India - Hindutvadis call for arrest of actress Swara Bhasker for insulting their religious sentiments in context of Afghanistan

jamahir

'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter as she compares 'Taliban terror' with 'Hindutva terror'
Celebrity

Shivani Dixit

Updated Aug 18, 2021 | 10:10 IST

Bollywood actress Swara Bhasker recently made a comment on the ongoing Afghanistan crisis. Her tweet was met with a lot of backlash online.

'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter

KEY HIGHLIGHTS
  • 'Arrest Swara Bhasker' became a massive trend on Twitter
  • The actress had tweeted, "We can’t be okay with Hindutva terror & be all shocked & devastated at Taliban terror"
  • People were not pleased with her tweet
Bollywood actress Swara Bhasker is one star who is not afraid of voicing her opinions about things happening in the world. The diva is constantly in news for her opinions on social media. However, one of her recent tweets sparked a social media trend, 'Arrest Swara Bhasker'.

The reason for the same was her take on the current situation in Afghanistan. As of this week, the Taliban has taken the charge of the strife-torn country following a collapse of its democratic government post the departure of most western troops. Swara compared the situation to India in her tweet.

She wrote, "We can’t be okay with Hindutva terror & be all shocked & devastated at Taliban terror.. & We can’t be chill with #Taliban terror; and then be all indignant about #Hindutva terror! Our humanitarian & ethical values should not be based on identity of the oppressor or oppressed."
Swara Bhasker

Her take caused a massive social media outrage. One user replied to her tweet and wrote,"#arrestswarabhasker arre didi agr itni dikkt h to waha chli ja jaha pe hindu ho na hindutva yha 'HINDUSTAN' main kyu jhak mara rhi ho.... for exp = pakistan,bangladesh,turkey,kuwait,iraq etc Go nd enjoy with peace loving peoples {which does not know the word 'Terriost' meaning}."

Swara Bhasker

"@ReallySwara you are openly tweeting against my religion without any consequences,it means that Hindutva isn't terror. Had it been a terror,then next moment you would've seen "sar tan se juda" posters against you. Have some shame," wrote another user.
Swara Bhasker

Another netizen tweeted, "Section 295 A IPCWhosoever hurts religious sentiments shall be punished with imprisonment which may extend to 3 years. #ArrestSwaraBhaskar habitual offender inciting communal disharmony !! @dir_ed who pays her for this ?? Report Suspend @ReallySwara @Twitter."
Swara Bhasker

"#ArrestSwaraBhaskar She is insulting and abusing my religion and this is hurting the religious sentiments of many Hindus.I request @MumbaiPolice to arrest her for hurting religious sentiments of Hindus," tweeted another user.
Swara bhasker

---

Jamahir's comment : Hindutvadis are such unreasonable people ! Also, there was a 2004 Hindi film of Shahrukh Khan in which he is an Indian expatriate scientist working in NASA and comes back to India, to a village where he helps the people to set up an hydro-power generator and brings some modernity to that place. Side by side he challenges the Brahminical oppression in the village against Lower Castes done by the village elders and reforms these elders. Reforms their cultural outlook. If this film had been made today there would have been a "Arrest Shahkrukh" Twitter trend with many "patriots" declaring that the film insulted their religious sentiments. India has gone backwards in this kind of things.

Edit : I am including this paragraph on the suggestion of @Chhatrapati. India should do away with all these covert blasphemy laws, the ones where frivolous and unreasoning people can file a case against some individual or an organization on the grounds that they insulted the former's religious sentiments. After such a change has been brought, In case someone has an inclination to file such a case he or she should be ready for an intellectual debate to explain why they felt insulted or why that "insult" is unfairly targeting their religion and at least what is their understanding of the religion.

@fitpOsitive, yesterday we were discussing the spread of hate among many "educated" Indian Hindus.

@Drizzt @Naofumi

'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter as she compares 'Taliban terror' with 'Hindutva terror'
Celebrity

Shivani Dixit

Bollywood actress Swara Bhasker recently made a comment on the ongoing Afghanistan crisis. Her tweet was met with a lot of backlash online.

'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter

KEY HIGHLIGHTS
  • The actress had tweeted, "We can’t be okay with Hindutva terror & be all shocked & devastated at Taliban terror"
Bollywood actress Swara Bhasker is one star who is not afraid of voicing her opinions about things happening in the world. The diva is constantly in news for her opinions on social media. However, one of her recent tweets sparked a social media trend, 'Arrest Swara Bhasker'.

The reason for the same was her take on the current situation in Afghanistan. As of this week, the Taliban has taken the charge of the strife-torn country following a collapse of its democratic government post the departure of most western troops. Swara compared the situation to India in her tweet.

