India offers $1 bn to Afghanistan to fight terrorism

ashok321

Canada

NEW DELHI: India on Wednesday offered development assistance worth $1 billion toAfghanistan besides assistance in fighting crossborder terrorism as Prime MinisterNarendra Modi and President Ashraf Ghani discussed fresh threats from Pakistansponsored extremism.

In a stern message to Pakistan, the two leaders called for an end to all support, sponsorship and safe havens to terrorists and decided to strengthen security and defence cooperation. As the two sides discussed threadbare the issue of terrorism emanating from Pakistan, the Modi government signed three pacts - extradition treaty, legal assistance mechanism and use of outer space.

The $1 billion will be utilised for Afghanistan's capacity and institution building, foreign secretary S Jaishankar said. Briefing the media Jaishankar said that the Afghan President referred to the "new wave of terror" in his country which is targeting the entire society and that terror is being fuelled by narcotics trade.

"The two leaders discussed the regional situation and expressed grave concern at continued use of terrorism and violence in the region for achieving political objectives," the Indo-Afghan joint statement said, indirectly hitting out at Pakistan.

"Stressing that elimination of all forms of terrorism, without any discrimination, is essential, they called upon the concerned to put an end to all sponsorship, support, safe havens and sanctuaries to terrorists, including for those who target Afghanistan and India," it said.

At their eighth meeting in two years, Modi and Ghani reaffirmed their resolve to counter terrorism and strengthen security and defence cooperation as envisaged in the India-Afghanistan Strategic Partnership Agreement.

The two sides agreed that the Strategic Partnership Council headed by the foreign ministers of the two countries will meet in the near future. Connectivity between India and Afghanistan through Iran's Chabahar Port also figured in the discussions. This is important since Pakistan has refused to give transit rights for Indian goods to Afghanistan. India has offered to supply 1.75 lakh tonnes of wheat to Afghanistan.

India made a request "months back" to Pakistan for the transit, Jaishankar said, but "we have not received any response". Extending further developmentrelated support Modi also proposed to supply world-class and easily affordable medicines from India and cooperationinsolarenergythrough mutually agreed instruments. Aman Sharma & Surabhi Agarwal

Charity begins at home, something that myopic Modi knoweth not.

Thousands of India's suicide committing kissan's life would have been saved by this gifted billion USD, which is the entire GDP of Grenada.

Afghani leadership have past atrocious record of siphoning off huge amount of American aid cash money to Dubai via commercial jetliners.

India's position on this account = Pet bhukh mare aur G*nd khaye samose. Lol

NEW DELHI: India on Wednesday offered development assistance worth $1 billion toAfghanistan besides assistance in fighting crossborder terrorism as Prime MinisterNarendra Modi and President Ashraf Ghani discussed fresh threats from Pakistansponsored extremism.

Here we go. Mr. Modi on his crazy routine again. A place that's eaten billions of our American $$, weapons, etc, and same with stuff from other nation's, will eat Indian money too and will be sending it to their palaces overseas. India needs to realize, that at the end of the day, looking at Afghanistan to cause trouble inside Pakistan is fine. But if they start to throw their money at these people, this is a ditch, the more you throw, the more it will vanish. Learn from our mistakes.

The amount of money the US has provided these fools, they could've rebuilt half the Afghanistan. Or at the least, established about 50 top end universities and towns around it. If you go to Kabul or Jalalabad, it is the same shiit hole it's been since the 80's, with the exception of some Western-housing sophisticated looking complexes.

This place is a global cash eating cave. I bet you, you can throw in 10 Trillion and 10 years after, it would still look like a place from the 1700's vs. 2016!!

India isn't that rich, Modi can spend this money much wisely to help millions of Indian families. India is growing but there is still over 600 million people needing attention. That should be the focus.

To the Pakistani members.....this is the time when you raise a Western flank of your forces. So if I was to guess....the CPEC security brigade, would now turn into about 3 divisions of Army, and a couple of dedicated JFT squadrons, heli's, etc, just to counter anything from Afghanistan as they will try to stir up shiit even at a smaller level around the CPEC.

But this is good news for Pakistan as this gives them a reason to grow their forces and tell the world that they did it due to concerns raised by these aids starting from India and growing Afghan military (rag tag militia may be a better word).

Thousands of India's suicide committing kissan's life would have been saved by this gifted billion USD, which is the entire GDP of Grenada.

Afghani leadership have past atrocious record of siphoning off huge amount of American aid cash money to Dubai via commercial jetliners.

I guess India can use the money at home. It can cede Afghanistan to the Taliban because it doesn't help India one iota to be there. :hitwall:

That was our policy until Afghanis infiltrated in Kashmir and Kandahar Hijack .
Return of Taliban in Afghanistan ,you can add fuel on fire in valley.

Here we go. Mr. Modi on his crazy routine again. A place that's eaten billions of our American $$, weapons, etc, and same with stuff from other nation's, will eat Indian money too and will be sending it to their palaces overseas. India needs to realize, that at the end of the day, looking at Afghanistan to cause trouble inside Pakistan is fine. But if they start to throw their money at these people, this is a ditch, the more you throw, the more it will vanish. Learn from our mistakes.

