Bride calls off marriage after groom fails ‘math test’
  • Hemendra Chaturvedi, Agra
    |
  • Updated: Dec 10, 2015 00:20 IST
india-mass-wedding-photo-gallery_ace3e026-9e7e-11e5-9757-458eb2c14214.jpg

A bride called off her marriage after the groom was unable to count beyond nine. (AP Photo)

A bride called off her marriage after the groom failed to count beyond nine and answer mathematical questions posed by her in Mainpuri district.

Guests who attended the wedding on Monday night said the girl had studied up to Class 8 and wanted to become a teacher. After the wedding was cancelled, the girl’s family alleged that the groom was ‘illiterate’ and ‘mentally unfit.’

The incident took place in Gulariapur village under Kishni police station. Srikrishna Babu Saxena, resident of Gulariapur, had fixed the marriage of his daughter Khushboo with Omveer, son of Rajendra Singh, resident of village Saraia, Oriya district.

When the marriage proceedings began, one of the bride’s friends told her that the groom was unable to recite the wedding mantras properly. It was then that Khushboo decided to ask Omveer a few mathematical questions.

When her parents tried to stop her, she told them she couldn’t get married to an illiterate person.

When asked to count the coins, Omveer couldn’t go beyond nine. Neither could he dial her mobile number nor was he able to tell the difference between 69 and 79. After asking several questions, Khushboo came to the conclusion that ‘he was mentally unfit’ and called off the wedding.

The villagers are proud of step taken by Khushboo and even the father of girl apologized for having fixed her marriage with such a bridegroom. “Those acting as intermediary allowed us to see the boy from a distance but we were not allowed to talk to him. Thus we could not make an assessment about the boy and shortcomings in his mental abilities’ said Sri Krishna Babu Saxena, the father of bride. Meanwhile the rejected bridegroom got married to another girl on Wednesday

The matter reached the panchayat but the bride refused to change her decision.
Bride calls off marriage after groom fails ‘math test’ | india | Hindustan Times

. . . . .
Great News. Im So proud of the Girl !
I feel, Women have and will Sacrifice far far more then Men and yet they never get the Credit they deserve.

Just watch 5 Minutes of this , that almost every women might go though .. FOR A MAN TO BE A FATHER !
Salute :

@Slav Defence
Is this type of video allowed ?

It is common in Sub Continent dude. :-)
Surprise. :azn:
No, it's not common.....I mean, in extreme cases(in remote rural areas) even if the bride-groom are not allowed to talk to each other, the family members are expected to take adequate information, talk to the bride-groom before settling for the marriage...

Bhai, Is Forum me Sabhi Mard hai.. zara Dekho to Kitne Mardo me vakai Mardanagi hai.. Ek Aurat ke dard ko Samajne ki.

PS : Its an EDUCATIONAL Video.

The doctors who operate are men themselves as well.Please stop generalizing all men as cause of women's misery.

regards

No, it's not common.....I mean, in extreme cases(in remote rural areas) even if the bride-groom are not allowed to talk to each other, the family members are expected to take adequate information before settling for the marriage...
Yes it is a responsibility of family members to confirm basic information.
BTW these things are not specifically related to rural areas.

The doctors who operate are men themselves as well.Please stop generalizing all men as cause of women's misery.

regards

What kind of logic is that ?

The fact is, that Men dont even bear even 1% of the Physical Pain that women has to, inorder to give birth to a child.

Mr. "Think Tank", With due respect, It was to Let people know the Ordeal Women has to go though to bear a Child !

"Pregnancy" is NOT a "Misery" Sir Ji... its a Regular Phenomenon, while most men are unaware of what goes inside the Operation Theatre.

if you know this, You need to Salute your Mother.. Your Wife.....
You have Ruined the Entire "Thought".

@Baby-5 @GURUDUTT

@XiNiX
Stop arguing and trolling your post is way off topic and for your info many people feel unconformable watching such videos. if you feel open new thread and mods will decide.

Mr. "Think Tank", With due respect, It was to Let people know the Ordeal Women has to go though to bear a Child !
"Pregnancy" is NOT a "Misery" Sir Ji... its a Regular Phenomenon, while most men are unaware of what goes inside the Operation Theatre.

You have Ruined the Entire "Thought".
Are you insane?
Where on earth did I said like that.Did you even bother to get correct context of my statement?You came up with such video and passed statement about ''mardangi'' and everything.
Read what you wrote and read my post again to understand the context.

regards

“Those acting as intermediary allowed us to see the boy from a distance but we were not allowed to talk to him. Thus we could not make an assessment about the boy and shortcomings in his mental abilities’ said Sri Krishna Babu Saxena, the father of bride...
I, kind of understand the situation now....