India's Mars mission enters second stage; outpaces space rival China

I don't think we should 'compete' with CHina. Decide what we want to do and do it because it seems right rather than because of some competition
But eventually you will have to get into the competition mode, else you loose the edge..

That's actually quite true. When we don't have competition we do slack off. Probably it's good to compete with the chinese afterall.

This is a heartening news indeed. Since the success is coming in steps , the joy of one step being completed gives such immense relief first and then the over powering sense of joy!! Kudos to the people behind the project!
About media specially in west , that literally are saying "How dare a poor nation like you try to achieve our lofty height??"....its sounds more of sensationalism journalism mixed with a sense of "concern" with aid money..what they miss the point is that its not a firecracker industry..a rocket a show and then its over.....its a space venture that provides job, research material and general advancement of not only a country but a region as a whole.

this international media must stop comparing india and china in everything.sometimes thats just irritating.

Why is a country where 760 million people are living in abject poverty trying to work on a space program anyway. Pakistan and India should concentrate on ensuring rights to their people. They should work for the welfare of their people rather than investing on huge projects.

For people like you.

mom.jpg

India also produces many hundred thousand engineers and scientist graduates from its universities , Do you expect them use their skills to build toilets ?? Moronic excuse.

Most Indians including me enjoying the heart burning going among our friends who can't digest the fact India has demonstrated this feat in inter planetary exploration . Will it help if i tell u India sending a spacecraft near to the Sun in its next mission in 2015-16.

Not sure how long this self-defeating philosophy is going to continue...People just make claims without even giving an iota of thought...

The poverty issue is not about means but corruption...so if you add few hundred crores in lakhs of crores that are kept aside for upliftment of poverty it won't make an iota of difference unless and until you have no means to bring help to the doors of poor. In other words Pakistan and India suffer from poverty issues not because they lack the resources but lack of effective ways to make sure resources reaches the needy....

log movies pay paisa kharch karte hai...look at how much these muvis make nowadays.
i thnk one mars mission wont harm anyone.bt thn again priorities have to straightened out.

Because I have read your earlier posts I am pretty sure you are not trolling, rather making a valid point. How should a developing country spend it's resources to have maximum impact on its population. Its as important for developed country too, but for developing coutry it looks immoral to waste money.

Now question is, whether a space program a luxury for India. Secondly how much is really spent on it and whether it can impact poverty if we had no space program and divert the money.

We got manpower to build satellites and launch them to space. Its much cheaper if we do ourselves than buy from others. Every country needs satellites, and we need more of it than smaller countries for all sorts of use(including broadcasting, communication, weather forcasting etc)
We also can sell images to others and recoup our investment, and if we try hard, might make a profit too. (ISRO sells images via Antrix corp and makes money)