Domino effect of Pakistan’s wheat crisis

maithil

The supply of wheat – one of the major food crops of Pakistan – has faced another crisis, perhaps more severe than ever.

Over the course of a few months, wheat stocks plunged to approximately 4.2 million tonnes – barely enough to meet consumer demand for the next two months. In this article, we will unfold the domino effect of the current wheat scarcity.

The wheat scarcity should not come as a surprise. Mismanagement and uncalled-for state intervention have long been responsible for the dismal performance of various sectors including agriculture.

Government’s agricultural subsidies and procurement schemes have sent wrong signals to the producers. The unnecessary market intervention has opened avenues for hoarders and the black market.

It is pertinent to note that despite the ban on wheat export imposed in July 2019, the government allowed exports of 48,000 tons, which fueled price hike in the country.

Decisions like this are the reasons why such crises continue to emerge every now and then.

That said, the wheat deficit is likely to have certain repercussions for Pakistan’s economy and food security:

1) Increased fiscal deficit: Uncalled-for government intervention is followed by financing of these follies, which will further increase the fiscal deficit, and since imports are involved, the current account deficit will also widen.

2) Hurting farmers: Wheat import is likely to hurt the domestic wheat growers as a shipment of 300,000 tonnes is expected to reach Pakistan by mid-March, which is also the season when the crop gets ready in Sindh.

3) Altering cropping patterns: The wheat crisis, which was imminent from quite some time, is likely to spark a domino effect in other food crops by altering the cropping patterns.

In the face of water scarcity and in the hope of greater profits, the farmers are likely to substitute sugarcane production with wheat cultivation, thereby leading to its shortfall and a subsequent increase in its price. The recent surge in sugar price by Rs9 per kg is partially due to the substitution effect.

4) Sparking food inflation: Keeping in view the hike in prices of eatables, the food inflation is expected to rise further.

The Sensitive Price Indicator (SPI) recorded an increase of 19.69% over a year ago. After the wheat and sugar crisis, the Pakistan Cattle Feed Association and Dairy and Cattle Farmers Association are also demanding an increase in prices of milk to Rs150 per litre.

Since wheat flour, sugar and milk are among the 51 essential items included in the basket of goods and services used for calculating the SPI, an increase in their prices will further inflate the indicator and adversely affect the lower income segments.

Ostensibly, the government intervenes in the agriculture sector in the name of food security. This intervention in the form of support prices for various agricultural commodities has so far been a source of distress for Pakistan’s food security.

Each day a new association or union is demanding a price increase, which will further the case of another government intervention.

It is high time for the policymakers to dig deeper into the root causes of the past and current wheat flour (and other) crises, learn lessons and spell out clearly for all stakeholders as to what precautionary measures need to be taken to avert similar anomalies in the future.

The most important lesson perhaps here is trust the market and allow it to deliver, however, make sure that markets are not distorted by bureaucratic and political influences.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2153357/2-domino-effect-pakistans-wheat-crisis/?amp=1

Tribune. LOL. Tribune is a anti Pakistan newspaper.

Might as well get this comment out of the way.

i was in my village hafizabad yesterday and talked to three wheat plantation owners . they are absolutely clueless as to what they'll do with their produce in april once market is flooded with imported wheat ,

tabdeeli sarkaar ,,, aqal se paidal

Dont u have price controls and government buying rate for essential commodities ?
As long as the government can sustain it at the expense of taxpayers. Our market intervention is not direct, the government allows the import and bans export. Like the Onion crisis we had, the government banned the export of onions and allowed import from Turkey.

Dont u have price controls and government buying rate for essential commodities ?
All I have is the knowledge that every bad news from Tribune or Dawn is replied with the 'anti Pakistan' comment. So I preempted that comment.

i was in my village hafizabad yesterday and talked to three wheat plantation owners . they are absolutely clueless as to what they'll do with their produce in april once market is flooded with imported wheat

All imported one will go to storage not to market. Read the official press release first and clear confusions to others as well.

One more thing, 3 Lac Ton is just a penny regarding our total production so nobody needs to worry about their crops, we have a huge demand. We will have a bumper crop this time if weather goes smooth.

As long as the government can sustain it at the expense of taxpayers. Our market intervention is not direct, the government allows the import and bans export. Like the Onion crisis we had, the government banned the export of onions and allowed import from Turkey.
Onions are not essential commodities.

Locust have been active in Pakistan. Any affect they might have on whet yield?

Wheat ki toh govt khud mafia hai. Aur sugar mafia imran Khan ka right hand man hai. Jehangir Tareen. Logon ko pagal bana rahe hain.

i was in my village hafizabad yesterday and talked to three wheat plantation owners . they are absolutely clueless as to what they'll do with their produce in april once market is flooded with imported wheat ,

tabdeeli sarkaar ,,, aqal se paidal

3 lac ton wheat is nothing but i hink its you who are clueless due personal issue to evade taxes.

Our wheat crop produce is like 24 Mill tons. 300-400 K tons is nothing in front of it.

"The Government of Pakistan has set the wheat production target at a 27 million metric tons (MMT) for the 2019 Rabi (winter) crop that will be harvested in April and May of 2020. According to this target, the Punjab region is expected to produce 19.66 million tons, Sindh, 3.8 million tons, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 2.57 million tons, and Baluchistan, one million tons.Reports from the field suggest that farmers have completed the sowing of wheat across Pakistan. Wheat area is not expected to change significantly from a year ago. Good spells of rain across the wheat producing areas in November and December helped in the sowing and germination of the wheat crop.Ninety percent of the crop is irrigated and irrigation water availability for the upcoming Rabi season is estimated at 31.44 million-acre feet (MAF) against the 10-year average of 29.80 MAF and last year’s water availability of 24.76 MAF. Pakistan’s MY 2019/20 wheat production and export forecast are unchanged at 24.1 MMT and 0.5 MMT respectively."

https://apps.fas.usda.gov/newgainapi/api/Report/DownloadReportByFileName?fileName=Grain and Feed Update_Islamabad_Pakistan_12-30-2019

https://www.fas.usda.gov/data/pakistan-grain-and-feed-update-12

For the record the govt. procures a lot of wheat at minimum support price.

The problem is that our agri tech is not up to international standards. Our yield is lower which results in higher price relative to international market.

Structural change is needed in our farming policy and not some band-aid patch work.

Wheat harvesting is just 3 months away so unless we face a massive locust attack in the meanwhile, I think we will pull through with proper inventory management.