Miftah asks multinationals to present export plan in exchange for tax breaks

hydrabadi_arab

Finance Minister Miftah Ismail has urged foreign multinational companies operating in Pakistan to present an export plan to the government in exchange for tax breaks.

Taking to Twitter on Friday, Miftah, who is presently leading Pakistan negotiations with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for the resumption of the $6-billion Extended Fund Facility (EFF), lauded the role of multinationals operating in the country.

“I am truly grateful to all the foreign multinationals that operate in Pakistan, pay a large amount of taxes, provide employment and bring in technology. However, I request all of them to present to me a plan to export out of Pakistan also,” said the minister.

“I will give them tax breaks for that,” he added.

So our finance minister is asking companies to give export plans?

What's next, they should tell him how to run the finance ministry as well?

Bhai poori hakoomat hi inhain day do? Khud kyun kar rahay ho.

Ab to yeh minton par hi utar aye hain.

Finance Minister Miftah Ismail has urged foreign multinational companies operating in Pakistan to present an export plan to the government in exchange for tax breaks.

Taking to Twitter on Friday, Miftah, who is presently leading Pakistan negotiations with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for the resumption of the $6-billion Extended Fund Facility (EFF), lauded the role of multinationals operating in the country.

“I am truly grateful to all the foreign multinationals that operate in Pakistan, pay a large amount of taxes, provide employment and bring in technology. However, I request all of them to present to me a plan to export out of Pakistan also,” said the minister.

“I will give them tax breaks for that,” he added.

After decades in power Patwari League just found the real problem of Pakistan was lack of exports, and they still rely on outsiders to fix this problem they created in the 90s
😂😂😂
9CE9F364-0635-4327-A582-9DE1F33C30FE.jpeg
F8B6783B-3D7D-4960-8727-446D2B19DA84.jpeg

I am against the imported govt. But maybe you are reading too much in this? He is not asking multinationals for export plan for the govt. Rather he is hinting at tying the tax cuts to exports. So you get tax breaks if you export. At least that's what I understood.

Requesting MNC's to give export plans?

You are the government ffs, put in a policy to promote exports. Is tarah request aur mintain tarlay hi kartay rahay to kuch nhn hona.

PTI wanted to increase exports, it slapped a duty on phones and you have mobile assembly plants cropping up.

You provide an atmosphere conducive to exports, you provide incentives to exports, you provide an environment for growth, mitnain tarlay nhn.

What company will take him up on this offer?
  • He is already sidelined in favour of Dar
  • Senior members of his own party are publicly labelling him as incompetent
  • His government has no vision or direction as per their press conferences
  • His PM is asking outsiders to explain basic economics to him
  • His party vice president (maryam) is calling for elections
  • His policies are already draining Pakistan's reserves
Seems more like a last ditch effort to do something before they inevitably bankrupt the country.

National embarrassment but ab adat ho gai

This is what you call extortion! What a sad state of affairs !
maxresdefault.jpg

Aren't such plans usually treated as confidential by corporate?

Export what?... There is no electricity to produce anything. All essential elements for a competitive economy are destroyed due to fuel shortages, import constraints (rupee devaluation), and corruption.

Maybe we can export the imported Government?

Trying to do one Big Sell off , if Future Govenment will object Multinationals will do a Riqo Diq like Drama

Really Nasty Nasty Mindset

The new finance minister has the right inclination. But it is more typical for the government to state a policy that they think will appeal to international players who invest in the country. This policy should be based on industry consultations that gov. bureaucrats and ministers have with industrialists. A common policy for all players will give a level playing field. Miftah's ad-hoc tax break proposal seems rather bizarre :unsure:

How about Muftah resigns and announce elections and bring much needed stability to Pakistan.

The new finance minister has the right inclination. But it is more typical for the government to state a policy that they think will appeal to international players who invest in the country. This policy should be based on industry consultations that gov. bureaucrats and ministers have with industrialists. A common policy for all players will give a level playing field. Miftah's ad-hoc tax break proposal seems rather bizarre :unsure:
They are desperate. What more can you expect from a bunch of thugs and bankrupt businessmen who still live in the 1980’s?

Export what?... There is no electricity to produce anything. All essential elements for a competitive economy are destroyed due to fuel shortages, import constraints (rupee devaluation), and corruption.

Maybe we can export the imported Government?
Used Condoms are not a commodity in any part of the world