India approves USD 1.5 billion aircraft deal for Navy

chanikya

NEW DELHI (PTI): To boost maritime surveillance capabilities of the Indian Navy, the Defence Ministry has approved the proposal to procure nine medium range reconnaissance aircraft expected to cost over USD 1.5 billion.

The approval for procuring the advanced medium range maritime reconnaissance (MRMR) aircraft was granted by the Defence Acquisition Council (DAC) on Friday, Ministry officials said.

The nine MRMR planes will be in addition to the 12 American-origin P-8I long-range (LRMR) aircraft already being acquired by Navy at a USD 3.1 billion price tag.

Several global aviation majors including American Lockheed Martin, Swedish SAAB, French Dassault Aviation, Brazilian Embraer and European EADS are in contention for this big contract.

With an operating range of over 350 nautical miles, the MRMR planes will act as Navy's eyes and ears over Indian Ocean in the medium range.

While the P-8Is, with an operating range of around 1,200 nautical miles, will patrol the outermost layer of India's three-tier maritime surveillance grid, Israeli spy drones like Heron and Searcher-II as well as Dorniers make up the inner most layer.

India approves USD 1.5 billion aircraft deal for Navy - Brahmand.com

The reporter failed to mention CASA C-295 from Spanish aviation firm CASA.

casa-c-295-chile.jpg

. . . . .
At-least you have said

I'm heavily bullish on CASA, it'll be perfect for medium range recon. As its a turbo prop, acquisition and maintenance will be on the cheaper side.

---------- Post added at 04:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:24 PM ----------

us samay hamari aarthik stithi thodi kharab thi

Sanctions tha, arthik stithi utni maine nahi rakhta tha, kyunki tab acquisition price bhi kam parta.

waoo i think its in respone to paksiatn P3 right.india is buying P-8I from us i think these would be with terbo jet engine right and does have full specs of the P-8I and compare it to P3 paksitan has :P

. . . . .
waoo i think its in respone to paksiatn P3 right.india is buying P-8I from us i think these would be with terbo jet engine right and does have full specs of the P-8I and compare it to P3 paksitan has :P

Ka Bhaiya ??????????????? kehan se Schoolwa karat bani ??????????????

Some advice friend-Think before typing.

Maybe a little research on your part would do you some good to.

KillerX bhai, apne to sahi me Katalkar diya, apke post ko samajhte samajhte mujhe ye samajh aa gya ki apke post ko samajhne ki galti na karun to hi samajhdari hogi.:lol::lol::lol: