Mumbai attack leader wins Pakistan appeal

Nah, we have proof. Enough to get him convicted in any civilized society. Way more that you have against TTP during any air/arty strike...
Pakistani courts do not have jurisdiction over FATA - FATA has a special autonomous status in Pakistan (as asked for by its tribal elders when they elected to become part of Pakistan) which allows for the government to authorize military action without meeting any of the requirements that would be necessary for similar action in mainstream Pakistan.

Jinnah and NS were never part of a jatha, a lashkar to go destroy a temple or a mosque based on some made up nationalist history.

BJP and its entire top brass is.

Didn't realize you will be so ignorant of your own history.
Jinnah was directly involved in giving call to kill Hindus on the Direct Action day. He provided free hand to the Mullahs and more than 10000 Hindus were killed in just one day. Mind it this is all documented so please don't forget your history while giving history lessons to others.

nah.

US state department had clear evidence of the atrocities committed during Gujarat riots.

Bhai

Do not be as biased as an Islamist.

Just teeny bit less please

Lol.. What proof did US State govt had? If they had something they wouldn't have gone back on visa row. They realized their mistake and took corrective action.

Now there is no denying that attrocities were committed in the riots that too both by Muslims and Hindus but calling it a pogrom and blaming Modi for it is nothing but laughable specially when more Muslims die every other day in Pakistan than the ones killed in Gujarat riots. Also, one should not forget they were the ones who started the riots by locking down 65 people in train and burning them alive. I never understood what exactly they gained out it. May be killing non Muslims gives some kind of pleasure to the followers of Islam else I don't understand why would anyone indulge is such heinious crime.

Pakistani courts do not have jurisdiction over FATA given it's special status as an 'autonomous tribal territory'. I would have thought you would know this basic fact after all this time on the forum.
That's the only thing preventing them facing Pakistani courts? If there are terrorists in those territories responsible for crimes against Pakistanis these guys can be apprehended and produced in Pakistani courts. I'm not saying this is what should be done but if someone is going to pretend Pakistan is applying a universal "justice above all else" policy then this is what should be happening. Instead, as you well know, a double standard is taking place.

The alleged leader of the 2008 militant attacks on Mumbai has won an appeal against his detention in Pakistan.

Lawyers for Zaki-ur-Rehman Lakhvi said a government detention order issued last week infringed his rights, as he had been granted bail by another court.

Analysts say he could be freed as soon as the paperwork is completed.

India says a Pakistani militant group carried out the attacks, which killed 165. Pakistan has not convicted anyone suspected of planning the attacks.

Mr Lakhvi is among seven suspects who have been in jail awaiting trial for six years. Nine others have been charged in absentia.

Analysts say the decision to grant him bail came at an embarrassing time for the Pakistani government.

Pakistan's Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif recently promised to crack down on militancy after the Taliban killed 141 people at a school in Peshawar.

Analysis: Haroon Rashid, BBC Urdu
The accused won the appeal after the government failed to submit a detailed reply to the court's queries. A government lawyer sought more time, arguing officials were busy with other pressing engagements so they couldn't prepare a reply. The accused, lodged in Rawalpindi's Adiala Jail, is technically a free man until the government develops a new strategy.

The timing of the court judgment couldn't have been more awkward for the Pakistan government, which is desperately trying to send a message that it has "zero tolerance" to militancy after the Peshawar school massacre. Many fear that the suspension of the detention order limits the government's options. One last hope could be seeking help of the higher court.

_75306515_line976.jpg

Mr Lakhvi was granted bail by an anti-terror court on 18 December, but hours later the government imposed a three-month detention order and said it would appeal against the bail decision.

Mr Lakhvi's lawyers argued in Islamabad's High Court that the detention infringed his rights.

The judge accepted the arguments and quashed the detention order.

The suspect is now technically free to leave jail, but has been ordered to appear in court for every hearing concerning his case.

Mr Lakhvi was accused of heading the militant group Lashkar-e-Taiba, which was blamed for the Mumbai attacks.

