Edhi Foundation refuses to accept Rs 1 crore offer by PM Narendra Modi

Edhi Foundation has an annual expenditure of over Rs1 billion ... He have never been out of Cash & have a Significant Dedicated Donors ... ...

Political Leaders / Govt Donation regardless of thr Good Intention could bring bad name to the charity & hence he prefer not to accept such donation (regardless of How big or How little They are ) ! Even with this Policy they have had been in Past been Called Agents of foreign NGOs & what not ! :(

~ End of Story ( no need to read more into it)

PS: Modi Should take steps to Handle the Plight of Muslims & Dalits in India Rather thn doing adverts & selfies !

He should have taken it would have been used to help a lot more people.

As a standard policy EDHI Foundation does not take any Foreign Financial help ....

Good job edhi Saab for helping geeta, may Allah bless you and give you health and strength.

He should have taken it would have been used to help a lot more people.

That money could be used in building toilets.. Edhi foundation needs no money from the govt. Thank You

Well it's a great policy of edhi foundation i must say what an awesome guy he is yar :pakistan:

I was expecting this as Edhi does not accept donations from governments. I still remember during the time of Zia, he refused government donations flat out. I recall Zia insisting in a speech that the donation was from his own salary as an employee of the state. I am not certain but I think it was still not accepted.

Unfortunately, donations from governments and political parties always come with expectations or conditions. So I think Edhi is doing the right thing.

To be honest, this is quite sloppy on the part of Modi and his administration. They should have checked first before making the announcement. As you can see, most Pakistanis already know this about Edhi. Now the Indian government looks rather silly.

Edhi has a policy of not taking money from Governments or Government run institutions...no need to read more into it.

Good reply. It has nothing to do with politics. Eidhi helped the poor girl out of his heart. He doesn't need a war of words between India and Pakistan.

426728-edhi-700.jpg

New Delhi: Pakistan's noted humanitarian Abdul Sattar Edhi on Tuesday refused to accept Prime Minister Narendra Modi's donation of Rs 1 crore to his charity.
"Abdul Sattar Edhi has thanked PM Modi and politely declined to accept his announced financial help," Edhi Foundation spokesman Anwar Kazmi was quoted as saying by 'Dawn' news.

Kazmi said Edhi's son, Faisal Edhi, will be addressing a press conference in this regard at 4:30 pm at the Karachi Press Club.

PM Modi had on Monday announced the contribution to the charity after the return of hearing and speech impaired girl Geeta to India.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday offered Rs 1 crore to Pakistan's Edhi Foundation for taking care of Geeta, a deaf and mute young Indian woman who was stranded there for over a decade.

Also Read: PM Narendra Modi gives Rs 1 crore to Edhi for caring for Geeta

"I don't think any amount of words are enough to thank the Edhi family for taking care of Geeta. They are apostles of kindness and compassion," Modi tweeted on Monday.

“What the Edhi family has done is too priceless to be measured but I am happy to announce a contribution of Rs 10 million for their foundation,” said another tweet from PM Modi.

Also Read: All about Abdul Sattar Edhi – Geeta’s saviour and the greatest living Pakistani

PM Modi also expressed his gratitude to Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif for his efforts that ensured Geeta's return to India.

The Edhi Foundation is a non-profit social welfare NGO in Pakistan, founded by Abdul Sattar Edhi in 1951. He is popularly known as Pakistan's "Father Teresa"
Edhi Foundation refuses to accept Rs 1 crore offer by PM Narendra Modi | Zee News

For some reason Edhi is on a TTP hit list.

hmm yes but they would be able to touch more lives with that money. Any particular reason why they don’t accept ?
They don't take money from the Govt which is their policy. \

I really appreciate Edhi sahab for what he have done for the Geeta. However, I do agree w9ith salamn khan that giving 10 lakhs to her parent for her marriage was wrong because there are more families claiming her as their child. I hope she will go to her real parent. Fasial should wait till she gets married and then hand over that money to her specifically on the day of her marriage.