First time in the history of Pakistan: LNG spot market cold-shoulders Pakistan

muhammadhafeezmalik

In a major setback to gas-starved consumers, Pakistan could not get even a single bid for three LNG (liquefied natural gas) cargoes meant for the first half of January and attracted the highest price for the second half of the month mainly because of delayed tenders amid rising international prices.

Pakistan LNG Limited (PLL) had issued tenders for six cargoes for delivery between Jan 8 and Feb 1. In response, no supplier or trader bid for the first three slots between Jan 8 and Jan 18. This is the first time that the country did not get a bid since it entered the spot market five years ago.

For the fourth January 20-21 window, only two bids were received with potentially unviable prices. The lowest bid of 17.32 per cent of Brent price for this slot came from a surprise first-time bidder, Qatar Gas, which is not in the spot market.

Qatar Gas also happened to be the only bidder for the fifth cargo for Jan 26-27 window and at the same price — 17.32pc of Brent. This is also for the first time that a lowest bid is more than $17, except the very first cargo that was purchased in 2015 for terminal testing.

The sixth and last cargo for Jan 29-Feb 1 received six bids and one was disqualified. The lowest bid of 15.32pc of Brent again came from Qatar Gas while all others were well above 20.48pc of Brent. One of the regular suppliers, Trafigura, offered the highest price of 33.94pc of Brent. These prices are again unprecedented.

Unfortunately, the LNG price above 17pc of Brent becomes unviable and costlier than high speed diesel, crude and furnace oil. This means power plants should be run on furnace oil instead of LNG and if the former is available at local refineries it also saves foreign exchange.

It is first time country has not received a bid since it entered spot market five years ago

A part of LNG lined up through long-term Qatar Gas and similar older contracts will have to be diverted to the highly-subsidised residential sector. The price difference between imported and local gas thus works out at about $8 and $3.2 per mmbtu. The country will be facing at least 200mmcfd of LNG in the early part of January as Pakistan State Oil (PSO) had rejected similar bids recently.

Experts quoted three major reasons for poor response but noted a positive development in terms of direct producer and supplier Qatar Gas taking part in the bidding that would bode well for the future as traditional traders/suppliers would need to take into account the competition from a producer.

They said the delivery window of less than 45-60 days always carried a premium that happened with Pakistan. Also, an Australian project was closed which created supply shortages. Moreover, the launch of Covid-19 vaccine in major countries also jacked up LNG demand, thus increasing the prices of both LNG and oil. As if that was not enough, domestic controversies over LNG prices also kept some bidders away.

The only solution for the government now is to engage with Qatar at the highest level to fill up over 200mmcfd of gap in January. Otherwise, the existing supplies to the power sector would have to be diverted to domestic consumers to avoid widespread public outcry when opposition parties would already be on the roads.

Equitable tariff regime

Meanwhile, private sector stakeholders at a public hearing on Thursday demanded an equitable tariff regime for all companies, including from the public sector, to transport imported LNG through pipeline network. The hearing was conducted by the Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority (Ogra) for determination of transportation and distribution tariff for shippers/suppliers.

The government companies were lifting 1,200mmcfd LNG. The private sector representatives said the new transportation tariff regime should also be applicable across the board. They said the private sector should not be burdened by charging different transportation tariff. They also opposed the demands by gas utilities for imposition of penalty, capacity payment, etc. They said SNGPL wanted to charge capacity payment and tariff as well even if it denied pipeline capacity for any reason.

Chief executive officer of United Gas Development Company Ghayas Paracha lamented that gas companies were blocking imports by the private sector. He said UGDC had been struggling for four years to import gas but hurdles were created at every stage.

Mr Paracha said several foreign companies were willing to work in Pakistan’s LNG sector but UGDC’s sufferings discouraged them and compelled them to leave. He said there was no reason for professional charges claimed by SNGPL and feared that the funds so collected from third party would be used against them in legal disputes.

Shahid Sattar, representing the All Pakistan Textile Mills Association, also backed a call of giving a final decision on transportation tariff rather than provisional one. He said it would also be difficult for the textile sector to recover dues on products after they were exported. He said the textile industry was also interested in import of LNG as it required 350mmcfd gas to meet the requirement. Therefore, he said, the private sector should also be facilitated to import cheaper gas.

