Musharraf’s N-technology disclosure embarrassed Pakistan: Foreign Office

Valar Dohaeris

598e8354419fe.gif

ISLAMABAD: The disclosure made by retired General Pervez Musharraf in his 2006 autobiography that Dr Abdul Qadeer Khan transferred sensitive nuclear material to North Korea had come as a big embarrassment to the country, an official of the Foreign Office said on Friday at a meeting of the Senate’s Foreign Relations Committee.

The disclosure had forced the Foreign Office on the defensive and left it with no choice but to regurgitate the standard response that Pakistan was firmly against nuclear proliferation, the additional secretary said.

Foreign diplomats viewed the statement with scepticism and disbelief, he added.

The Foreign Office reply came in response to a question by Senator Farhatullah Babar as to what was North Korea’s official reaction to Pervez Musharraf’s revelation in his memoir, In the Line of Fire, that a clandestine proliferation network operating from Pakistan had transferred nearly two dozen centrifuge machines, a flow meter and some special oils to North Korea.

ADVERTISEMENT
“Had such an irresponsible disclosure been made by a civilian minister or a bureaucrat, he would have been sent to the gallows, but Musharraf got away with it because he was a general,” Senator Farhatullah observed.

The official reaction to Pervez Musharraf’s disclosures would help this committee better understand “the nature and depth” of Pakistan-North Korea relations, he added.

The committee was also briefed on Islamabad’s relations with Tokyo and the government’s position on territorial disputes in the Strait of Malacca.

The meeting, chaired by Senator Nuzhat Sadiq, was attended by Senators Mushahid Hussain Sayed, Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Shibli Faraz, Dr Karim Khawaja, Tahir Hussain Mashhadi and Farhatullah Babar.

Published in Dawn, August 12th, 2017

I don't believe for a second that the military command did not know or was not involved in what AQ Khan was doing.

He was a scapegoat! And I'm seriously saddened by how he has been treated since :( the man is a national hero and we must accept him as such. Fuk what the world thinks!

If AQK was smart enough he'd known the consequences of doing such.

He sold out himself, a greater man would have given the order-giver the finger.

I think this is where you and I part ways.

We are a nation. We have collective thinking. AQ Khan never needed appreciation from the west so he showed them the finger.

He is a true Pakistani.

His sacrifice is my motivation

Dr Abdul Qadeer Khan could do nothing without Army Chief at that time and top General command.
He is just a scapegoat.

1000% agreed. Musharraf is a coward stooge who is only good at issuing statements....which are homeopathic in effect. He embarrassed the national hero for the sake of appeasing his masters. Ugly fellow and coward rat is hiding in Dubai under a self imposed exile but still the spent bullet is trying to stay relevant relentlessly.

We are a nation. We have collective thinking. AQ Khan never needed appreciation from the west so he showed them the finger.
He is a true Pakistani.
His sacrifice is my motivation

It was in Pakistan's national interests to be the punching bag of every nation in the world?

Interesting....

We aren't talking about sending food to the starving people N. Korea in defiance of sanctions. We're talking about the Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons to the most isolated nation in the world.

What did Pakistan gain from this? A few $million in Swiss accounts?

P.S. America doesn't have the most clean of proliferation records, I know.

It was in Pakistan's national interests to be the punching bag of every nation in the world?

Interesting....

We aren't talking about sending food to the starving people N. Korea in defiance of sanctions. We're talking about the Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons to the most isolated nation in the world.

What did Pakistan gain from this? A few $million in Swiss accounts?

P.S. America doesn't have the most clean of proliferation records, I know.

Need i say anything more? You p.s. is enough.

Mutual respect or we settle this in Afghanistan lol

Log apni auqat dekha detain hai.
Aik tarraf janab abdul qadeer sahab hain. Aur dosari taraf yeh baghora.
Nation knows who.is the real hero ofbthis country.........

Log apni auqat dekha detain hai.
Aik tarraf janab abdul qadeer sahab hain. Aur dosari taraf yeh baghora.
Nation knows who.is the real hero ofbthis country.........

Ye socialist generation key uncle hain. Mushi did one mistake a dictator should never do.

NRO

Zia knew it.
Ayub knew it.

Ask Turks. They have seen real Marshall laws.

My heart bled tears of blood when I say Dr. A. Q. Khan on the television, reading out what was obviously a script handed to him. His face held so much pain, so many feelings that he was suppressing, all for this land, his beloved land. This man put everything on the line. Even his good name and reputation. All we can do is to salute this man. That is all we can do, really.

But let us remember Musharraf isn't the only enemy. The likes of Libya who gladly handed over fissile material and showed the whole world centrifuge designs originating from Pakistan are also to blame. One dictator, Moammar Ghaddafi met his end. The next dictator is Musharraf.