Indian Navy Set to Commission 3rd Saryu Class NOPV - INS Sumedha

kurup

INS Sumedha - Saryu Class NOPV built by GSL

INS Sumedha, the 3rd Saryu Class NOPV made by public sector Goa Shipyard Limited (GSL) will be formally commissioned into the Navy by Vice Admiral Anil Chopra, FO C-IN-C Eastern Naval Command on March 7, 2014 at GSL. The ship will join Eastern Naval Command at Vizag.

INS Sumedha was launched on May 21, 2011 and handed over to the Navy on January 14, 2014.

INS Saryu, the first ship of the class, was launched on March 30, 2009, handed over to the Indian Navy on December 21, 2012, and officially commissioned into the Navy at Goa on January 21, 2013 by Air Marshal PK Roy, Commander-in-Chief, Andaman and Nicobar Command.

INS Sunayna, the second ship, was launched on November 14, 2009, handed over to the IN on September 2, 2013 and commissioned in the service on October 15, 2013.

INS Sumedha is 200th ship indigenously built by GSL, which has delivered four classes of OPVs to both Navy and Coast Guard.

GSL is undergoing major modernization at an outlay of Rs. 700 Crores, of which Rs. 400 Crores has already been spent. The Yard is near ready to take on construction of new MCMV project, which will provide major push to Naval mine sweeping capabilities.

Thum! Kaun Aata Hai?: Indian Navy Set to Commission 3rd Saryu Class NOPV - INS Sumedha

INS Sumedha - Saryu Class NOPV built by GSL

INS Sumedha, the 3rd Saryu Class NOPV made by public sector Goa Shipyard Limited (GSL) will be formally commissioned into the Navy by Vice Admiral Anil Chopra, FO C-IN-C Eastern Naval Command on March 7, 2014 at GSL. The ship will join Eastern Naval Command at Vizag.

INS Sumedha was launched on May 21, 2011 and handed over to the Navy on January 14, 2014.

INS Saryu, the first ship of the class, was launched on March 30, 2009, handed over to the Indian Navy on December 21, 2012, and officially commissioned into the Navy at Goa on January 21, 2013 by Air Marshal PK Roy, Commander-in-Chief, Andaman and Nicobar Command.

INS Sunayna, the second ship, was launched on November 14, 2009, handed over to the IN on September 2, 2013 and commissioned in the service on October 15, 2013.

INS Sumedha is 200th ship indigenously built by GSL, which has delivered four classes of OPVs to both Navy and Coast Guard.

GSL is undergoing major modernization at an outlay of Rs. 700 Crores, of which Rs. 400 Crores has already been spent. The Yard is near ready to take on construction of new MCMV project, which will provide major push to Naval mine sweeping capabilities.

Thum! Kaun Aata Hai?: Indian Navy Set to Commission 3rd Saryu Class NOPV - INS Sumedha

A Freaking 2,300 Tons Naval ship with NO Offensive Weapon except for a piddly 76 mm gun. :cry:

I just wish someone could tell me clear terms why there are no weapon on the bloody Naval ship.

I am sure this class of ships have their role and purpose, but why NO Offensive Weapons ? :crazy:

Anyone ? @Penguin ..@Capt.Popeye .....is it cost ?

A Freaking 2,300 Tons Naval ship with NO Offensive Weapon except for a piddly 76 mm gun. :cry:

I just wish someone could tell me clear terms why there are no weapon on the bloody Naval ship.

I am sure this class of ships have their role and purpose, but why NO Offensive Weapons ? :crazy:

Thats true. Just one 76mm gun for offence and 2 CIWS for defence. But It makes sense too because these are Offshore patrol vessels and they are meant to patrol and ensure security of our India waters/commercial vessels during peace time.
PS: If needed we can easily add anti-ship missiles or even ballastic missiles like Dhanush on them but I don't see any need of that as of now as this will increase their cost Just like any frigate/corvette etc.

we can integrate any kind of ASM into them.but,we don't have any need of this for now,do we??by the way,previous INS Sarayu(homophone) was much smaller and way less modern than this one but serving as front line of Sri Lankan Navy as Flag Ship and integrated with C-802 missiles.but it served IN as patrol vessel.that shows capability of these ships.

Thats true. Just one 76mm gun for offence and 2 CIWS for defence. But It makes sense too because these are Offshore patrol vessels and they are meant to patrol and ensure security of our India waters/commercial vessels during peace time.
PS: If needed we can easily add anti-ship missiles or even ballastic missiles like Dhanush on them but I don't see any need of that as of now as this will increase their cost Just like any frigate/corvette etc.

What is the point of patrolling when they cannot take action if they find an enemy ?

Besides long range Aircrafts are much better for patrolling duties anyway. So are long range UAV's. The whole point in having ships patrolling is that they can take action if they encounter anything suspicious, whereas the aircraft can only report back.

Its not so easy to install weapons and associated Radars on a ship and network it. Its a good six months to 2 year job depending on the urgency. Something not possible during modern warfare.

we can integrate any kind of ASM into them.but,we don't have any need of this for now,do we??by the way,previous INS Sarayu(homophone) was much smaller and way less modern than this one but serving as front line of Sri Lankan Navy as Flag Ship and integrated with C-802 missiles.but it served IN as patrol vessel.that shows capability of these ships.

These weapons are NOT Plug and Play. Its not as simple are you make it out to be. It is very complex, difficult and double the work.

Look carefully, how many radars do you see ?

