At 732 Million, India Tops List on Number of People Without Access to sanitation: Report

No. He is right. I am not claiming that the 78 million figure is wrong. The one come with this figure will have plenty of sources to back his claim. Leave it.

But i do know something that people in m village used to specially go to fields for this purpose... but that thing stopped some 10 years ago as every (and i can prove it that every) house in my village have a bathroom since then. We re-constructed our house. Some 8 years ago and we provided attached bathrooms with each room. This is the condition in villages. Even our guesthouses (generally separate rooms which opens toward the street) now too have an attach bathroom. Such isthe situation of samitation in my village. Bt i do agree that its not the same in far under developed areas of Sindh or let say Punjab... but still, 78 million is huge. And if it is true then we have no other option but to take this as serious as water issue and climate.
Chorr yaar,,,yaha kisko konsi serious discussion karni hai,dekha nahi already bhayyajees r going 'berserk':sarcastic:
Aur bolunga toh pata nahi kis kisko mirchi ki wazah se piles ho jayega.
U enjoy wrora.

700 million plus is shameful. All that boasting though lol

Nothing to worry about though, they have overtaken the U.K economy lol

Chorr yaar,,,yaha kisko konsi serious discussion karni hai

Yahe to almia (problem) hay janab... koi serious discussion karta e ni aaaj kal PDF pe. I was a silent reader for 4 years, then i joined (in 2015 i guess). I have seen the rise amd glory amd then fall of PDF.

U enjoy wrora

Hainn.... pashto... :o:

You too.... wroke jaana :enjoy:

Anyone who writes about third grade india, becomes a third grade writer/news paper/magazine/site

Pakistanis are not jealous of your lack of sanitation facilities. They are mocking your governments priorities that is busy building billion dollar statues while 732 million illiterate Indians are making creating piles of dump on open street.

The wire a third grade online magazine.
Report was in july 2017 ,more than one year ago and report was in nov 2017.
Lol
How can a bunch of Pakistanis knows about India?

Love to see the jealousy ,frustration and desperation of Pakistanis

Some indians don't have access to sanitation but there are some "north indians" who despite having access defecate out in the open. It's their belief with something regarding water.

Not some, MOST Indians.

funny, in this century other countries are looking for ways to improve the life of their people by scientific education while in India they are educating people to use toilet....sign of a real super power

Mate you wont be getting any reply by any macho indian on this thread

If you think that Indians are unaware about this issue please watch "Toilet - Ek Premkatha" movie... but if you think that their is no major change in situation, than you are wrong...

Today each and every household in my village has a toilet... and this was done in 2016... you may feel happy with OLD REPORTS...
But recent news is...

Three lakh lives saved: What WHO said about Swachh Bharat Mission impact
In a statement issued earlier this month, the WHO did, in fact, shower praise on the Prime Minister’s pet Swachh Bharat Mission. It said India could avert 3 lakh deaths — provided there is 100% implementation of the cleanliness drive by October 2019.
https://indianexpress.com/article/e...ch-bharat-mission-impact-a-bit-wrong-5307807/

But , but , but the CEO of Google is Indian...

I’m sure all those CEOs would love to come to India.. oh wait they are living in USA and loving it.

Makes me wonder why Indians brag about their brain drain rather than what’s happening in their country.
Those Indians who are CEOS of American companies are American citizens and not Indians. lol.

I wonder why Indians keep boasting about Indian CEOs, when in reality they are American citizens and have no allegiance to India.

2177987238_7bbebb0cd9_o.jpg

India, the world’s second-largest country by population, has the highest number of people (732 million) without access to sanitation, according to a new report.

The report by WaterAid, titled Out Of Order:The State of the World’s Sanitation 2017, further stated that 355 million women and girls lack access to a sanitation. If they were to stand in a line, the queue could circle the Earth more than four times.

Dashboard-1.png

India’s low ranking on the sanitation index is despite the changes brought by the government’s Swachh Bharat (Clean India) Mission. Launched in October 2014, it increased the country’s sanitation coverage from 39% to 65% by November 2017, according to government data. In this period, 52 million household sanitation were built in rural India.

The cleanliness campaign has reduced the proportion of people defecating in the open by 40%, meaning more than 100 million people now use sanitation, according to the WaterAid report.