Saqib Aziz, representing Fatima Fertilizer, also raised a question over the tariff claimed by the gas utility and demanded that market be opened for the private sector.

Published in Dawn, December 11th, 2020

Domestic controversies over LNG prices also kept some bidders away. Last year when we Qatar was offering a long term agreement with the base line of 10% of Brent, we called chor chor and they backed off.

1607676404424.png

Domestic controversies over LNG prices also kept some bidders away. Last year when we Qatar was offering a long term agreement with the base line of 10% of Brent, we called chor chor and they backed off.
Why you patwaris are fixed on long term agreement with Qatar? Are the sellers from your own party in Qatar?

Why are you sticky with this incompetent, inefficient government?? Do you take some kind of salary for all this support??

This is just inefficiency, incompetency, lack of vision and good for nothing PTI government that this January and February we will face long hours of gas and power load-shedding.

You must thank PML and Mr. Shahid Khaqan ,Because of their long term policy you are getting at-least some amount of gas.

Why are you sticky with this incompetent, inefficient government?? Do you take some kind of salary for all this support??

This is just inefficiency, incompetency, lack of vision and good for nothing PTI government that this January and February we will face long hours of gas and power load-shedding.

You must thank PML and Mr. Shahid Khaqan ,Because of their long term policy you are getting at-least some amount of gas.

Oh bro, their is always high demand of spot in winters, countries always buy spot to bridge the gap in summers and winters as long term contracts are used for baseline requirement. There is nothing unusual just deliberate attempt in the article trying to create a negative perception.

You are seeing high % this year in spot because of low oil prices, LNG sector demand is more robust and is fairing better as compared to oil in Covid scenario, normally their is an equilibrium. This does not mean that LNG is procured at higher rates as compared to other year spot pricing in terms of actual value but they have over come the Covid contraction especially as during winters, and it's prices has recovered as compared to oil.
It is not a bad idea to bridge the gap with furnace oil as oil prices are lower. Before you bring in long term contracts again I would simply point out that long term contracts can not be used to bridge the gap in winters as they are for the whole year.

Yes early booking would help but the problem does not lie with the government. I have explained to you the local framework obstacles in early booking, which were written during ppp and Plmn times.

I have never seen a more delusional person than you bro. Do you really think that Qatar is giving us gas because of special vision of Khakan Abbassi and we would not be getting gas if not for him? :D
If not for Plmn a better deal would be in place right now. Compare his contract with that of India or other countries.

Your Shahid Khaqan Abbasi signed 15 year long LNG contracts already. IF these contracts are so great, why you are accusing this govt for mess up? System should run smoothly now as these long term contracts were so great to begin with.
If not for Plmn a better deal would be in place right now. Compare his contract with that of India or other countries.
In his mind the Bestest negotiater for LNG was one and only Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

Oh bro, their is always high demand of spot in winters, countries always buy spot to bridge the gap in summers and winters as long term contracts are used for baseline requirement. There is nothing unusual just deliberate attempt in the article trying to create a negative perception.

You are seeing high % this year in spot because of low oil prices, LNG sector demand is more robust and is fairing better as compared to oil in Covid scenario, normally their is an equilibrium. This does not mean that LNG is procured at higher rates as compared to other year spot pricing in terms of actual value but they have over come the Covid contraction especially as during winters, and it's prices has recovered as compared to oil.
It is not a bad idea to bridge the gap with furnace oil as oil prices are lower. Before you bring in long term contracts again I would simply point out that long term contracts can not be used to bridge the gap in winters as they are for the whole year.

Yes early booking would help but the problem does not lie with the government. I have explained to you the local framework obstacles in early booking, which were written during ppp and Plmn times.

I have never seen a more delusional person than you bro. Do you really think that Qatar is giving us gas because of special vision of Khakan Abbassi and we would not be getting gas if not for him? :D

I same dates many other countries are buying gas at very low prices because they placed their orders in July-August. The lesson for this government is this fiasco is to be well prepared. Can you point out any India or others contract which was signed in that time period when PMLN signed the contract??
In his mind the Bestest negotiater for LNG was one and only Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

NO. Its Nadeem Babar.

