Modi goes after Pakistan, but chooses words carefully

Soumitra

Modi goes after Pakistan, but chooses words carefully

REWARI: If power under Atal Bihari Vajpayee diluted BJP's agenda, as the party at least temporarily seemed to have shunned the Ram temple movement, the prospect of achieving the same power at the Centre seems to be already acting as a tempering agent for Narendra Modi, the aspirant. Modi's message to Pakistan on Sunday was still firm but his words were carefully chosen.

At a public rally here, in front of crowds seen only for Haryana satrap Devi Lal, Modi invoked Vajpayee's Pakistan foreign policy, giving him credit for having made Pakistan-sponsored terrorism an international issue. Describing the crowds in the Congress-ruled state as a "lalkar" or challenge to the 'Delhi sultanate', he said India can no longer be governed by vote bank politics and that true secularism can be learnt from the Indian Army.

Modi almost sounded conciliatory as he spoke about Pakistan, saying the two countries, along with Bangladesh, needed to rid South Asia of poverty and illiteracy, a discourse otherwise identified with Pakistani leaders. No doubt he blamed Pakistan for promoting terrorism in India and attacked defence minister A K Antony for his Pakistan army uniform goof up in Parliament but for the crowds subjected to a relentless diatribe against Pakistan by earlier speakers, this was a disappointment. There was no rabble-rousing; not even any talk of "befitting reply".

"I publicly want to say that if Pakistan can put an end to the policy of promoting terrorism for 10 years, it will see double the economic progress it has seen in the past 60 years," Modi said.

"Pakistan ke irade theek nahi lagte (Pakistan's intentions do not seem right even under Nawaz Sharif). Pakistan was created with an anti-India feeling but it can't survive on that sentiment. You took to killing innocent civilians after you lost in wars," he said, even as he emphasized that the Indian government had no coherent security policy.

Modi was addressing a rally of retired Army men, his first after his coronation last week as BJP's PM candidate. The rally was also attended by former Army chief General V K Singh.

Interestingly, Rewari is the heart of the Ahirwal region which is well known as the home of 114 Indian soldiers who died fighting off the Chinese in the Rezang-La battle in 1962. Sundry poets meant to engage the crowds before Modi's arrival had worked them into a frenzy as they said the new BJP hope would even wrest *** from Islamabad. Modi, in fact, arrived at the venue with crowds chanting "bharat mata ka sher aaya'' and to the sound of lions roaring on loudspeakers.

Modi's endorsement of Vajpayee is significant considering Congress leaders, under attack from the opposition for its Pakistan policy, and independent commentators have hit out at BJP by talking about how the party under Vajpayee legalized Pervez Musharraf despite knowing full well that he was responsible for Kargil.

Clearly overwhelmed by the crowds, who had to be controlled with bursts of lathi-charge, Modi recalled his own childhood fascination with the Army to declare that addressing the rally in Rewari gave him greater satisfaction than being declared BJP's PM candidate. He spoke about how he could not attend the Sainik School in Jamnagar because of his father's limited means.

"What we are seeing today is a call for change. Dilli ki sultanat ko aaj yahan se lalkar mili hai,'' he said, pointing at the number of people gathered in the rally.

Talking about Army men, Modi took a dig at the Nitish Kumar government in Bihar as he described the statement made by a Bihar minister about people joining the Army to die as "the height of shamelessness''. "If you can't respect them, at least don't insult them,'' he said.

The 'statesman' Modi also spoke about how proxy war has taken the place of actual wars now and that the UN need not feel proud of the fact that there is no third world war yet. He said even China was looking to divert Brahmaputra waters and grab Arunachal Pradesh and this was possible only because the government in Delhi was weak.

Modi goes after Pakistan, but chooses words carefully - The Times of India

Or he should have said that he wants to solve the Kashmir issue once for all instead again blaming Pakistan.

I dont see Kashmir issue will be solved under his rule if BJP wins the election his govt will escalate the issue to Red Zone.

No Indian PM can afford to talk of war (even one who hopes to one day be one) . That's the job for the opposition.

Hi modi :wave: we still don't care so quit fame wh*ring

yaar pakaa diya ab to in modi bhagato nai...

PDF ko ab modi mukt ho jana chahiye @WebMaster .. ban the word modi with namo..

yaar pakaa diya ab to in modi bhagato nai...

PDF ko ab modi mukt ho jana chahiye @WebMaster .. ban the word modi with namo..

Our goal is 272+ The Main Stream Media spends so much time and effort to vilify Modi. we have to do our bit to spread his message.

Who is stopping you from opening Rahul Gandhi threads?

Oops I forgot he does nothing newsworthy. Only news items for him are statements of his sycophants and of Modi when he tears into him.

Our goal is 272+ The Main Stream Media spends so much time and effort to vilify Modi. we have to do our bit to spread his message.

Oops I forgot he does nothing newsworthy. Only news items for him are statements of his sycophants and of Modi when he tears into him.

when pdf became main stream media in India?

& keep your rahul modi rants to your self I dont give a fuq about that chutiya gandhi ... I am a hardcore modi supporter but here people are foking every thing up in the name of modi ... every second thread is about same topic of a speech in bloody rewary..

Cacha Modi buhut bolle riyya hai aaj kall...... zara bhejna isko khushboo lagga kay...... :D

@Dillinger

Cacha Modi buhut bolle riyya hai aaj kall...... zara bhejna isko khushboo lagga kay...... :D

@Dillinger

NOT advisable, he's not the general politician we have come to know and loathe. Pura shudh desi hai, tea seller aur laborer- haath ki maar pad gayi to phir tereko sambhal na padega isse pehele ki tu phir bandook nikale.:D

But you is not agree with statement?

"I publicly want to say that if Pakistan can put an end to the policy of promoting terrorism for 10 years, it will see double the economic progress it has seen in the past 60 years,"

Tau beta kia humm khocha kia chocolate kee factory say to nahin nikla na! Bhej bhej ... dekha jaye ga... khushbo lagga kay.... :cheesy:

Well, not entirely.

NOT advisable, he's not the general politician we have come to know and loathe. Pura shudh desi hai, tea seller aur laborer- haath ki maar pad gayi to phir tereko sambhal na padega isse pehele ki tu phir bandook nikale.:D

But you is not agree with statement?

3 rd modi thread ....
modi needs a sticky... :help:

Where, at top or at bottom? :coffee:

WTF dude - Pakistani's are not allowed to vote in India, you are spreading your message like unguided missile

Where, at top or at bottom? :coffee:

WTF dude - Pakistani's are not allowed to vote in India, you are spreading your message like unguided missile

There are many Indians on PDF who are fence sitters. We can convince them