Balochistan govt will run Reko Diq projec*t'

ameer219

Balochistan govt will run Reko Diq projec*t

QUETTA: The Chief Minister of Balochistan Nawab Muhammad Aslam Khan Raisani said on Friday that the Balochistan government will itself run the multi-billion rupee Copper and Gold Reko Diq project in Chaghi district.

Talking to newsmen after the session of Balochistan Assembly, the Chief minister hailed the decision of Executive Committee of National Economic Council (Ecnec) regarding the handing over of Reko Diq project to the Balochistan government.

He said Balochistan will get Rs120 billion from the federal government under the head of arrears of Gas Development Surcharge. He said, this amount will be spent for the running of the Reko Diq project.

Answering a question, the minister said the provincial government had not made any agreement with Tethyan Copper Company for mining and that the agreement with the company was for exploration only. Raisani said charges of exploration will be paid to the company. He said the Gwadar Port and Reko Diq project are the assets of Balochistan and “no one can snatch them from us”.

He said the youth of Balochistan who are getting training in Balochistan Institute of Technical Education will be accommodated in Reko Diq Project.

‘Balochistan govt will run Reko Diq projec*t’ – The Express Tribune

Those of you who wanted a more credible source, I am quoting from dawn here...

Balochistan able to run Reko Diq project: CM | Business | DAWN.COM

Balochistan govt will run Reko Diq projec*t

QUETTA: The Chief Minister of Balochistan Nawab Muhammad Aslam Khan Raisani said on Friday that the Balochistan government will itself run the multi-billion rupee Copper and Gold Reko Diq project in Chaghi district.

Talking to newsmen after the session of Balochistan Assembly, the Chief minister hailed the decision of Executive Committee of National Economic Council (Ecnec) regarding the handing over of Reko Diq project to the Balochistan government.

He said Balochistan will get Rs120 billion from the federal government under the head of arrears of Gas Development Surcharge. He said, this amount will be spent for the running of the Reko Diq project.

Answering a question, the minister said the provincial government had not made any agreement with Tethyan Copper Company for mining and that the agreement with the company was for exploration only. Raisani said charges of exploration will be paid to the company. He said the Gwadar Port and Reko Diq project are the assets of Balochistan and “no one can snatch them from us”.

He said the youth of Balochistan who are getting training in Balochistan Institute of Technical Education will be accommodated in Reko Diq Project.

‘Balochistan govt will run Reko Diq projec*t’ – The Express Tribune

A very very good move.
economically
politically
strategically

Can not trust him. I dont even know if he understands what he is talking about and what annoys me is the bragging about gawadar and how no one can snatch it. Looks like a jalsa taqreer. Waiting for some credible source for the same information.

Degree degree hoti hai chahay asli ho ya jaili :lol:

Is bande se kon umeed rakh sakta hai.. par chalo achi statement di to taliyaaan

well forget about this project now.. im tryin hard to find the silver lining

main to kehta hon bas 5 lakh logon ko lo (volunteers)... or say Sindh main 1 din ke liye chutti do students ko

Take them to Coal mines and ask them to help scientists and engineers working for a day. You can keep the name of Brighter Pakistan or some emotional name.... we Pakistanis love to help our nation this way

That will accelerate the work on the ground and save some money :D

---------------------

Same Reko Diq ke liye bhi... 500,000 log lo aur un se 1 din free kaam karwao
bohat saving ho jaye gi aur bohat aage bhi nikal jayen ge hum - timeline ko peechay laa sakain ge

Sab se bari baat - natural resources ko khud hi utilize kar payen ge.... oh yes - agar 1 din kam ho to 1 week bhi chalay ga :rofl:

A very very good move.
economically
politically
strategically

correct.
But that will be possilble if Supreme Court rejects the TCC claim and declares that TCC is not entitled to mine the Reko Diq. It was given license for exploration only.
Do not involve foreign companies in any important projects like Reko Diq, Gwadar, Thar Coal, North Waziristan etc.
Btw, Is it true that Thar Coal blocks are being given to foreign companies ?

Degree degree hoti hai chahay asli ho ya jaili :lol:

Is bande se kon umeed rakh sakta hai.. par chalo achi statement di to taliyaaan

Will u please tell me , that, With the signing of TAPI pipeline , Has Iran-Pakistan pipeline deal cancelled. ?
Also what progress on Gwadar ?