She wrote, "We can’t be okay with Hindutva terror & be all shocked & devastated at Taliban terror.. & We can’t be chill with #Taliban terror; and then be all indignant about #Hindutva terror! Our humanitarian & ethical values should not be based on identity of the oppressor or oppressed."
Swara Bhasker

Her take caused a massive social media outrage. One user replied to her tweet and wrote,"#arrestswarabhasker arre didi agr itni dikkt h to waha chli ja jaha pe hindu ho na hindutva yha 'HINDUSTAN' main kyu jhak mara rhi ho.... for exp = pakistan,bangladesh,turkey,kuwait,iraq etc Go nd enjoy with peace loving peoples {which does not know the word 'Terriost' meaning}."

Swara Bhasker

"@ReallySwara you are openly tweeting against my religion without any consequences,it means that Hindutva isn't terror. Had it been a terror,then next moment you would've seen "sar tan se juda" posters against you. Have some shame," wrote another user.
Swara Bhasker

Another netizen tweeted, "Section 295 A IPCWhosoever hurts religious sentiments shall be punished with imprisonment which may extend to 3 years. #ArrestSwaraBhaskar habitual offender inciting communal disharmony !! @dir_ed who pays her for this ?? Report Suspend @ReallySwara @Twitter."
Swara Bhasker

"#ArrestSwaraBhaskar She is insulting and abusing my religion and this is hurting the religious sentiments of many Hindus.I request @MumbaiPolice to arrest her for hurting religious sentiments of Hindus," tweeted another user.
Swara bhasker

---

Jamahir's comment : Hindutvadis are such unreasonable people ! Also, there was a 2004 Hindi film of Shahrukh Khan in which he is an Indian expatriate scientist working in NASA and comes back to India, to a village where he helps the people to set up an hydro-power generator and brings some modernity to that place. Side by side he challenges the Brahminical oppression in the village against Lower Castes done by the village elders and reforms them. Reforms their cultural outlook. If this film had been made today there would have been a "Arrest Shahkrukh" Twitter trend with many "patriots" declaring that the film insulted their religious sentiments. India has gone backwards in this kind of things.

@fitpOsitive, yesterday we were discussing the spread of hate among many Indian Hindus.

@Drizzt @Naofumi
You know, among all emotions, hate is the thing that you can sell.
So bik raha Hai, or kharida bhi jaraha Hai.

I mean these folks watch Star Plus and worship a hidious looking thing as Kaali mata. So you can expect anything from them.

Mindless idolatry is just one of the paths to this hate. But is a non-hideous-looking Lakshmi mata - goddess of money - acceptable ?

All terrorists are bad irrespective of any religion. Its plain and simple. No good or bad terrorists out there.

She should've said something in these lines. But she chose to bring religion into it. Just like I support Swara's right to opinion, I support those too who dont agree with her.

But don't the Hindtuvadis say misinformed things about Islam by taking the misguided Taliban as example of the actual nature of Islam but ignore the wrong nature of criminal Hinduvadis like Sadhvi Pragya ? Yes, these complaining Hindutvadis should condemn the wrongness of the Taliban but they should also condemn the wrongness within their ranks. They can't condemn one wrong and ignore another wrong. That is what Swara meant.

1. How is Taliban 'misguided'? Arent they enforce the same laws prescribed in religious scriptures? For example, destroying Bamiyan Buddha for it being an idol? (Is it okay to discuss religious nature of Taliban here?. If not, please ignore this part)

2. I agree with Swara, make no mistakes here. Like I said, all terrorists are bad. See I'm not mentioning any religion here and still I meant the same what she said. Do you see the difference now? Why bring any religion at all?

3. If Sadhvi Pragya is guilty, hang her! It's very simple. Hang anyone who is a terrorist irrespective of the religion.

1. How is Taliban 'misguided'? Arent they enforce the same laws prescribed in religious scriptures?

1. There was a wonderful post by @fitpOsitive last night which I am unable to find. It was about non-Islamic-existence of things like burqa which yet exist through cultural imposition. And what rights Islam gives to women but people don't allow those rights. fitpOsitive, if you can, please repost it here.

