Indian Army chief's statements "very hostile", says Pak foreign minister

thestringshredder

Indian Army chief's statements "very hostile", says Pak foreign minister Hina Rabbani Khar

WASHINGTON: The disconnect between Pakistan's adrift and enfeebled civilian government and its out-of-control military was on show in the US last night when the country's foreign minister Hina Rabbani Khar insisted Islamabad wanted to resolve issues through dialogue rather than military actions despite the alleged depredations of its army resulting in the beheading of an Indian soldier.

The Indian leadership had to "catch up" with Pakistan in the matter of striving for peace with, Khar gratuitously told the Charlie Rose show, while presenting her country's version of what transpired at the LoC and denying the Indian account the soldier's beheading.

Khar arrived in the US to attend a special session of the UN Security Council of which Pakistan is the Chairman for the month of January even as her toxic country was imploding from a shadowy confrontation involving the judiciary, military, and clerical-political forces. But she presented the voice of sweet reason before American TV audience, maintaining that Islamabad was striving for peace and describing the Indian Army Chief's warning to Pakistan as "very hostile."

"After the comments by the army chief I am taken back by 20 years," Khar said on show aired on PBS.

Charlie Rose: What did he say?

Khar: Just very hostile comments.

The Indian Army Chief Gen Bikram Singh had warned Pakistan that India reserves the right to retaliate at the "time and place" of its choosing, suggesting that the border spat is not going to be buried anytime soon. India's political leadership too appeared to be responding with spine after initial timidity, following popular anger and media outcry.

Khar said Pakistan was "not very pleasantly surprised" by the comments it heard from India and gratuitously added "I think this is what has changed in Pakistan where India needs to catch up." Pakistan, she said, today presents a country "which is very clear in its head as to how it wants to operate with its neighbors."

"And the way we want to operate with our neighbors is to try and build on the trust to take care of and then build that trust enough to be able to build an environment in which we can take care of the disputes that we have on the dialogue table rather than through military statements and through military actions," she added.

While the Pakistan foreign minister's statements were mainly meant for western consumption, it is no great secret among analysts here that the country's civilian government has little control or leverage over the military, which plays by its own ****** rule book both in its eastern and western front. There has been speculation in expert circles that the Pakistani military or sections of it could be turning up the heat on its eastern front with India to rein in and redirect some of the ****** forces which are attacking the military.

On Tuesday, the regionalists were also riveted to the new power struggle in Islamabad with little attention paid to India's fulminations on the border incident.

In Khar's version of the border incident, it was Indian forces which came 400 meters inside Pakistani territory for an attack which resulted in the death of a Pakistani soldier. "Now just two days after that or three days after that, we had an allegation which was made that two Indian soldiers were killed by Pakistani fighting which we looked into and we could find no evidence that Pakistani troops had done that. And then of course, there were extremely conflicting statements that the heads were decapitated," Khar narrated, capitalizing on the initial mixed messages that came from India.

"The northern commander spokesperson who is the person on the ground said they weren't (beheaded). Others said they were," she added, suggesting that the issue had become embroiled in domestic politics.

Link - Indian Army chief's statements "very hostile", says Pak foreign minister Hina Rabbani Khar - The Times of India

So after the brutal killing of Indian soldiers, what else were the pakistanis expecting ? :rofl:

If they keep provoking India they will surely feel some heat......India is only behaving cool and not attacking is due to its International Image of a responsible nation and Pakistan mistakes it as cowardliness and inferiority

Indian Army will take revenge for the beheading and that's for sure,It's just matter of when and where..Pakistan has asked for all this trouble !! They can't just talk of peace on one side and unleash such barbarian acts on the other.PA knows it very well that they can't afford any major confrontation with Indian army at this movement given their internal security concerns,they are digging their own grave

No bheading took place.

It was India who first killed a Pakistani soldier

Then again violated ceasfire and killed another Pakistani soldier and yesterday again Indian army killed another Pakistani soldiers in an unprovoked firing across LoC.

It seems Indian Army is out of control of the govt and wants to create and escalate tension at LoC to get attention.

No bheading took place.

