslim woman at a village fought with each other and at first the muslim women said nasty things about jesus the christ and in retaliation asiya bibi said the same bullcrap about our prophet. But only asiya bibi got the punishment because she was a christian.Both were blasphemers but look at the height of hypocrisy we completely forgot the so called minority rights which are in our constitution.
Helping a victim of these radical mullahs means you are teaching western values? Next time think twice about calling MA jinnah your leader and instead call Zia ul haq your father of the nation if you plans to keep such a mindset.

So lets burn entire communities over rumors

The sad reality is Many people supported Qadri based on False Hadiths being floated on social media.
I presented the proof that those hadiths were fake to many PDF member but they are more ready to believe Molvis than their own eyes.