The amount of money the US has provided these fools, they could've rebuilt half the Afghanistan. Or at the least, established about 50 top end universities and towns around it. If you go to Kabul or Jalalabad, it is the same shiit hole it's been since the 80's, with the exception of some Western-housing sophisticated looking complexes.

This place is a global cash eating cave. I bet you, you can throw in 10 Trillion and 10 years after, it would still look like a place from the 1700's vs. 2016!!

India isn't that rich, Modi can spend this money much wisely to help millions of Indian families. India is growing but there is still over 600 million people needing attention. That should be the focus.

To the Pakistani members.....this is the time when you raise a Western flank of your forces. So if I was to guess....the CPEC security brigade, would now turn into about 3 divisions of Army, and a couple of dedicated JFT squadrons, heli's, etc, just to counter anything from Afghanistan as they will try to stir up shiit even at a smaller level around the CPEC.

But this is good news for Pakistan as this gives them a reason to grow their forces and tell the world that they did it due to concerns raised by these aids starting from India and growing Afghan military (rag tag militia may be a better word).

You cant understand it ,really?

When Americans committed aid for them that means throwing money to their land lords .
But when Indians committing aid for them that means Salma dam ,Roads infrastructures etc constructed by our own companies and people.

Afghanis hate Pakistanis,Americans but they loves India .This is the reason

Payment for hired guns to spread "terrorism" in Pakistan because some namak haram are always available for sale!

yes we are going to release bullets and bombs instead of water from places like these

Salma-dam-new2.jpg

be very very afraid !!!

When Americans committed aid for them that means throwing money to their land lords . But when Indians committing aid for them that means Salma dam ,Roads infrastructures etc constructed by our own companies and people.

Afghanis hate Pakistanis,Americans but they loves India .This is the reason

Enjoy the party while it lasts :enjoy:. The point you missed as always, wasn't that there is no Dam or Roads, etc. It was to show you that they don't use whatever someone builds. And people.....its about the 10% who take the money and channel it elsewhere. In any country today, people are puppets of the media. It takes less than 6 months to wash their brains and put something new. I don't think you'd understand this as what I just said, has some serious experience behind it.

No one loves or hates anyone, whoever's feeding their mouth is what matters. Opium is a powerful drug and Indian businessmen want to use it to their benefits. But they are dealing with the wrong mentality. Watch how this unfolds.

yes we are going to release bullets and bombs instead of water from places like these

No for bullets and nasty stuff, you guys have about 50 "cultural center" in the middle of barren mountains where no one lives and no culture exits either but the Indian facilities with the name of Indian cultural centers :rofl:

No for bullets and nasty stuff, you guys have about 50 "cultural center" in the middle of barren mountains where no one lives and no culture exits either but the Indian facilities with the name of Indian cultural centers

not 50 its 5000 cultural centers :lol::lol::lol:

I have said the same thing to Pakistanis.

Kashmiris are a burden to anybody on earth. They are useless, unproductive, asset destroying and resource eating people.

It is not worth fighting for these bunch.
thats a good counter argument:tup:. Fact is any help to afghans causes a lot of distress to pakistan, they want to covertly annex it
Batao behenchd!! kya din agaya hai, Kaam Modi kare, gand iski jaale
tone words my dear, ppl got the point.
When Americans committed aid for them that means throwing money to their land lords .
Most of the american money went to their own pockets. They will keep track of every cent, for example if they send troops then cost is sending them is also taken into account. That will be 100 grand for every soldier bcos they will account it based on their cost. But they wont spend 2 grand providing weapons to local afghans to defend themselves. As such the large aid spent is nothing but hogwash.

Its called development aid do you know how it works ? Most of the funds are used to buy goods & services from India which generates employment and revenue. Instead of making nonsense sweeping statements think again. Corruption & inefficiency kills more ppl not helping other ppl. Afghanistan is a good future market & its stability is important for India.

ppl in foreign affairs know the facts on the ground and they will know how to deal with it.

Enjoy the party while it lasts :enjoy:. The point you missed as always, wasn't that there is no Dam or Roads, etc. It was to show you that they don't use whatever someone builds. And people.....its about the 10% who take the money and channel it elsewhere. In any country today, people are puppets of the media. It takes less than 6 months to wash their brains and put something new. I don't think you'd understand this as what I just said, has some serious experience behind it.

No one loves or hates anyone, whoever's feeding their mouth is what matters. Opium is a powerful drug and Indian businessmen want to use it to their benefits. But they are dealing with the wrong mentality. Watch how this unfolds.

No for bullets and nasty stuff, you guys have about 50 "cultural center" in the middle of barren mountains where no one lives and no culture exits either but the Indian facilities with the name of Indian cultural centers :rofl:

The relation between Afghan and India is not based on some aid or dam but thousand years of cultural relations.

Thus relations cant break no matter whatever you says here .So India's development work us through people for Afghans.

Babu, in what times you are living?media controlling the minds of people? Hahaha..wake up kid..this is the era of social media.

I get your point about Afghanistan. Has Pakistan even tried to help Afghans ??