Irony and paradox

fatman17

PDF THINK TANK: CONSULTANT
analysis: Irony and paradox —Munir Attaullah

Our army is still, by far, the most powerful player in our political firmament. And it will remain so for the foreseeable future. No one who has enjoyed such overwhelming power and its perks, and for so long, simply slinks away and meekly begins to take orders from others

My original plan was to discuss this subject in three columns. But, having written two, and given a discursive style (for easy reading), I now think — good grief! — I will need a fourth. So I will leave the specific issue of terrorism and religious militancy in our midst for the final instalment tomorrow.

Keep in mind the following summary of the previous two columns: passivity as a social and political virtue, and a public good, is now passé; there is now a substantial (unbridgeable?) mismatch between a state’s capacity and ability to ‘deliver’ (particularly in poor countries) and the real or stimulated expectations of ‘citizens’ (no longer ‘subjects’).

These factors, and others such as the growth and compulsions of a black economy, have combined to greatly diminish respect for the rule of law generally; the contradictions and black holes in the theory and practice of democracy have produced widespread disenchantment with an allegedly ‘least bad’ political system. Throw the cheap and easy access to deadly modern weaponry and technology into this cauldron of unrest and the result is that internal conflict resolution is now a deeply messy affair, with horrendous collateral damages.

I could have simply (and instinctively) added my voice to the current chorus of anguished screams from our educated class (“Is this really happening to us?”) and appeals to our army (“For God’s sake, do something!”). Instead, I have spent two columns putting our problem in a historical and global perspective, the better to first understand it. Of course such understanding does not guarantee finding adequate solutions. However, without diagnosing the kaleidoscopic nature of the problem it is more than likely we will come a cropper through wishful thinking or simplistic solutions.

For example, is a massive programme of socio-economic uplift (to be funded by others, of course!) for our tribal areas the answer? Help it surely will. But the arguments of my previous two columns suggest to me that such a programme could, in our case, be at best only a palliative, not a cure. After all, many a country with several times our GNP, and far better socio-economic indices, has not solved similar problems.

Another example: how about determined military action, either separately or in conjunction with socio-economic measures, as the solution? The Algerian experience (or the Indian experience in Kashmir) is not encouraging. But what distinguishes them from the case of Sri Lanka (that seems to be on the way to stamping out its insurgency)? Or Nepal, where an insurgency succeeded?

Also, if I am right, can any democratic government of ours survive the intense media and opposition outcry when the inevitable and massive collateral damage from a full fledged ‘police’ or ‘military’ operation mount up?

As an aside, while I am at it, I cannot resist here another calculated swipe at my least favourite subject of discussion: corruption. Those who believe this scourge to be our Achilles’ heel (and hence relevant in the present context) are no better than those who believe Sufi Mohammed when he says all will be well once sharia is introduced. Let us not be seduced by red herrings. India is not much different from us on this account. Yet its internal problems, in nature and magnitude, are nowhere near to those that we face.

One final and vitally important consideration: are there in our own case some additional uniquely different circumstances that compound manifold our difficulties? I believe that question must be answered in the affirmative. What is more, I think it goes to the heart of the matter. But we will come to this later.

So, is democracy — or, as some would have it, ‘more democracy’ — the answer to our crisis of state?

Let us accept that — for the foreseeable future at any rate, and for all its obvious flaws — people the world over seem not to contemplate any alternative political system. And so, for better or worse, we are stuck with it too. But all that really means is that everyone is agreed only on the government for the people bit. As for of the people and by the people, it remains very much an open question as to what model ours will morph into in due course.