1607689428557.png

I same dates many other countries are buying gas at very low prices because they placed their orders in July-August. The lesson for this government is this fiasco is to be well prepared. Can you point out any India or others contract which was signed in that time period when PMLN signed the contract??

NO. Its Nadeem Babar.

View attachment 695226

I explained in detail why Pakistan can not do that. There are rules and regulations which does not allow government to do that. Had we have even a small amount of storage we would not be needing these strict regulations.

India renegotiated their contract in 2015 for 12% with Qatar due to lower international gas prices at that time, while on the other hand Pakistan signed a new contract at 13%. Every sane person knows it is harder to get a bargain in renegotiation as advantage is with the supplier. Now tell me why is that so?

I explained in detail why Pakistan can not do that. There are rules and regulations which does not allow government to do that. Had we have even a small amount of storage we would not be needing these strict regulations.

India renegotiated their contract in 2015 for 12% with Qatar due to lower international gas prices at that time, while on the other hand Pakistan signed a new contract at 13%. Every sane person knows it is harder to get a bargain in renegotiation as advantage is with the supplier. Now tell me why is that so?

Bakwas. In the last four years Pakistan floated tenders 6 months in advance, even this government did the same in 2018. India agreed to a fixed rate at $8/mmbtu. There is a difference between 13.37% of Brent and fixed rate of $8/mmbtu, you should learn more about pricing. today is Brent is around $50.1, so 13.37% of the Brent would be $6.5/mmbtu which is almost half than the Indian price. Brent in Feb, 2016 was around $32.2/barrel, and 13.37% was $4.1/mmbtu. How this was a bad deal??

Attachments

• 1607753438277.png
    1607753438277.png
    13.1 KB · Views: 41
Bakwas. In the last four years Pakistan floated tenders 6 months in advance, even this government did the same in 2018. India agreed to a fixed rate at $8/mmbtu. There is a difference between 13.37% of Brent and fixed rate of $8/mmbtu, you should learn more about pricing. today is Brent is around $50.1, so 13.37% of the Brent would be $6.5/mmbtu which is almost half than the Indian price. Brent in Feb, 2016 was around $32.2/barrel, and 13.37% was $4.1/mmbtu. How this was a bad deal??

1st point you raised.

Pakistan can float tenders even 6 months in advance, I never said no. What I mentioned is Pakistan can not do that until the cargo is already sold to end user. As soon as the cargo is locally booked tender is given there is no delay unless at the end user side. Hope that clarifies the point.

2nd point you raised.

Here is Indian rate for long term Qatar LNG contract (1st article). India does not follow a fixed rate in $ but fixed in terms of 3 month crude %. (2nd article)

"Qatar sells LNG to India at a price equivalent to 12.67 per cent of the three-month average Brent crude oil price. The indexation of Russian LNG is 11.5 per cent".

1st point you raised.

Pakistan can float tenders even 6 months in advance, I never said no. What I mentioned is Pakistan can not do that until the cargo is already sold to end user. As soon as the cargo is locally booked tender is given there is no delay unless at the end user side. Hope that clarifies the point.

2nd point you raised.

Here is Indian rate for long term Qatar LNG contract (1st article). India does not follow a fixed rate in $ but fixed in terms of 3 month crude %. (2nd article)

"Qatar sells LNG to India at a price equivalent to 12.67 per cent of the three-month average Brent crude oil price. The indexation of Russian LNG is 11.5 per cent".

Again you are mixing both thing, India and Qatar has different contracts, at different rates, different terms and conditions. In the first news item it is Indian demand which was rejected by Qatar.
In second news item India changed the fixed rates of $12/mmbtu to $5/mmbtu, while Pakistan was getting LNG at average price of $4.5/mmbtu.

Looks like the game play for Foreign Powers + PDM is , create energy deficit in Pakistan , and demonstrations kicking off December-January to rally up anti Pakistan rallies

Brother Saudi Arabia has pulled out 2 Billion Dollars of Loans in short time span

Again you are mixing both thing, India and Qatar has different contracts, at different rates, different terms and conditions. In the first news item it is Indian demand which was rejected by Qatar.

