China to transfer submarine technology to Pakistan

kaonalpha

5 hours ago Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: China is to build in Karachi four out of eight submarines it is selling to Pakistan.

During the inaugural ceremony of Defence Export Promotion Organziation (DEPO), Minister for Defence Production Rana Tanveer Hussain told that the deal for the acquisition of eight submarines has been finalized and four of them will be built here.

He said construction of Submarines will simultaneously begin in Pakistan and China.

The motive of this exercise is to transfer the technology to Pakistan.

Mr Hussain did not specify when the construction would begin, but said it would be happening soon. A training centre would be set up in Karachi for this purpose.

The minister did not either say which type of submarines were being purchased from China. It is, however, speculated that the deal was for Yuan-class Type-041 diesel-electric submarines equipped with AIP systems.

Pakistan had earlier explored the options of buying submarines from France and Germany, but those deals did not materialise.

Is there any possibility of second assembly line or maintenance of subs in Ormara????

5 hours ago Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: China is to build in Karachi four out of eight submarines it is selling to Pakistan.

During the inaugural ceremony of Defence Export Promotion Organziation (DEPO), Minister for Defence Production Rana Tanveer Hussain told that the deal for the acquisition of eight submarines has been finalized and four of them will be built here.

He said construction of Submarines will simultaneously begin in Pakistan and China.

The motive of this exercise is to transfer the technology to Pakistan.

Mr Hussain did not specify when the construction would begin, but said it would be happening soon. A training centre would be set up in Karachi for this purpose.

The minister did not either say which type of submarines were being purchased from China. It is, however, speculated that the deal was for Yuan-class Type-041 diesel-electric submarines equipped with AIP systems.

Pakistan had earlier explored the options of buying submarines from France and Germany, but those deals did not materialise.
It is highly possible that we get ToT for building subs here in Karachi..It would be great for our engineers and scientists to learn the technicalities of building modern subs.........
BTW.Please post the source of the article

Pakistan with the ability to build their own AIP submarines, that would be amazing. :cheers:
Side by side, we will come over obstacles and do wonders.

maxresdefault.jpg

It is highly possible that we get ToT for building subs here in Karachi..It would be great for our engineers and scientists to learn the technicalities of building modern subs.........
BTW.Please post the source of the article

http://www.thenewstribe.com/2015/10/07/china-to-transfer-submarine-technology-to-pakistan/

Ramba Ramba samba! Neighbor would be like
KAHEEN CHINESE JO MIL JAATAY BIGARTA KIYA ZAMANAY KA
KHABAR KIYA THEE KAY YEH ANJAAM HO GA BONGIYAAN MARNAY KA

By that logic, Pakistan should have built couple of Augusta 90Bs by now. We did assemble one and manufactured the other at Karachi Shipyard.

I will take this news with a pinch of salt as this minister doesnot know anything about defence.Yesterday he was saying that JF 17 has impressed whole of the world..........I mean that i`d hope that this news is true......
Previously after building a few F-22P Frigates for PN in China, it has transferred the technology to Pakistan.
No reason to doubt the same with Submarine order, why else would they end up getting built in Pakistan.

what we did after TOT of agosta from france ? its just waste of resources pakistani shipyard can not make a sub or frigate by own even after 60 years of established

Pakistan got the ToT for 'assembling Agosta'....it still needed to import components from France. The MESMA AIP is a wonder of engineering, very few countries in the world can build it on their own. Pakistan asked France for 3 submarines and it was expected that Pakistan would order more or some south asia/south east asian nations would ask Pakistan to build Agosta 90s for them. Unfortunately that never happened, due to the ugly nature of the events that took place and killed 11 French engineers in Karachi, because a retarded Zardari could not forego his jahiliat.

The French while suspended work, they still honored full contract and completed the contract for 3 submarines. Had it been any other country, what do you think would've happened?

The 11 families of those engineers are still awaiting justice.

Previously after building a few F-22P Frigates for PN in China, it has transferred the technology to Pakistan.
No reason to doubt the same with Submarine order, why else would they end up getting built in Pakistan.
ok.Lets assume that Pakistan gets the ToT for building Yuann class subs.Then what.After building those 4 subs,it will be over.Our engineers wont capitalize on that and the the result would be that we will learn nothing new.Just as with F22p.After getting ToT we have to design on our own or at the least do some modifications on our own.For example,we knoe that F22 p is not good at AAW,so we had to modify and integrate some other medium range AAM onto it.But we wont do it and will wait for the chineese to come up with a solution.
I am not against getting ToT.But i m not sure how will it benifit us in the long run if we dont capitalize on it

what we did after TOT of agosta from france ? its just waste of resources pakistani shipyard can not make a sub or frigate by own even after 60 years of established

Yaar Imran bhai aisi baat nahin hai we because of that TOT we already have a system in place to design and develop our own vessels and that will be very useful while making these subs. These are different from the class of 90B, and I think that Pakistan should explore the option of French AIP systems as well to build a mix of Chinese and European system in this project.

By that logic, Pakistan should have built couple of Augusta 90Bs by now. We did assemble one and manufactured the other at Karachi Shipyard.

Because we had the know-how of these Subs, we were able to overhaul and Install the AIP system on them without hiring any outside help.

PNS Hamza commissioned in 2008 — was assembled at the Karachi Shipyard and Engineering Works. The other two Agosta 90-B submarines — PNS Khalid and PNS Saad — were also ingenuously overhauled and retrofitted with air-independent propulsion (AIP) systems in 2011.