2. The Taliban claim to be Muslim but don't follow Islamic marriage law and kidnap women and force them to marry Taliban fighters and leaders and don't give them due rights. The Taliban should read this thread of mine from 2015 which is an article by an Indian Christian woman who married an Indian Muslim under Islamic marriage law because that better secured her socio-economic future in case of divorce. She writes about the progressive rights that Islam gives to women in marriage :
When we examine marriage laws in their historic context, it is interesting to note that the universally accepted notion that marriages are contractual rather than sacramental originates in Muslim law, which was accepted by the French law only in the 1800s and incorporated into the English law in the 1850s and became part of codified Hindu law as late as 1955. Today it appears to be the most practical way of dealing with the institution of marriage. Treating marriage as a sacrament which binds the parties for life has resulted in some of the most discriminatory practices against women such as sati and denial of right to divorce and remarriage, even in the most adverse conditions.

The cornerstone of a Muslim marriage is consent, ejab-o-qubul (proposal and acceptance) and requires the bride to accept the marriage proposal on her own free will. This freedom to consent (or refuse), which was given to Muslim women 1,400 years ago, is still not available under Hindu law since sacramental rituals such as saptapadi and kanya dan (seven steps round the nuptial fire and gifting of the bride to the groom) still form essential ceremonies of a Hindu marriage. Even after the codification of Hindu law, the notion of consent is not built into the marriage ceremonies.

The contract of marriage (nikahnama) allows for negotiated terms and conditions, it can also include the right to a delegated divorce (talaq-e-tafweez) where the woman is delegated the right to divorce her husband if any of the negotiated terms and conditions are violated.

Mehr is another unique concept of Muslim law meant to safeguard the financial future of the wife. It is an obligation, not a choice, and can be in the form of cash, valuables or securities. While there is no ceiling, a minimum amount to provide her security after marriage must be stipulated. This is a more beneficial concept than streedhan which is given by choice and usually by the natal family. In addition to Mehr, at the time of divorce, a Muslim woman has the right to fair and reasonable settlement, and this is statutorily recognised under the Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Divorce) Act, 1986 as per the 2001 ruling of the Supreme Court in the Daniel Latifi case.
Do the Taliban know this and follow this ?

3. The Taliban have renamed Afghanistan as the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan. This they also did during their rule between 1996 and 2011. But do they have the sense of not only establishing a true Islamic politically just society but also a true Islamic socio-economically just society ? I quote this thread of mine from 2016 :
During the same period (1920s-30s), another (though lesser known) Islamic scholar in undivided India got smitten by the 1917 Russian revolution and Marxism.

Hafiz Rahman Sihwarwl saw Islam and Marxism sharing five elements in common: (1) prohibition of the accumulation of wealth in the hands of the privileged classes (2) organisation of the economic structure of the state to ensure social welfare (3) equality of opportunity for all human beings (4) priority of collective social interest over individual privilege and (5) prevention of the permanentising of class structure through social revolution.

The motivations for many of these themes he drew from the Qur’an, which he understood as seeking to create an economic order in which the rich pay excessive, though voluntary taxes (Zakat) to minimise differences in living standards.

In the areas that Sihwarwl saw Islam and communism diverge were Islam’s sanction of private ownership within certain limits, and in its refusal to recognise an absolutely classless basis of society.

He suggested that Islam, with its prohibition of the accumulation of wealth, is able to control the class structure through equality of opportunity.

Basically, both Sindhi and Sihwarwl had stumbled upon an Islamic concept of the social democratic welfare state.
Do the Taliban discuss these deep intricacies ?

So what scriptures are the Taliban following ?

For example, destroying Bamiyan Buddha for it being an idol? (Is it okay to discuss religious nature of Taliban here?. If not, please ignore this part)

1. The Taliban took the anti-idolatry aspect too far against the carvings of Buddha who had been a historic, living person and a good person at that. If the Taliban is really against idolatry then they should also rail against the mullah who has become no less than an idol.

2. Other Muslim-majority countries like Egypt and Iraq continue to have carvings of their past figures.

3. There is a belief among Muslims that humanity has had 124,000 prophets till the Final Prophet Muhammad. I don't have objection to placing Buddha in the ranks of those prophets. Will the Taliban have the intellectual patience to tolerate and debate this ?

3. If Sadhvi Pragya is guilty, hang her! It's very simple. Hang anyone who is a terrorist irrespective of the religion.

Good. She is guilty. Cannot dispute this.

1. There was a wonderful post by @fitpOsitive last night which I am unable to find. It was about non-Islamic-existence of things like burqa which yet exist through cultural imposition. And what rights Islam gives to women but people don't allow those rights. fitpOsitive, if you can, please repost it here.

