Fully imported Govt rolls back PTI-era rules against under-performing bureaucrats

PradoTLC

The federal government has repealed the civil service retirement rules that were introduced by the PTI in 2020, which the then-government said were aimed at improving the performance of the bureaucracy and state institutions through measures such as the forced retirement of "delinquent officials".

The previous rules entailed, among other things, the forced retirement of civil servants found guilty of corruption. It also applied on those who entered a plea bargain with the National Accountability Bureau or another investigating agency, or if they had unbecoming conduct.

A notification to repeal the rules was issued by the Establishment Division yesterday (Monday).

The notification, a copy of which is available with Dawn.com, said the prime minister had repealed the rules "in the exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of section 25 of the Civil Servants Act, 1973 (LXXI of 1973) read with notification no. SRO120(I)/98, dated February 27, 1998".

. . . . . .
Oh so now a government officer who has been deemed guilty by a court or has done a plea bargain can still be in office?

Splendid.

No wonder bureaucracy nay bhi kaam karna chor dia tha.

Lakh di lanat...

You won't find the likes of @muhammadhafeezmalik or @Chak Bamu on these threads.

Well, it takes a better understanding to see how the previous rules were leading to a bureaucratic logjam, and how this might help improve that, but then again, many here have lost it after their dreams were rudely interrupted. I won't even go into how even the thread titles are being changed, and the mods delete whatever goes against their persona opinions without regard to implementing the rules. There is some irony in there somewhere I am sure. No wonder people who have a different view find it easier to leave. :D

Patwari spotted

Well, it takes a better understanding to see how the previous rules were leading to a bureaucratic logjam
Such juvenile name-calling only demeans you. I hope you can be better than that. Perhaps you would like to address my post and not my person?
How a system of reward and punishment (merit) leads to bureaucratic logjam? You think PTI govt amended rules for fun? Was bureaucracy working effectively before PTI govt?

Just call out a wrong when you see it, that's all I'm asking...