India won't remain passive if attacked: Army chief

hitenray09

NEW DELHI: Terming as "unpardonable" the beheading of a soldier by Pakistan on the Line of Control, Army chief Gen Bikram Singh on Monday warned that India's military will retaliate aggressively in case of any further provocation.

Talking tough, he said the killing of two Indian soldiers on the LoC in Mendhar area of Jammu and Kashmir on January 6 was a pre-planned and pre-meditated action by Pakistani troops and India reserves the right to retaliate at "time and place of its choice".

Addressing a press conference here on the eve of Army Day, Gen Singh said India's response to Pakistani firing at its posts in LoC in J and K is measured and perfect.

He said the ceasefire, in place since November 2003, has been holding except for "some aberrations" for which he squarely blamed Pakistan.

"Beheading (of Lance Naik Hemraj) is unacceptable and unpardonable," the Army chief said about the incident in which Pakistan soldiers crossed into the Indian territory to attack Indian Army patrol party.

"It (the attack) was stage-managed and pre-planned (by Pakistan). They (Pakistan) have planted lies to justify what they have done," he said.

He said the attack was carried out by Pakistan army personnel but did not rule out the possibility of Lashkar-e-Taiba terrorists being associated with it.

Gen Singh said while the issue is being taken up with Pakistan at government and military levels, directions have been given to Army commanders to respond immediately if provoked.

"India reserves its right to retaliate at the time and place of its choice. We won't remain passive when attacked," he said, adding he expected "commanders to be aggressive and offensive."

Hitting out that the Pakistan army, Gen Singh said beheading is against all rules of engagement.

At the same time, he said there were some "tactical errors" on part of the local unit which will be looked into later as an inquiry at the moment will affect the morale of the forces.

"Our teams should be balanced to take on the onslaught of the enemy," the Army chief said.

Putting the onus of maintaining the ceasefire on Pakistan, the Army chief said India will uphold it as long as the "adversary" does.

He applauded the Indian Army Commanders at the LoC, saying they did a "great job". Gen Singh discounted the possibility of the skirmish leading to a full-fledged war and was dismissive of Pakistan's nuclear blackmail, saying it had no relation to the local conflict. "Indicators does not show upping the ante," he said.

On any response to the Pakistani action, he said it has to be the decision of the government.

India won't remain passive if attacked: Army chief - The Times of India

India is gearing up to create a drama as a false pretext for some adventure against Pakistan.

i have already gave details what will happen.... Nuclear war, natural disasters around world within 3 years.... its a golden age when terrorist will perish.... India is a choosen one who will lead. In western world they call it new age.... Golden age is about peace, war, love, harmony, richness.... While poverty, terror will be eliminated.... india getting hammerd by golden age law to wake up and take the lead.... Pakistan wont change. My request to good pakistanis are please leave pakistan.... Few bad pakistanis will provoke india which will trigger nuclear war.... India took enough and now india cant take this cowardly act by pakistan of terrorism and hit and run.... india wants face to face war.... Few months ago i told very clearly that pak team coming in india so get ready for getting attacked. Also i told that america moving out of afghan. So pakistan will search a way to shift army towards india by creating cowardly act.... They did exactly that.... Sad but pakistan wont change. They say india killed our two soldiers so we killed two.... Thats ok.... Who objecting that? The objection is about cowardly beheading.... No one can stop nuclear war but it wont happen this year.... But will happen before 2015 when pakistan again provoke....
@HongWu i dont like argument specially with chinese as its not my job unlike yours.... But still we not 'giving threats champion' like china who kept threatning world and they just threats. China was good till 1970s but than from than they just threats specialy recently.... Anyway india china war 1962.... Yet china never helped pakistan in 1965, 1971, 1999.... Even when world was enemy of india that time around.... My last reply to u as its not my job.... i dont get money to post.... Sorry....