India also ranks sixth among the top ten nations working to reduce open defecation and improving access to basic sanitation. The percentage of population without access to at least basic sanitation fell from 78.3% in 2000 to 56% in 2015, according to the report.

Diarrhoeal diseases kill 60,700 Indian children each year

Each year, 60,700 children under five years die from diarrhoeal diseases, the WaterAid report said.

Diarrhoea remains the second leading cause of death in Indian children under five years, killing an estimated 321 children every day in 2015, as IndiaSpend reported on July 29, 2017, based on a World Health Organization factsheet.

Hookworms, which can spread through open defecation, cause diarrhoea, anaemia and weight loss in women, according to the report. These problems are linked to low birth weight and slow child growth – 38% of children in India under five are stunted, according to the National Family Health Survey, 2015-16, (NFHS-4) data.

Indian states with poor access to sanitation report high incidence of diarrhoeal diseases. Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Assam and Chhattisgarh had the highest rate of mortality among children under five years of age, higher stunting (low height-for-age) rates and higher prevalence of diarrhoea due to poor sanitation, as IndiaSpend reported on April 26, 2017, based on NFHS-4.

Screen-Shot-2017-11-16-at-11.26.31-AM.png

The tables above show the top five and bottom five states based on the percentage of households with improved sanitation, according to NFHS-4. States with higher percentage of improved sanitation have lower levels of anaemia among women (both pregnant and non-pregnant). These states also reported fewer cases of diarrhoea than the national average.

For example, Kerala, which had the highest percentage of households with improved sanitation (98.1%) – the national average was 48.4% – also had the lowest prevalence of diarrhoea (3.4%) and the lowest percentage of women with anaemia (22.6%).

Bihar, with only 25% households using improved sanitation, had the highest prevalence of diarrhoea (10.2%) and the highest percentage of anaemic pregnant women (58.3%).

For women, high risk of illiteracy, harassment

Apart from poor health, lack of sanitation means that more than 1.1 billion women and girls globally get limited education and face harassment. In rural India, high dropout rates and non-enrolment among girls can be attributed to absence of sanitation facilities, as IndiaSpend reported on July 19, 2017.

In rural India, 23% of girls have listed menstruation as the chief reason for dropping out of school. As many as 28% of them said they do not go to school during their period because they lack clean and affordable protection, as IndiaSpend reported on June 19, 2017.

Sanitation policies should cover the needs of those who are vulnerable, said Raman V.R., head of policy at WaterAid India.

“Adolescent girls and women want facilities in which they can manage their periods safely and hygienically,” he said. “Pregnant women need easily accessible and usable toilets, and the elderly or people with disability require toilets with design features that help overcome the physical constraints they typically face.”

Prachi Salve is an analyst at IndiaSpend.

https://thewire.in/health/732-million-india-tops-list-number-people-without-access-toilets-report

I am guessing this is a lie as well? 732 million don't have proper sanitation, but India is rich, India is safe for women and kids, India is great, India is awesome, India is beautiful.

All the Pakistanis are really going crazy about this report without looking at the nation standing at second position... your new finance boss is still there even after doing so much... change need time specially when you are as populated as India and China...

Meanwhile to help their ego...

LAHORE: Pakistan is the seventh worst country in terms of access to basic sanitation, as its 42 per cent of the population remains without access to basic sanitation.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1372293

Those Indians who are CEOS of American companies are American citizens and not Indians. lol.

I wonder why Indians keep boasting about Indian CEOs, when in reality they are American citizens and have no allegiance to India.

OK... so what about Pakistanis living in foreign... whom you are begging now a days to help by putting money in Pakistani banks... they are also CITIZENS of their respective countries...

Do they have any allegiance to Pakistan???

Litrally... anything for the sake of feeling happy...

Pichai Sundararajan is helping several tech start-ups in Bangalore in his personal capacity... I can't say about others...

Check the latest data high on IQ people of PDF, before trolling shamelessly.

India is WIP, even if there remain one person without access to proper sanitation or clean water its shameful. Though in recent years I have seen changes by myself, I come from a small town of central india in state of C.G, and as growing up I have seen people openly defecating, but in recent years our district has achieved 100% sanitation with access to toilets, clean water, garbage disposal etc... you can check data by yourself in nic.gov.in.

It's okay to shame and troll if government is seeing this and not working toward upliftment, but that's not the case here government of india is working hard to eradicate this by providing and motivating people towards using clean practices.