BSNL to increase minimum broadband speed to 2 Mbps

thesolar65

BSNL currently offers a minimum speed of 512 Kbps and the move is part of its efforts for revival

Gurgaon: State-run BSNL will offer a minimum broadband speed of 2 mega bit per second (Mbps) from 1 October onwards to its customers, at no extra cost.

The company currently offers a minimum speed of 512 Kbps and the move is part of its efforts for revival. BSNL is loosing customers in mobile as well as landline to private operators. The company lost about 1.78 crore wireless and over 20 lakh wireline subscribers between March 2014 and March 2015.

The losses for the firm stood at Rs.7,600 crore. Given the hyper competition in the marker, BSNL’s announcement may also let private operators to offer higher speed at lower cost. Sectoral regulator Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (Trai) is also expected to soon redefine the definition of broadband speed, which is currently 512 kbps.

Launching the scheme here, telecom minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said that BSNL should have frequent interface with customers and the efforts taken on Monday by increasing the internet definition should help in digital India initiative, which is more for poor.

“We have increased the internet speed four times ...we have ensured 2 Mbps is available at last mile, which is the customer premises starting 1 October,” BSNL CMD Anupam Shrivastava said.

Srivastava added that BSNL is on a revival path and the company has added about 15 lakh mobile customers in last few months as against 7-8 lakh subscribers per month.

BSNL to increase minimum broadband speed to 2 Mbps - Livemint

@SrNair @Manindra @Ind4Ever @Mike_Brando @scorpionx @45'22' and other Indian members and particularly those who uses BSNL

I am a long time user of BSNL. I find it good.

Back home at guwahati we are using bsnl for very long time.. service is pathetic at most.. speed is miserable.. by introducing 2mpbs .. we wont be gaining any advantage with just 1gb FPU.. i mean wtf .. atleast increase the fpu or increase the base speed to 1mbps instead of 512kpbs.. they forgot to mention ridiculous 1gb fpu in the article.. jokers at bsnl have to try hard to compete with likes of airtel...
BSNL currently offers a minimum speed of 512 Kbps and the move is part of its efforts for revival

Gurgaon: State-run BSNL will offer a minimum broadband speed of 2 mega bit per second (Mbps) from 1 October onwards to its customers, at no extra cost.

The company currently offers a minimum speed of 512 Kbps and the move is part of its efforts for revival. BSNL is loosing customers in mobile as well as landline to private operators. The company lost about 1.78 crore wireless and over 20 lakh wireline subscribers between March 2014 and March 2015.

The losses for the firm stood at Rs.7,600 crore. Given the hyper competition in the marker, BSNL’s announcement may also let private operators to offer higher speed at lower cost. Sectoral regulator Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (Trai) is also expected to soon redefine the definition of broadband speed, which is currently 512 kbps.

Launching the scheme here, telecom minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said that BSNL should have frequent interface with customers and the efforts taken on Monday by increasing the internet definition should help in digital India initiative, which is more for poor.

“We have increased the internet speed four times ...we have ensured 2 Mbps is available at last mile, which is the customer premises starting 1 October,” BSNL CMD Anupam Shrivastava said.

Srivastava added that BSNL is on a revival path and the company has added about 15 lakh mobile customers in last few months as against 7-8 lakh subscribers per month.

BSNL to increase minimum broadband speed to 2 Mbps - Livemint

@SrNair @Manindra @Ind4Ever @Mike_Brando @scorpionx @45'22' and other Indian members and particularly those who uses BSNL

Mine was recently upgraded from 10 Mbps to 20 Mbps. I'm lovin it.

Back home at guwahati we are using bsnl for very long time.. service is pathetic at most.. speed is miserable.. by introducing 2mpbs .. we wont be gaining any advantage with just 1gb FPU.. i mean wtf .. atleast increase the fpu or increase the base speed to 1mbps instead of 512kpbs.. they forgot to mention ridiculous 1gb fpu in the article.. jokers at bsnl have to try hard to compete with likes of airtel...

what is FPU ??

Very good . But what about rental and unlimited packages ? Usually after 20 gb speed goes to 512 kps for unlimited

dont complain,,,,its a psu afterall,,,they r providing best in class/world class service.

Fair Usage Policy , your speed gets throttled after you exceed FUP limit

I am using BSNL WiMax, from last 2 years.
I have never noticed any such decrease in speed. I have even downloaded more than even 50-60gbs per month at times.

Also, Will ths speed increase is for broadband only ? or Wimax users will also get benefits.

I have never noticed any such decrease in speed. I have even downloaded more than even 50-60gbs per month at times.

Also, Will ths speed increase is for broadband only ? or Wimax users will also get benefits.

No idea i gave up bsnl 4 years ago

i was talking about BB only...
and secondly, i guess its only for BB plans..
dont complain,,,,its a psu afterall,,,they r providing best in class/world class service.
lol.. bhai are you kidding.. bsnl service in Assam/kolkatta/bihar is worst and pathetic compared to other states.. i know this.. here in bangalore bsnl is better than assam and other NE states.. in bangalore they also have variety of plans to suits your need.. they had to do this in bangalore becoz of competition from other ISP.. but in Bihar/Assam/ i guess even kolkata doesnt have other options.. so pathetic service.