Correspondents say the charges brought against Mr Lakhvi and other suspects held in Pakistan were mainly based on a confession given by the only gunman captured alive after the attacks.

Mohammad Ajmal Amir Qasab was executed in 2012.

The attacks severely strained relations between India and Pakistan.

India has repeatedly criticised Pakistan for failing to prosecuted any of the suspects, and has summoned the Pakistani high commissioner to discuss Mr Lakhvi's case.

BBC News - Mumbai attack 'leader' wins Pakistan appeal

Not surprised at all. Pakistan was biding it's time & this had to happen one day. It's not that they don't have enough evidence to keep this terrorist behind the bars... otherwise how come he was behind the bar for 6 yrs? & all of a sudden those evidences are not good enough to keep him in any longer?

Fact of the matter is.. like any other organ of Pakistani state, even their judiciary is contaminated by hard-liners. & the very court which allowed him to go free is one of them!

upload_2014-12-29_19-59-40.jpeg

Lol. If such fanatics does justice there than obviously you can't expect anything better. I now understand why minorities get any justice from Pakistani courts that's because all their justice is reserved for the just cause of protecting mullahs and terrorists. No wonder why they see attacks on the schools because these mullahs sees education as their enemy so their favorite attacking joints are schools.
Unfortunately, criticism of Pakistani courts is justified.

If Indians would pause for a moment and try and recollect the various debates over the Pakistani judicial system that have occurred on this forum, they would realize that Pakistanis themselves have abused these courts for a variety of reasons - letting TTP terrorists go, travesties in terms of Blasphemy convictions, ridiculous judgements on social issues based on regressive socio-religious interpretations etc. The factors behind the positions taken by parts of the Pakistani judicial system are more complex than just a 'regressive judicial mindset' - political and criminal intimidation does play a role, and in criminal cases that require law enforcement and the prosecution to actually 'build' a case, capacity and expertise is so woefully lacking that the courts have no choice but to let criminals free.

The civilian government has chosen the route of military courts over civilian courts to prosecute terrorists for a reason

OK,Then don't cry when we release others, ok!
Good for you and us!
Why would anyone 'cry'? Are you crying? If the evidentiary requirements are not met then what do you expect the courts to do?

Jinnah was directly involved in giving call to kill Hindus on the Direct Action day. He provided free hand to the Mullahs and more than 10000 Hindus

your knowledge about DA is as low as a 4th grader boy

Gandhi and Nehru had been giving DA calls since 1920s. There were riots and killing long before September 26th 1946 call by Jinnah

And there were 10s of 1000s killed after September 1946.

your casteist logic will put all those killings in Jinnah's lap.

Shabash.

Very shabash

p.s. bhai meray, when it comes to modern history, you dismiss it by calling US state department ignorant, while spreading lies about old history.

That's the only thing preventing them facing Pakistani courts?
Pakistani courts have refused to hear cases where the crimes may have been committed in FATA citing that very lack of jurisdiction, so this is not some small matter, and it answers your question about why the GoP does not have to present a case in front of the courts or gain court sanction prior to bombing terrorists in FATA. This is the legal and constitutional status of the territory.
If there are terrorists in those territories responsible for crimes against Pakistanis these guys can be apprehended and produced in Pakistani courts. I'm not saying this is what should be done but if someone is going to pretend Pakistan is applying a universal "justice above all else" policy then this is what should be happening. Instead, as you well know, a double standard is taking place.
They can be apprehended and produced in front of Pakistani courts for crimes committed in Pakistani territory where those courts have jurisdiction. But the GoP is not legally required to obtain court sanction to bomb those terrorists in their hideouts in FATA instead of arresting them and presenting them in front of the courts.

There is no double standard here - this is the reality of the autonomous status of FATA.

nah.

US state department had clear evidence of the atrocities committed during Gujarat riots.

Bhai

Do not be as biased as an Islamist.

Just teeny bit less please

Should we assume you have some insider knowledge about that "clear evidence" with US state department? Did State department ever say anything like that? If they did, why didn't they bring it up when he was still a nobody?