Only when the Supreme Court rejects the TCC claim and declares that TCC does not have any right for Gold mining. Its license was for exploration only.
Also How much progress on Gwadar ?
or
Has it been made white elephant ?

Will u please tell me , that, With the signing of TAPI pipeline , Has Iran-Pakistan pipeline deal cancelled. ?
Why will it be? we have growing energy demands in the country. We would be willing to sign third gas pipeline too :lol:

The work on Iran-Pakistan gas pipeline has been accelerated recently and is due to be completed before schedule (2015)
Also what progress on Gwadar ?

Gwadar port has now become operational and the goods/containers are being off-loaded on this port. Gwadar city projects are running smoothly and will take some time to be completed everything.

There is one Motorway from Gwadar to Rotadaro that will connect Gwadar with all 4 provinces of Pakistan (after the completion of all motorway projects). I believe that M-8 motorway is 90% completed as per satellite images I saw from Google and once the motorway is ready, we will see increase in number of ships very soon.

Centre, Balochistan on warpath on Reko Diq

ISLAMABAD: An open war has erupted between the Presidency and the government of Balochistan on gold and copper mines of Reko Diq with the province determined to take over the whole project and manage it through Dr Samar Mubarakmand while the Centre is trying its best to hand it over to a foreign company. Dr Samar’s notification as member of the Planning Commission was not issued even on December 15, and on the other hand, the federal government attorneys stoutly defended the foreign company in the Supreme Court. The federal ministry of petroleum and natural resources had issued specific instruction to its lawyers to support the foreigners.

On the other hand, the government of Balochistan fought its case with full force and Advocate General of Balochistan Salah-ud-Din Mengal told The News his government is determined not to compromise the rights of the people of Balochistan.

He said his government plans to take over the whole operation of Reko Diq, which will be completed with the help of Dr Samar Mubarakmand. He said that if TCC did not give 25 per cent share from 60 million dollars it had earned to the government of Balochistan, legal proceedings would be initiated against it.

Credible sources have told The News that the deputy attorney general representing the federal government was instructed by the top bureaucrats of the ministry of petroleum to defend the foreign company’s stance to get the mining rights of Reko Diq lands. Sources also confirmed to The News that these top petroleum ministry bureaucrats were acting with full support of the Presidency.

The News has learnt that though no notification for extension in the contract of Dr Samar had so far been issued but he will continue on the job as the prime minister has instructed the Planning Division officials that Dr Samar would stay on the job. Sources also confided to The News that despite opposition from many powerful quarters, Prime Minister Gilani will approve the summary for the extension of Dr Samar’s contract in a few days.

Meanwhile, talking exclusively to The News, Dr Samar Mubarakmand said: “If we can extract metals like uranium, calcium, magnesium and zirconium from the ore and can use them as fuel in nuclear reactors, we can also extract copper and gold”.

The renowned Pakistani scientist long associated with the country’s missile programme said Pakistan possessed this mining technology for the last forty years. “We can do it. Yes, we can do it 100 per cent. We have everything and we will prove it,” Dr Samar said.

“As member of the planning commission one of my responsibilities includes minerals. So I worked on this and proposed this project to the government of Balochistan that we can undertake all the steps of processing, smeltering and refining the ore indigenously, with the help of our scientists and experts”.

He said that after the approval of the provincial government, as huge investment was needed for setting up of processing, smeltering and refining plants, the case for financial approval was put up before the Ecnec. As member of the planning commission, I defended the proposal and Ecnec approved it unanimously,” Dr Samar said.

“The day the government of Balochistan clears the field and asks me to start work I will immediately complete my team and will start work at Reko Diq within no time,” Dr Samar said adding:

“At Thar coal, the situation was the same. So I prepared a project, got all approvals and as the government of Sindh asked me to start work, we started it immediately and today there is only one operational project in 960 sq km area which is ours and it is heading forward very successfully.”

Dr Samar said that he would go to the Supreme Court whenever called to assist the court. He said his team will be provided with extracted ore from the mines, and will carry out all processes to make the finished product. Credible sources told The News that Ecnec had earmarked Rs9 billion for setting up of different plants.

Centre, Balochistan on warpath on Reko Diq