now that scares me

i have already gave details what will happen.... Nuclear war, natural disasters around world within 3 years.... its a golden age when terrorist will perish.... India is a choosen one who will lead. In western world they call it new age.... Golden age is about peace, war, love, harmony, richness.... While poverty, terror will be eliminated.... india getting hammerd by golden age law to wake up and take the lead.... Pakistan wont change. My request to good pakistanis are please leave pakistan.... Few bad pakistanis will provoke india which will trigger nuclear war.... India took enough and now india cant take this cowardly act by pakistan of terrorism and hit and run.... india wants face to face war.... Few months ago i told very clearly that pak team coming in india so get ready for getting attacked. Also i told that america moving out of afghan. So pakistan will search a way to shift army towards india by creating cowardly act.... They did exactly that.... Sad but pakistan wont change. They say india killed our two soldiers so we killed two.... Thats ok.... Who objecting that? The objection is about cowardly beheading.... No one can stop nuclear war but it wont happen this year.... But will happen before 2015 when pakistan again provoke....
@HongWu i dont like argument specially with chinese as its not my job unlike yours.... But still we not 'giving threats champion' like china who kept threatning world and they just threats. China was good till 1970s but than from than they just threats specialy recently.... Anyway india china war 1962.... Yet china never helped pakistan in 1965, 1971, 1999.... Even when world was enemy of india that time around.... My last reply to u as its not my job.... i dont get money to post.... Sorry....

such a passionate speech, you win a toilet

Another foul mouth Indian chief with failed media attempt.
Some Interesting comments about Indian army chief on TOI.

Mani (India)
40 mins ago
This army chief is pathetic. Perhaps he needs to go down on his knees and beg the ***** to return the head since he has no idea how to get it back. Or maybe he needs to offer his head in exchange for the soldiers head. What a weak and gutless man.

devdas (gautumnagur)
9 mins ago
let me put pressure...hai mai baap pakistan ji hemraj ka head to vapas kar mere yaar..please we beg..we beg..booo booo booo ...awaaannn .. please..want more pressure let me know.

myalmightygod (India)
161 Followers
16 mins ago Platinum: 30.5K731
Army chief now in media, come on, he should have stood up at the very moment when the news of our dead soldiers came.

24 mins ago
Note to Army Chief: We do not want the "head" back. We require that Pakistan return the mortal remains of a fallen soldier for a decent and honorable funeral. Indian press and now the army chief's choice of words is careless, insensitive and in bad taste. We are not dealing with a football.

nareshsalde (Doha)
4 Followers
24 mins ago Silver: 2246333
Gen Bikram Singh we dont need lip service we have political leaders to do that job and if you also do the same then God save us

Farid Rahman (Bombay)
4 Followers
25 mins ago Silver: 1578332
China took head with them and our Army chief is asking to Pakistan.

Capt. Nawanit Raj (kandla)
10 Followers
27 mins ago Silver: 1817233
Dear Army Chief and all leaders stop fooling Hemraj's Family .... and tell them you can't bring Hemraj's head.

Krish PK Nair (Dubai, United Arab Emira)
44 Followers
30 mins ago Gold: 13.9K752
Our Army Chief is dreaming like our spineless and corrupt political leaders. First of all, they are not accepting that their uniformed men or terrorists did this heinous crime of chopping off the head and first let them accept it then comes the question of returning the head. I don't think they will accept it in our life time or in this era. Let's not make fool of ourselves please. Did he forget they did not even accept their men - Kasab and 9 butchers who had committed 26/11 crime in Mumbai are Pakistani nationals and refused to accept their bodies. We have seen so many glaring incidents and our govt. is not learning any lessons.

ironman (Madurai)
30 mins ago
What India Army can do of its own. Every time we are hit, we run towards Int'l community for help. We ask help frm tiny countries like Israel, and foolish countries like Saudi Arabia,Iran,Nepal, Srilanka & Maldives. This is just laughable after reading the headlines. This just shows our army officers are obsolete & junk. The really have lost their heads. We can just imagine the level of corruption that has got into the system. God bless India !

suarayya (Vienna Auatria)
32 mins ago
Why is this Indian Army Chief a cowardly beggar? Why is this fool begging?You have a Big Army shame on you,cant you at least get 11 pakistani heads.Stop begging and get their heads if you are a man or wear bangles and a Saree to Prove who you are.

Rajguru (delhi)
118 Followers
35 mins ago Platinum: 25.2K716
India, a country so weak ,unable to tame a neighbor, one eighth of it's size -This is the reason it does not deserve the permanent seat in UN security council.

being human (India)
37 mins ago
If Army people goes busy in doing protests like a common man then who will take the arms in hand to save India's Land...

and continue.....

he said bla bla bla and go drink wine with indian tax pay money over and all :rofl:

He has to tow the govt line. After all govt fought tooth & nail with ex-chief to make him in-charge..

Not that but as this is the Indian military, he has to be 100% submissive to the civilian establishment and tow whatever line the GoI is drawing out, anything more would be considered unbecoming and a serious offence.

Mani (India)
40 mins ago
This army chief is pathetic. Perhaps he needs to go down on his knees and beg the ***** to return the head since he has no idea how to get it back. Or maybe he needs to offer his head in exchange for the soldiers head. What a weak and gutless man.

devdas (gautumnagur)
9 mins ago
let me put pressure...hai mai baap pakistan ji hemraj ka head to vapas kar mere yaar..please we beg..we beg..booo booo booo ...awaaannn .. please..want more pressure let me know.

myalmightygod (India)
161 Followers
16 mins ago Platinum: 30.5K731
Army chief now in media, come on, he should have stood up at the very moment when the news of our dead soldiers came.

24 mins ago
Note to Army Chief: We do not want the "head" back. We require that Pakistan return the mortal remains of a fallen soldier for a decent and honorable funeral. Indian press and now the army chief's choice of words is careless, insensitive and in bad taste. We are not dealing with a football.

nareshsalde (Doha)
4 Followers
24 mins ago Silver: 2246333
Gen Bikram Singh we dont need lip service we have political leaders to do that job and if you also do the same then God save us

Farid Rahman (Bombay)
4 Followers
25 mins ago Silver: 1578332
China took head with them and our Army chief is asking to Pakistan.

Capt. Nawanit Raj (kandla)
10 Followers
27 mins ago Silver: 1817233
Dear Army Chief and all leaders stop fooling Hemraj's Family .... and tell them you can't bring Hemraj's head.

Krish PK Nair (Dubai, United Arab Emira)
44 Followers
30 mins ago Gold: 13.9K752
Our Army Chief is dreaming like our spineless and corrupt political leaders. First of all, they are not accepting that their uniformed men or terrorists did this heinous crime of chopping off the head and first let them accept it then comes the question of returning the head. I don't think they will accept it in our life time or in this era. Let's not make fool of ourselves please. Did he forget they did not even accept their men - Kasab and 9 butchers who had committed 26/11 crime in Mumbai are Pakistani nationals and refused to accept their bodies. We have seen so many glaring incidents and our govt. is not learning any lessons.

ironman (Madurai)
30 mins ago
What India Army can do of its own. Every time we are hit, we run towards Int'l community for help. We ask help frm tiny countries like Israel, and foolish countries like Saudi Arabia,Iran,Nepal, Srilanka & Maldives. This is just laughable after reading the headlines. This just shows our army officers are obsolete & junk. The really have lost their heads. We can just imagine the level of corruption that has got into the system. God bless India !

suarayya (Vienna Auatria)
32 mins ago
Why is this Indian Army Chief a cowardly beggar? Why is this fool begging?You have a Big Army shame on you,cant you at least get 11 pakistani heads.Stop begging and get their heads if you are a man or wear bangles and a Saree to Prove who you are.

Rajguru (delhi)
118 Followers
35 mins ago Platinum: 25.2K716
India, a country so weak ,unable to tame a neighbor, one eighth of it's size -This is the reason it does not deserve the permanent seat in UN security council.

being human (India)
37 mins ago
If Army people goes busy in doing protests like a common man then who will take the arms in hand to save India's Land...

and continue.....

The COAS and the IA's hands are compeltly tied by the GoI- they can't go off on their own course of action now can they? These people fail to understand they should be condemning the GoI not the COAS who is answerable to the civlian powers 100%.

If Gen Bikram Singh had said anything more aggressive can you imagine the backlash from the media??!! He'd probably have to resign within the week.

Why are we not using stealthy attack drones across the LOC? we can target militants while they sleep and the likes of the Hafiz Saeed who was reported as being close to the LOC.