2. The Taliban claim to be Muslim but don't follow Islamic marriage law and kidnap women and force them to marry Taliban fighters and leaders and don't give them due rights. The Taliban should read this thread of mine from 2015 which is an article by an Indian Christian woman who married an Indian Muslim under Islamic marriage law because that better secured her socio-economic future in case of divorce. She writes about the progressive rights that Islam gives to women in marriage :

3. The Taliban have renamed Afghanistan as the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan. This they also did during their rule between 1996 and 2011. But do they have the sense of not only establishing a true Islamic politically just society but also a true Islamic socio-economically just society ? I quote this thread of mine from 2016 :

1. The Taliban took the anti-idolatry aspect too far against the carvings of Buddha who had been a historic, living person and a good person at that. If the Taliban is really against idolatry then they should also rail against the mullah who has become no less than a idol.

2. Other Muslim-majority countries like Egypt and Iraq continue to have carvings of their past figures.

3. There is a belief among Muslims that humanity has had 124,000 prophets till the Final Prophet Muhammad. I don't have objection to placing Buddha in the ranks of those prophets. Will the Taliban have the intellectual patience to tolerate and debate this ?

Thanks for this detailed reply.
I don't have much knowledge on these things so I unfortunately cant continue the discussion here. But I have carefully read what you posted and you have my respect for it. God bless!

1. The Taliban took the anti-idolatry aspect too far against the carvings of Buddha who had been a historic, living person and a good person at that. If the Taliban is really against idolatry then they should also rail against the mullah who has become no less than an idol.

you don’t know the reasons why the Baiman Buddha was destroyed, so keep your fake intellectualism to yourself. It is interesting how quickly Indians become expert on Islam.

Celebrity

Shivani Dixit

'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter

KEY HIGHLIGHTS

Swara Bhasker

Swara bhasker

---

Jamahir's comment : Hindutvadis are such unreasonable people ! Also, there was a 2004 Hindi film of Shahrukh Khan in which he is an Indian expatriate scientist working in NASA and comes back to India, to a village where he helps the people to set up an hydro-power generator and brings some modernity to that place. Side by side he challenges the Brahminical oppression in the village against Lower Castes done by the village elders and reforms these elders. Reforms their cultural outlook. If this film had been made today there would have been a "Arrest Shahkrukh" Twitter trend with many "patriots" declaring that the film insulted their religious sentiments. India has gone backwards in this kind of things.

@fitpOsitive, yesterday we were discussing the spread of hate among many "educated" Indian Hindus.

@Drizzt @Naofumi
Lmao, so no one has freedom expression except for liberandus?
So who is she to compare with Hinduism? How would you feel if one calls you Jihadi for just tweeting “she is abusing my religion” like you’re calling Hindus as Hindutvavadi? Or is it a fashion in liberal circles? Angrezo ne yaha angrezi chhod kya di, sab ke sab angrez bane ke shauk me hai.

And you lot will obviously call her true and unbiased sheeit, she is a Hinduphobe atheist nothing else.
She is an awesome human being and too intellectual for bollywood.
No dude, I understand you won’t like the Indian RW hence you would like her, but she is a meme in India.

Lmao, so no one has freedom expression except for liberandus?

Are these wonderful critics of hers rational people ? Are they the "Scientific temper" Indian citizens that Nehru wanted so many decades ago ? How is their thinking compared to the "liberandus" ? Do these critics furious with Swara's tweet ever talk about the real issues in India like the suicide of 300,000+ farmers just between 1995 and 2017 because of artificial and avoidable socio-economic reasons ? Or hunger deaths ? Or people dying of diseases not because there is no cure but because they don't have money ? Or social discrimination ? Well, the "liberandus" talk about these things.

Anyone who ignores repeated chances for discussion and gathering knowledge through rationality and empathy should be called out and lose their freedom of expression until they learn enough.

So who is she to compare with Hinduism? How would you feel if one calls you Jihadi for just tweeting “she is abusing my religion” like you’re calling Hindus as Hindutvavadi?

Neither am I calling all Hindus as Hindutvadis nor is she insulting the better concepts in Hinduism like Brahmaan ( One God ) and Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam ( "The world is one family" ).

you don’t know the reasons why the Baiman Buddha was destroyed, so keep your fake intellectualism to yourself.

Then you should provide those reasons here.

It is interesting how quickly Indians become expert on Islam.

I am a Muslim and have always instinctively known since my younger years that Islam is a progressive set of ideas beyond the caricature of Brahmin-priest-style all day prayers and oppressive and silly dress code and grooming.

Please read my previous post again. The description of the marriage law and the findings of intellectual Islamic scholars in undivided India.

For some people the term "hindutva" is akin to saying "radical Islamism" which is a negative connotation and no Muslim would take offence at. Nothing maleficent about her statement except against hindu extremists, not hindus with good morals.

Shashi Tharoor is another example

I'm bemused that it even have to be explained or maybe I'm missing something?

@jamahir main kuch miss kar raha houn kya?