Govt asks economist Atif Mian to step down from Economic Advisory Council

Alpha BeeTee

A wise decision at the end. I was fearing that foolish people around IK would advise him to 'brave it out' just like all other controversies.
But sense prevailed and PTI responded to the sensitivities of the nation. Nations only progress when they don't comprise their core values to appease others.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1431495/g...n-to-step-down-from-economic-advisory-council

I would love to witness the mourning and outrage of the desi liberal and Qadiyani party now. Let it commence [emoji23]
Screenshot_2018-09-07-10-09-06-1.jpg

One of the best economics in the world left because some idiots in Pakistan can’t keep their opinions and beliefs to themselves.

So I’m sorry to say but when such things happen the hope that Pakistan will become a prosperous nation further declines

Extremists =1 PTI =0.

So all this big talk of not giving up to extremists turns out to be crap. My faith on Imran Khan and pti got a major dent today.... This govt can be easily blackmailed by the likes of TLP later on. Very poor and weak decision. Just a smear campaign on social network is enough for pti to get confused and deter their decision. Shame and same hopelessness in so called Naya Pakistan. If I were a minority, than today I will feel equally insecure the way I used to feel before July 25.

country became a joke . i wish EU west do same with Pakistanis too
They already do. You just touch their sensitivities and they'll give you a nice dose of their 'open mindedness'. Just deny holocast or talk against homosexuality and then see if you can occupy a powerful position in their government based on mere merit.

It's ridiculous that they have the right to be sensitive about their freedom to do something as filthy as having sex with the same gender and we are extremists and backwards for being sensitive about the finality and honor of our Prophet SW.

Tum log zehni ghulam ho. Tumhara koi elaaj nahi hai. Rotay raho hamari taraf se hamesha. Tum se behas se behtar hai banda bhens kay agay been bajaye.

One of the best economics in the world left because some idiots in Pakistan can’t keep their opinions and beliefs to themselves.

So I’m sorry to say but when such things happen the hope that Pakistan will become a prosperous nation further declines

Don't get carried away. PTI can't afford controversies right now...Too many other daunting challenges ahead.

Extremists =1 PTI =0.

So all this big talk of not giving up to extremists turns out to be crap. My faith on Imran Khan and pti got a major dent today.... This govt can be easily blackmailed by the likes of TLP later on. Very poor and weak decision. Just a smear campaign on social network is enough for pti to get confused and deter their decision. Shame and same hopelessness in so called Naya Pakistan. If I were a minority, than today I will feel equally insecure the way I used to feel before July 25.

Give the Khan and nation time...We will gradually lose emotions and will be able to talk in a civilized way then whatever nation decide, it will be followed...

Time to focus on education, economy, infrastructure and defence

The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) government has asked Princeton University economist Atif R. Mian to step down from the Prime Minister Imran Khan-led Economic Advisory Council (EAC), PTI Senator Faisal Javed Khan announced.

The decision follows mounting pressure from religiopolitical parties against the appointment of Dr Mian, who is an Ahmadi.

According to a Friday morning tweet by Senator Javed, Mian has agreed to give up his position on the council. A replacement will be announced later, he added.

Minister of Information Fawad Chaudhary later confirmed the development, saying the government has decided to withdraw the nomination of Dr Mian from the EAC because it wants to avoid division.

"The government wants to move forward alongside scholars and all social groups, and it is inappropriate if a single nomination creates an impression to the contrary," he tweeted.

In a second tweet, Chaudhry said the ideal state, according to Prime Minister Khan, is of Madina and that the premier and members of his cabinet hold Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) in high esteem.

"Khatm-i-Nabuwwat [belief in the finality of the prophethood] is a part of our faith and the recent success achieved by the government in the matter of blasphemous sketches is reflective of the same connection," he wrote.

The appointment of Dr Mian of Princeton University (Department of Member Economics and Woodrow Wilson School of Public Policy) to the 18-member EAC set up to advise the government on economic policy was opposed by some individuals and groups, including Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP), who objected to his Ahmadi faith.

The news of his removal from the body comes as a surprise since the PTI government had only three days ago defended the academic's nomination, saying in categorical terms that it will "not bow to extremists".

"Pakistan belongs as much to minorities as it does to the majority," Information Minister Chaudhary had told a press conference in Islamabad, amidst a vicious online campaign targeting Dr Mian for his Ahmadiyya faith.

Chaudhry had taken to Twitter to recall that "Quaid e Azam Mohammad Ali Jinnah appointed Sir Zafar Ullah [also an Ahmadi] as Foreign minister of Pakistan; we'll follow [the] principles of Mr Jinnah, not of extremists."

His thoughts were echoed by Minister of Human Rights Shireen Mazari, who tweeted: "Exactly. Well put indeed. Time to reclaim space for the Quaid's Pakistan!".

Smear campaign
A social media smear campaign had erupted against the economist's appointment, with many calling for his removal.

A call-to-attention notice had also been submitted in the Senate by opposition parties against Mian's inclusion in the EAC. The notice bore the signatures of the PML-N, Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal and the Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party members.

No member of the PPP had signed the document, with the party making it clear that it would not be part of a witch-hunt based on someone's faith.

A large number of detractors had also shown support for Mian, saying that one's religion should not factor into their professional qualifications or employment.

Source: Dawn

Horrendous decision by PTI! This is on Amir liaquat levels. First you greatly defend putting a minority on an important advisory position and then later on ask him to step down just because some extremist f**ks can't shut up about their hate for a certain minority.. He wasn't even in the govt proper but just an advisor.. seriously everyone who thinks like this can go f** themselves.. this will further encourage Ahmedi prosecution that the community is currently facing.. stay on your gotdamn decision that you made and defended PTI. First actually bad decision by the govt. since its inception. what the hell were they thinking!? Ditching an important advisory asset due to some extremist nuts doing baqwas?

Ager itni nafrat karto ho Ahmedi's seh to Pakistan seh nikal kyon nahi dayta un ko? retarded nation

Give the Khan and nation time...We will gradually lose emotions and will be able to talk in a civilized way then whatever nation decide, it will be followed...

Time to focus on education, economy, infrastructure and defence

He today atleast failed me big time. I was supporting him all the way from our fucked up propagandist media but looks like his govt is pretty fragile and hogwash. Pakistan required a real change (tabdeeli) from this mind set as well not just Nawaz Sharif but I am afraid same story and selective justice against corruption.

It has been just few weeks since Khan has taken office.....He will have to follow steady. I think clever and well established politicians aka status quo is playing game with Khan.

Khan appoints Atif....Opposition launches media warfare, accusing Khan of being pro qadiyani and against rules of Islam

Khan retracts....opposition launches media warfare again, accusing Khan of giving up to pressure of social media/religious nuts

We need to be patient...What we need to understand that given how Khan faces uphill tasks i.e economy, education and clever and cunning opposition, he must avoid controversies here.

He needs public backing big time because the decisions he is going to take against corrupt mafia do require strong support for Khan otherwise Khan will lost the plot

I think that's good decision...He already has many enemies - inside and outside. No need to make further

Replacement of Atif will be good as well, rest assured