Will we have ‘true’ parliamentary democracy? Or will we return to a variant of the Turkish or Musharraf model? Then there is the high possibility of us succumbing to a variant of the Iranian democratic model based on theological despotism. Given our collective schizophrenia, who can say with any confidence where we are headed. Hazarding a guess, I think there is a fair chance (though it will be a close run affair) that we will muddle along with our current democratic experiment

But, whatever the model, I can say three things with some confidence. First, our army will continue to have a pivotal role in state affairs (and that, paradoxically, may be the great blessing in disguise, the more you think about it). Second, the state (at least in the form of the ‘writ’ of the federal government) will continue to get weaker, though we are highly unlikely to break up as a country, or become a Somalia, or end up being ruled by Taliban types. And, third, local mafias of all sorts (criminal, political, or a more deadly combination of the two) will thrive in a ‘for profit’ patron-client relationship with the local populace by providing services while forcibly extracting a fee. Third world governments simply don’t govern the way, let us say, the Canadian government governs.

For all the façade of democracy, let us face it: our army is still, by far, the most powerful player in our political firmament. And it will remain so for the foreseeable future. No one who has enjoyed such overwhelming power and its perks, and for so long, simply slinks away and meekly begins to take orders from others (especially from those it despises).

Civilian supremacy will only come gradually, and then only if the political class demonstrates maturity, finesse, and sophistication. That is a tall order. Meanwhile, at the minimum, a solid partnership between the military and political class, and mutual support, is the need of the hour.

For, at the moment, a united army with self-belief is our most precious asset (and the most powerful bulwark — not democracy) against the fissiparous forces that threaten the state. If, for whatever reason, the army crumbles (which I doubt), the threat of anarchy is real.

The great irony, and paradox, of this situation is not lost on the clear-headed. For it is precisely this same institution that we now desperately need to rely upon that is largely responsible in the first place for creating the mess we now find ourselves in.

Has it really learnt its lesson? What can it — we — do? Let us leave that for tomorrow.

The writer is a businessman. A selection of his columns is now available in book form. Visit munirattaullah.com

But, whatever the model, I can say three things with some confidence. First, our army will continue to have a pivotal role in state affairs (and that, paradoxically, may be the great blessing in disguise, the more you think about it).... or all the façade of democracy, let us face it: our army is still, by far, the most powerful player in our political firmament. And it will remain so for the foreseeable future. No one who has enjoyed such overwhelming power and its perks, and for so long, simply slinks away and meekly begins to take orders from others (especially from those it despises).For, at the moment, a united army with self-belief is our most precious asset (and the most powerful bulwark — not democracy) against the fissiparous forces that threaten the state. If, for whatever reason, the army crumbles (which I doubt), the threat of anarchy is real....The great irony, and paradox, of this situation is not lost on the clear-headed. For it is precisely this same institution that we now desperately need to rely upon that is largely responsible in the first place for creating the mess we now find ourselves in....Has it really learnt its lesson? What can it — we — do? Let us leave that for tomorrow.
---------------------------------------------------------

Nicely done column — no, rather nauseously pro-army and why the nation needs to rely on it to maintain its statehood/existence. I disagree with all of Munir Attaullah's assertions justifying political role-play of the army.
------------------------------------------------------------

He further states, "Civilian supremacy will only come gradually, and then only if the political class demonstrates maturity, finesse, and sophistication. That is a tall order. Meanwhile, at the minimum, a solid partnership between the military and political class, and mutual support, is the need of the hour."

This the military needs to realise — that it cannot run this country and needs to take into account the political class, no matter how the army despises it or how often its dismisses it.

-----------------------------------------------------------

@ fatman17: Haven't been able to figure this out... are you pro-army intervention in governance or anti-army intervention? You seem to favour both options... or is it that you highlight both sides?

i am pro-army under a civilian govt.! - the problem is that we dont have the patience for this "dispensation" to fully make its play!

Hmm... still not clear. Do you think that the army should be allowed to (a) dictate, (b) be at par or (c) be an adviser to a civilian government.

Also, who are you referring to by the "we": the military, the civilians or both?

Hmm... still not clear. Do you think that the army should be allowed to (a) dictate, (b) be at par or (c) be an adviser to a civilian government.

Also, who are you referring to by the "we": the military, the civilians or both?

(c) be an insert "strong" and both!

Their may be many positives but I feel the writer misses out on the long term damage dictators have done to our system, all the civillian leadership in our country have given army a lot of trust and a hefty budget but in turn they have also played around with its appointments which was their mistake but I feel that some elements within the army have damaged its rep by always posing as a saviour from the corrupt leaders and not in term actually helping the system.

(c) be an insert "strong" and both!

"Be a strong adviser to the civilian government" — and what exactly qualifies the army for this? Is this part of the course offered at PMA?

the problem with army is that it cannot be flexible in its stance on issues....such things can only be done by politicans....army doesn't teach you to back down or all of a sudden change your point of view....like wali khan once said Maslihat aur Begharti mein baal barabar faraq hota hai... and for sure you can't expect an army....to be a "lota"...

like you pointed out nadja that an army should be an "adviser" to the government....and for that we needed National Security Council....which apparently is the first thing the civilan government abolished...

"Be a strong adviser to the civilian government" — and what exactly qualifies the army for this? Is this part of the course offered at PMA?

Actually they do teach leadership at PMA however that is to lead our section or platoon or unit either way alot of the top brass is probably very experienced and hence I feel that army can also play an advisory role.

Dont know if this the proper thread for this post. I came across a beautifully written article about Mullahs in the Jang of today. This
is best explanation I found which details why people who have full faith in Islam (such as myself) are anti Mullah. I apologize that the article is in Urdu, but I thought that translation would lose the cynicism of the article.

Jang Group Online

leadership yes and subsequently at Staff college and NDU. in this era soldiers cannot remain soldiers alone, they need to hone their skills in diplomacy and international relations. this is true for all armies of the world.!:enjoy:

Fatman is correct in this.
The higher one gets in the military, be it Army, Air Force or Navy , the more you are required to understand international as well local issues. These are not just restricted to national security but to matters of politics and how they relate to your own nation.

There are many things an office must understand very early in his/her career. It is quite easy for a captain, (army rank); to be put in a delicate diplomatic situation and that officer is expected to succeed.

Depending in the nation this may start early in officer training.

Fatman is correct in this.
The higher one gets in the military, be it Army, Air Force or Navy , the more you are required to understand international as well local issues. These are not just restricted to national security but to matters of politics and how they relate to your own nation.

There are many things an office must understand very early in his/her career. It is quite easy for a captain, (army rank); to be put in a delicate diplomatic situation and that officer is expected to succeed.

for once you agree!;)

The only role of a military is to defend its nation from the outside threat. Since for Pakistan Military it has been changed altogether, for now they are doing what Police and para-military are trained for, teaching politics to the officers can also be made part of their curriculum.

In fact I would propose to send PA officers on deputation to Sehala for some Police training, to the Civil Services Academy for some civil bureaucratic training and for politics, well you need no training or perhaps Politicians can be invited to PMA for training the young cadets. Oh, I forgot, Musharraf and Hameed Gul are still alive, they should be hired for training the prospective cadets in PMA on how to hire people like Sharif uddin Peerzada to mutilate the constitution, how to erect pro-dictatorship political parties from nowhere, how to impose emergency to depose the CJ, and how to fire PMs in a row.

Ratus Ratus, would you mind giving the same adivce to your Military?

Actually they do teach leadership at PMA however that is to lead our section or platoon or unit either way alot of the top brass is probably very experienced and hence I feel that army can also play an advisory role.

Essentially you are advocating a bureaucracy led (strongly advised) rule - in this case Army being the best qualified bureaucrats.

Most people who are pro-democracy would say that opinions should be formed by the people through democracy and that bureaucrats/executive should "implement" them. You seem to have reversed the positions. In that view, Army/executive does not question the orders it is given, but nevertheless has a strong role in how it is implemented.

I won't say what you are saying is wrong, but it is certainly different from democracy practiced in many countries. Whatever works for you, I guess.