What's new

Daryl Harper accuses India of bullying & criticises ICC

Devil Soul

ELITE MEMBER
Reaction score
Country
Pakistan
Daryl Harper accuses India of bullying & criticises ICC
Recently retired Australian umpire Daryl Harper has accused India of "bullying", just days before the start of their Test series against England.

Harper pulled out of his farewell Test this month after criticism from India players and a "lack of support" from the International Cricket Council.

"I thought someone had to make a stand, so I did," said Harper.

India said they had "no comment to offer" in reply to Harper's claims but he has been backed by the ICC.

"I never tolerated bullying when I was a teacher," Harper said, "and I don't think bullying should be allowed to continue here."

ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat told BBC Sport: "We've supported Daryl over many years.

"He has been a very good umpire and his statistics speak for themselves.

"It is unfortunate it has ended in the way it has in the West Indies but we support Daryl and it is fitting that he was on the elite panel."

Following the first Test between India and West Indies in June, which India won by 63 runs, captain Mahendra Dhoni condemned Harper's performance.
Dhoni said: "If the correct decisions were made the game would have finished much earlier and I would have been in the hotel by now."

His comments went unpunished by the match referee Jeff Crowe.

Indian newspapers also reported that "a very senior member of the side" had claimed that the entire team did not want Harper to officiate in the final Test.

"We don't want him - you can quote it as the reaction of the entire Indian team," was the alleged remark.

Harper had been due to officiate in the third Test a few days later but pulled out.

The 59-year-old Harper said: "There were a number of factors... but the main one was what I deemed was a lack of support from the ICC.