Joint India-Pakistan Passport

WreckingBall

I came across this on Social media -

DJvzEGaWAAEshxh.jpg

Can someone shed some light on this from a historical perspective. Whom were such documents issued to? When did it begin and when did it stop?

Very intriguing indeed, but this can also be a crude photoshop.
Someone with knowledge kindly reply.

May be just after 1947, and may have been issued until 1950. I read some where that until 1965 war, it was very easy crossing the international border and there was no need for any documentations. Things changed significantly after 1965 and getting visas have been made very difficult as time progressed. Now it is next to impossible.

Searching on Google this is what I found

India - Pakistan Passport, 1963
Shared by Amandeep S. Sawhney.
A special pilgrim visa meant for Sikhs visiting Pakistan. This one was issued in 1963 from Amritsar.

"Good for single visit to Gurdwaras: Nankana Sahib Dist. Sheikhupura, Dera Sahib Janam Asthan, Shahid Gunj, Cheevin Padshahi (Muzung), Shahid Bhai Taru Singh Ji at Lahore..."

-0-

"To leave a country is like breaking out of jail and to enter a country is like going through an eye of a needle."

http://8ate.blogspot.in/2012/09/india-pakistan-passport-1963.html

Thanks. Still a bit surprising. Why issue a different color passport and name it India-Pak passport when you could just get a normal Indian passport and get visas for religious trips.

May be it is a passport for Sikhs who have Nankana Sahib on the other side, so that they can move freely multiple times without any visa checks. Things between India and Pakistan were quite different in 1963.

It often becomes difficult for Indian passport holders to get visas to Western countries like US, Canada, UK if they've got a Pakistani Visa.

I'm sure that is not the reason for a separate passport but I wish there was another way of going to Pak coz I really wanna visit my ancestral village. And I just can't coz I've to travel to other countries as well.

In Pakistan Hajjis too were issued a special "Hajj Passport". This passport was valid for travel to Hajj only. Nowadays you can use your normal Pakistani passport for the pilgrimage

American residents of states which issue Passport cards don't need to carry their passports when travelling to Central American or Canada. Their passport card/driver's licence is sufficient

DJvzEGaWAAEshxh.jpg

Can someone shed some light on this from a historical perspective. Whom were such documents issued to? When did it begin and when did it stop?
it is a rare collectable and very very expensive one too .

Looks like indian passport issued for travel to Pakistan only.

DJvzEGaWAAEshxh.jpg