Army converts one infantry division into RAMFOR

Veeru

Army converts one infantry division into RAMFOR

New Delhi, Oct 20 (PTI) Sharpening its capabilities to carry out operations on enemy shores, the Indian Army has converted one of its infantry divisions with over 10,000 troops into a Reorganised Amphibious Formation (RAMFOR). :bounce::devil::victory:::smokin:

The Hyderabad-based 54 Infantry Division has been converted into an amphibious formation to bolster capabilities to carry out amphibious operations, Army sources told PTI here.

They said majority of the work in converting the Division into an amphibious formation was carried out under present Commandant of the Army War College Lt Gen Anil Chait.

The Army has already raised three brigades to carry out the amphibious operations. Of the three, one is based in South India, another in West India and the third in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. :yahoo:

The Army has been looking to increase its amphibious brigades in the island territories of Andaman and Nicobar by increasing its presence there."These developments are significant in view of the increasing presence of the Chinese Navy in the vicinity," said defence analyst Commander (retd) Sunil Chauhan.

The Army is looking to increase its amphibious war-fighting assets also with plans of acquiring light infantry combat vehicles for such operations.In this direction, the Navy has inducted the INS Jalashwa from the US for amphibious operations and is looking to acquire four more such ships from indigenous sources in near future. :smokin: :cheers:

The Cabinet Committee on Security had also recently cleared a Navy proposal for procuring eight amphibious assault vessels from the Garden Reach Shipbuilders under a Rs 2,176 crore deal.

Army converts one infantry division into RAMFOR, IBN Live News

A year old video but shows how India will use its amphibious warfare for the cull.

I hear there is also going to be a huge amphibious training centre located at A&N for all amphibious brigades.

Interesting-10,000 soldiers powered at A&N- that's a significant deterrent and a very smart move by IA in placing its troops in such a strategically important location.

54 th Infantry division was an Air assault division which was the first division to be sent in SL under IPKF.

Interesting-10,000 soldiers powered at A&N- that's a significant deterrent and a very smart move by IA in placing its troops in such a strategically important location.
Actually the renewed interest in the security of our islands is really great and i must say all the credit goes to Somali Pirates otherwise the great disinterest in the security of our islands would have definitely cost us the islands in the near future as these islands are actually of strategic importance but nobody in New Delhi understands this.

we are building our amphibious capabilities but slowly IN is interested in ships like the Mistral class ships should we get them then we need to have at least a force of 20,000 troops whose training and capabilities would be similar to the US marine corps in fact why not make a Indian Marine corps anyway?

Slowly ? the deal for 4 amphibious warships is cleared by CCS even before the shipyard and In could select the design. I mean its fast bro and it looks like there will be two production line that mean 2 LPDs will be built simultaneously. I bet they can be build before the end of this decade.

There's also a joint IA-IN or just IN (not sure) marine force planned of around 30k-40k troops. If its joint force then these IA division will be joined with this force.

Yes I told before Cold Start may not be land only it may be by sea and capturing of Karachi or Gwadar....

Now its becoming reality..... 20000 (Infantry + Navy Marines ) backed by heavy Bombardment from Missile boat and Aircraft Carrier and Sea Air support.

jb_wwii_dday_3_e.jpg

Indian Troops practised in Andaman and Nicobar Typical Landing of Normandy

Yes I told before Cold Start may not be land only it may be by sea and capturing of Karachi or Gwadar....

Now its becoming reality..... 20000 (Infantry + Navy Marines ) backed by heavy Bombardment from Missile boat and Aircraft Carrier and Sea Air support.

jb_wwii_dday_3_e.jpg

Indian Troops practised in Andaman and Nicobar Typical Landing of Normandy

Are bhai saab ye fotu to US army, US navy ka hai..... Just look on 2nd one from right US has mentioned over there.... Nice pic though

Pakistan must counter this indian move.Indian in the guise of defending Andmans and aginst pirates they raise this Amphibious assault brigade but we know every indian military move is directed against pakistan.Indians are planning for Blaochistan and karachi amphibious landing and pakistan must thwart this indian attempt by landing at mumbai.

But How ? give some light on Pak defences

OMG, did you really say putting army men in A&N is a move against pakistan?:rofl: or was it just your fingers brushing your keyboard unknowingly as you were sleeping? :azn::azn:
Do you even know where A&N Islands lie? If I were you, I wouldnt go exposing the flaws of the Pakistani educational system like you just did. :pakistan:

BEFORE COUNTER INDIA MAKE SOME MONEY TO INCREASE ARMY INFRA.

EACH AND EVERY ACTION OF INDIAN ARMY IS NOT DIRECTED TOWARDS PAKISTAN,THE IA IS INCREASING ITS STRENTH TO GET DETTERANCE AGAINST CHINA NOT PAKISTAN, BECAUSE WE DID NOT COMPARE WITH INCOMPARABLE THINGS LIKE PAKISTAN AND INDIA.