Then again violated ceasfire and killed another Pakistani soldier and yesterday again Indian army killed another Pakistani soldiers in an unprovoked firing across LoC.

It seems Indian Army is out of control of the govt and wants to create and escalate tension at LoC to get attention.

What is the Basis of your Comments ?

Credibility Factor stands Zero for Pakistan, whole World acknowledges this fact.

How can we Trust your Comments Pakistan did not Slaughter our Soldiers ??
....Sir in WAR also, we have Ethics - which proves Our dIgnity.

Till date Mumbai attackers have not been acknowledged by Pakistan whole World says they were Yours.........

You cannt say our Military is out of Control, had they been then Islamabad would have Tricolor Fluttering.

TAGRA RAHO

No bheading took place.

the Soldier that was killed on 6th of Jan [If you are referring to that incident] was killed in retaliation,Pakistan army violated the ceasefire and Indian army retaliated,we had no casualities that day.the Beheading took place on 8th of Jan !! and if you are still in denial that no beheading took place so be it !! Such incident have occured in past clashes too,some Months back a soldier from Maratha light infantry was beheaded by Pakistani soldiers who crossed over the LOC

And Mark my word,If Indian army was out of control of the govt,It would have cost your army very dearly everytime they violated the ceasefire line.Army will take revenge for the act of you barbarians

No bheading took place.

How can u ever say lik that? Will u go to the dead soldiers family and say the soldier wasnt beheaded?

On what basis u say that?

And we are not that bigots to behead our own soldier and u guys take solace in conspiracy theories

Arey Mohtarma aur kya ummeed kar rahi hain?
Ab Bolna bhi bura lag raha hai.

Even when provoked, IA has shown remarkable constraint and behaved in a responsible and civilized manner. Remember this is the same army that accorded a respectful last rites to Pakistani Soldiers killed in Kargil Conflict whose bodies were abandoned by PA. Even when pushed to corner Indian army has never lost its respect for the democratic institutions.

IA is a LETHAL HUNTER but not JALLAD.

Pakistan is unable to help terrorists, getting frustrated: Lt Gen KT Parnaik- Jammu and Kashmir- IBNLive

Chakan-da-Bagh: The Indian Army kept up the pressure on Pakistan and called its army a frustrated force which was trying to violate the ceasefire at the Line of Control to help terrorists infiltrate into India. General Officer Commanding, Northern Command, Lieutenant General KT Parnaik said on Tuesday that the Pakistan troops have been provoking the Indian side so that the LoC remains "hot and active".

"Pakistan has been resorting to violence. In 2011, there were more than 100 ceasefire violations as compared to 52 last year. Pakistan is frustrated as infiltration is not taking place. Our troops are exercising great restraint," said Lt Gen KT Parnaik. While Pakistan continued to dismiss India's charges, Lt General said, "They were as adamant and arrogant as they are."

"Pakistan has continuously tried to infiltrate from a nallah at Uri. We have restricted that to a large extent and that's what frustrates them," Lt Gen Parnaik added.

What else did pakistan expect. and taken back by 20 years? interesting.

No bheading took place.

India Army was always & will always remain under the control of a civilian leadership, even an emphatic victory in 1971 & a great General like Sam Manekshaw couldn't change this equation, so do you really think that killing of 2 IA soldiers will change it?? Indian Govt. is under public pressure to act a little tough on this issue, so you are hearing such types of statements from army chief since he can't say anything without the approval of the GOI otherwise he will be immediately sacked.

Besides if you are not accepting that the beheading ever took place than why should we accept that 3 PA soldiers have been died & that it was IA that started it all??

As far as the control of Army is concerned, the world knows what is the power equation in Pakistan & what is it in India, so your argument fails here.

+ @topic, all 4 wars b/w India & Pakistan were started by Pakistan & they are accusing us of war-mongering/ being hostile???

there is no pak army but a political millitary establishment with lots of irregulars (terrorists ) who do most of heavy duty stuff for it ! the problem is with pakistanis , as they fail to see how long pak army hold them hostage to a world of misery when the rest of world moves ahead !

thank you we dont have Col prohit