How can an-otherwise-sane think-tank material make such baseless and rather stupid utterances?

The highest court in India exonerated him of all charges, let alone convict him! And given the intent and capability of his political/religious rivals in India for 10 years that even controlled the highest investigating agencies in India, they couldn't find even a shred of evidence against him - let alone your "clear evidence"!

your knowledge about DA is as low as a 4th grader boy

Gandhi and Nehru had been giving DA calls since 1920s. There were riots and killing long before September 26th 1946 call by Jinnah

And there were 10s of 1000s killed after September 1946.

your casteist logic will put all those killings in Jinnah's lap.

Shabash.

Very shabash

p.s. bhai meray, when it comes to modern history, you dismiss it by calling US state department ignorant, while spreading lies about old history.
Gandhi gave a call to kill muslims.. Now this is hilarious.. I am sure this must be part of Pakistani curriculum so I don't blame you for this. But for fun sake please point me to some links or any other references which talks about Direct action calls given by Gandhi/Nehru to kill Muslims. Gandhi in fact died because of Pakistan/Muslims only. They gave direct action calls but they were against British not Muslims. Jinnah gave the call to kill Hindus to make a point. Thats nothing but disgusting in the world of sensible people.

Should we assume you have some insider knowledge about that "clear evidence" with US state department? Did State department ever say anything like that? !

Evidence?????????????????

They banned Modi only to be lifted when he became PM.

Yaar. Aaap loag bhi ajeeb hain.

behas brai behas.

Chalo aaao. Beth kay chai peetay hain.

Happy new year

Pakistani courts do not have jurisdiction over FATA - FATA has a special autonomous status in Pakistan (as asked for by its tribal elders when they elected to become part of Pakistan) which allows for the government to authorize military action without meeting any of the requirements that would be necessary for similar action in mainstream Pakistan.
I am not advocating court permissions for strikes on TTP. What I am saying is evidence-wise. For example, how airstrike is decide? based on intercepts? we have that against Lakvi. Now, if Pakistan refuses to collect his voice sample in a way that is admissible in court, we would have known the truth. But Pakistani agencies ignored this. Then to say India did not provide any evidence in out-right dishonest.

And kind of military assault carried out in FATA would be authorized by the military chain of command involved, which would weigh the evidence provided. Needless to say, the evidentiary bar is much lower in such active military operations in autonomous territory. The civilian government is only involved as far as authorizing the overall military operations in the territory (they may place restrictions in terms of only allowing ops in some parts of FATA vs all of FATA etc.).

I am a bit confused about your comment regarding voice samples - wasn't India supposed to provide samples of the audio intercepts it obtained to Pakistan?

Gandhi gave a call to kill muslims.. Now this is hilarious.. I am sure this must be part of Pakistani curriculum so I don't blame you for this. But for fun sake please point me to some links or any other references which talks about Direct action calls given by Gandhi/Nehru to kill Muslims. Gandhi in fact died because of Pakistan/Muslims only. They gave direct action calls but they were against British not Muslims. Jinnah gave the call to kill Hindus to make a point. Thats nothing but disgusting in the world of sensible people.

Show me one place in original statement by Jinnah that said "kill Hindus".

Just one time

OK

Because other wise merray piyaray bahi

you will keep on throwing these poisonous darts for no reason

Thankouy

And kind of military assault carried out in FATA would be authorized by the military chain of command involved, which would weigh the evidence provided. Needless to say, the evidentiary bar is much lower in such active military operations in autonomous territory. The civilian government is only involved as far as authorizing the overall military operations in the territory (they may place restrictions in terms of only allowing ops in some parts of FATA vs all of FATA etc.).

I am a bit confused about your comment regarding voice samples - wasn't India supposed to provide samples of the audio intercepts it obtained to Pakistan?
We did. But, like finger print, it needs to be matched with the accused to establish the identity. India did it (assumption) with public speeches of the accused. But that type of matching is not admissible in court. So, you need to get the sample from accused in presence of proper authorities. India can't do that as the accused is not in Indian soil. Pakistani authorities refused to do that.