India has two long term contracts with Qatar RasGas.

FIRST CONTRACT:
Supply of 7.5 mtpa
, the contract was signed in 1999 between RasGas and Petronet, with supply beginning from 2004, the FOB contract term is 25 years. Lets break it down into three periods for easier understanding.

From 2004-2009: RasGas to initially supply 5 mtpa till 2006, eventually to be increased to 7.5 mtpa beyond 2006. The price for this first five year period was fixed at $2.534/mmBTU (12.67% x $20). India had extremely favorable terms, but the honeymoon period ended in 2009.

From 2010-2014: For this five year period, the price was 12.67% x 60 month average of JCC. Qatar got rich. After 10 years, price can now be renegotiated (as per contract terms). So Qatar & India got into negotiations, which continued through 2015, and Petronet continued to import LNG at contractual price of 12.67% of 60 month average of JCC.

The second link shared by @Patriot forever which you quoted refers to that time period and that negotiation. The article is dated May 2016 & quotes the minister;

"Earlier the prices during 2015 were in excess of $12 per mmBtu. The current price applicable under the contract works out to less than $5 per mmBtu based on prevailing crude prices,” he said in a written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha."

Read more at:
https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

After successful negotiations, India got Qatar to change benchmark from JCC to an average of preceding 3 months of Brent price, maintaining the same slope of 12.67% as seen in the first 11 years. This was huge win for Indian negotiators.

While we are at it, lets do a price comparison of May 2016 for India and Pakistan contracts;

India (JCC): 12.67% x (98.604) = $12.49/mmBtu
India (Brent): 12.67% x (38.173) = $4.84/mmBtu (as reflected in the article above)

Pakistan (Brent): 13.37% x (38.173) = $5.10/mmBtu

I fail to understand how you came up with $4.5/mmBtu price tag.

In second news item India changed the fixed rates of $12/mmbtu to $5/mmbtu, while Pakistan was getting LNG at average price of $4.5/mmbtu.

Beyond 2016: Under newly negotiated price of 12.67% x 3 months averaged Brent India was to import 7.5 mtpa till end of contract full term in 2028 (25 years). But in 2020, India thought it could outsmart Qatar and owing to volumes it is importing, can pressurize it to change the benchmark from Oil linked to Gas linked, but Qatar this time said a firm no, citing its other commitments in the region.

The first link shared by @Patriot forever refers to that attempted negotiation, and was attempting to highlight the price of contract which is clearly not 'fixed' at $8/mmBtu or $12/mmBtu but is indexed to Brent.

India agreed to a fixed rate at $8/mmbtu. There is a difference between 13.37% of Brent and fixed rate of $8/mmbtu, you should learn more about pricing. today is Brent is around $50.1, so 13.37% of the Brent would be $6.5/mmbtu which is almost half than the Indian price. Brent in Feb, 2016 was around $32.2/barrel, and 13.37% was $4.1/mmbtu. How this was a bad deal??

The article is dated Jan 2020 & clearly states:

"Qatar sells LNG to India at a price equivalent to 12.67 per cent of the three-month average Brent crude oil price. The indexation of Russian LNG is 11.5 per cent."

Read more at:

SECOND CONTRACT:
Supply of 1 mtpa
, the contract was signed in Dec 2015, effective from 2016 - 2028, at a price of 12.67% x 3 months averaged Brent.
Essentially to avoid penalty from Qatar, India signed an additional volume of 1 mtpa at the same price and terms.

"In 2015, it renegotiated the price of the long-term deal to import 7.5 million tonnes per year of LNG from Qatar, helping in saving Rs 8,000 crore. At that time, Qatar agreed to price LNG at a three-month average Brent oil price instead of the previous practice of pricing it at a 60-month average of Japanese Crude Cocktail (JCC) in exchange for India buying an additional 1 million tonnes per annum of LNG."

I hope this helps in keeping discussion factual. If you have a reference to fixed price contract between Qatar and India contrary to Brent slope, kindly share.