These weapons are NOT Plug and Play. Its not as simple are you make it out to be. It is very complex, difficult and double the work.

I know bro..but its true,India can install it.it did this kind of modification before with INS Sarayu(thats why I gave the example).but normally,it is not supposed to carry any armament beyond 76 mm OTO MELARA gun.but this gun is perfect for patrol role.

Because this is a patrol vessel for anti piracy ops, not a warship. Somalian pirates don't need anything more that the gun, and a presence. Our commitment towards anti piracy ops is huge, from the gulf to the east. It would be a waste of money to have shivalik class ships doing anti piracy patrols in the guf of aden, or to escort merchant vessels. These are much cheaper to own, operate and train on.

What is the point of patrolling when they cannot take action if they find an enemy ?

Besides long range Aircrafts are much better for patrolling duties anyway. So are long range UAV's. The whole point in having ships patrolling is that they can take action if they encounter anything suspicious, whereas the aircraft can only report back.

Its not so easy to install weapons and associated Radars on a ship and network it. Its a good six months to 2 year job depending on the urgency. Something not possible during modern warfare.

Bhai when I said peacetime, means Anti-piracy and other operations like if some commercial ship violate our rule in our waters etc. Its not meant to have firepower like frigates and destroyers as then whats point of OPV? And no patrolling through aircrafts is not easy for long time like these vessels can do(they have heli too) and in the same way we can use fighters to attack other ships then whats use of frigates/destroyers?
PS: currently we have placed 2 frigates(Ins Tabar I guess and one another) and some sukanya class OPVs for anti-piracy role, I guess when can easily replace those frigates with these advance OPVs for the same role.

Lesser weapons means lesser manpower and equipments directly translating into longer endurance. And those naval guns aren't that easy. Naval guns are effective and flexible,and prefered choice of weapon for navies. Those Otomelera systems are in particular kick ***,multitask systems (some variant fires guided shells) and we make them at home.

Lesser weapons means lesser manpower and equipments directly translating into longer endurance and better reaction time.. And those naval guns aren't that easy. Naval guns are effective and flexible,and prefered choice of weapon for navies. Those Otomelera systems are in particular kick ***,multitask systems (some variant fires guided shells) and we make them at home. Also, we can add stuff to them anytime you need.

As of now, the Saryu class operates of out of A&N command. Not anti -Somali operations. They need to have the ability to be out at sea for long periods of time. Their job is surveillance, not offense. And in case of minor opponents, deter. Since these are ocean going patrol ships, they cannot be of small tonnage.

You got that right. They are ocean patrol ships and need to be of larger tonnage. The point is why don't they have weapons ? You need weapons for Defense too, you know. Least someone on whom you are conducing surveillance decides you make them unhappy.

Why don't they have decent Radars ? How do you do surveillance ? line of sight ?

Because this is a patrol vessel for anti piracy ops, not a warship. Somalian pirates don't need anything more that the gun, and a presence. Our commitment towards anti piracy ops is huge, from the gulf to the east. It would be a waste of money to have shivalik class ships doing anti piracy patrols in the guf of aden, or to escort merchant vessels. These are much cheaper to own, operate and train on.

No one design's Naval ships only for Anti Piracy, they are built for war. My simple point is why not have a decent Radar and a couple of missiles ?

You got that right. They are ocean patrol ships and need to be of larger tonnage. The point is why don't they have weapons ? You need weapons for Defense too, you know. Least someone on whom you are conducing surveillance decides you make them unhappy.

Why don't they have decent Radars ? How do you do surveillance ? line of sight ?

No one design's Naval ships only for Anti Piracy, they are built for war. My simple point is why not have a decent Radar and a couple of missiles ?

They do have radars, unfortunately I do not know which. Their main surveillance equipment is the chopper. The main reason, behind these are they are cheaper. They can be produced in larger numbers. If, I dare to compare, I would say these are the lo in the lo-med-hi mix of the IN.

These ship carries a complement of 113 sea men (sailors + officers) so they are not exactly understaffed.

They have Racal Decca 2459 radar which is a decent Navigation radar that has limited air scan and horizon scan capability with ability to mimic merchant ship radars.

They have an endurance of 2 months with range of 6000 km.

They are comparable to the chinese Type 056 corvette which are used for similar role, except they are 1,300 tons with a range of 6,500 km and with far better offensive capabilities.

Since when to COAST GUARD ships get/need offensive weapons? It is not a surface combattant for the navy.
See e.g. USCG national security cutter. Also, it may well be 'fitted for but not with' some additional systems.

AK630 radar directed guns are effective against missile but not CIWS in the same sense as e.g. Goalkeeper, Phalanx, Kashtan are.

UAV's and aircraft cannot be used to carry a boarding party and do not have the same staying power in poor weather and sea conditions. Hence a mix of assets is required. Again, Coast Guard OPVs aren't mean to engage opposing navy combattants, friendly navy surface combattants are.

I doubt there is sufficient space for anti-ship missiles....

As for the radars, if it has a datalink it can receive off board targeting information. Remember many small attack craft don't have fancy targeting radars either, yet can be effective over long range with external target data input.

Since when to COAST GUARD ships get/need offensive weapons? It is not a surface combattant for the navy.
See e.g. USCG national security cutter. Also, it may well be 'fitted for but not with' some additional systems.

I would have agreed with you IF it had been a Coast Guard vessel. INS Saryu and its sisters are not. They belong to the IN.