This is the sad scenario of the much bandied about hoopla of the "Gujarat Model".
As always in India, everything is for show.
You can have a hundred million dollar refinery and a billion dollar port in Gujarat built by the Ambanis and Adanis, but if you can't give people jobs, then how will they eat? These mega-billionaires ("Dhan-Kuber" is the word used in Eastern India) don't care about underclass people's welfare. Nor will the BJP politicians and fascists, who are in the pocket of these Billionaires.
India is the perfect example of unequal development and jobless growth where only the rich get richer and a few of their propagandist bhakt cheerleaders (like we have here on PDF) keep trumpeting how "advanced" a "superpower" India is. Looks fine on paper as per capita GNP and per capita GDP (PPP) but actual story is different.
In actuality middle and lower middle class people have little options but to illegally immigrate overseas. For a couple of peon jobs in UP - 50,000 people apply. This is the real face of India, whose "Aam Janta" never gets the benefit of supposed Indian "wealth". This is what I (and many other Bangladeshis) have seen from our frequent visits to India in the past and this is by BJP/VHP design. Preservation of the Brahmin status quo where underclass Hindu castes remain underclass and forever hungry.
In Bengali we have a saying, "Bahar mei fit-phaat, andar mei Sadarghat". Sadarghat is a notoriously filthy ferry terminal in old Dhaka. This is the real picture of India.
@jamahir bhai - can you kindly shed some light on what I spoke on this? What have you seen?