Allahabad Univ VC can sleep better, Mosque reduces Azaan volume

Drizzt

Prof. Sangita Srivastava had complained to DM that her sleep was disturbed due to loud azaan
Sabrangindia19 Mar 2021

Allahabad%20Univ.jpg
Image Courtesy:thewire.in
Allahabad University’s vice-chancellor Prof. Sangita Srivastava had had her wish of uninterrupted morning slumber come true, as the mosque committee of Lal Mosque, has now decided to reduce the volume by 50 percent, and also change the direction of the speaker away from her house, reported The Wire. Prof. Sangita Srivastava had written to District Magistrate Bhanu Chandra Goswami complaining that she was forced to wake up too early every day, due to the azaan being recited on a loudspeaker. She urged the DM to take action as her “sleep [gets] so disturbed [that it] does not resume even after trying very hard.”

Her complaint soon went viral and she was quoted as writing that her “disturbed” sleep “also results in a headache throughout the day, causing losses in working hours”. The VC claimed that she is not against any religion, and suggested that the azaan can be recited even without a loudspeaker. However, she also complained about the announcement of sehri, the morning meal consumed by Muslims in the month of Ramzan, stated the news report.

“Your freedom ends where my nose begins,” Srivastava wrote adding, “I am not against any religion, caste or creed, they may perform the Azan without the mike so that others are not disturbed. Even before Eid, they announce Sehri on the mike at 4.00 am. This practice also creates disturbance to other people.” She cited an Allahabad high court judgement from 2020 in her letter that said azaan was an essential part of Islam, but not its recitation through the use of loudspeakers.

According to news reports it was in January 2020, that the Allahabad High Court had ruled that no religion advocates the use of loudspeakers for worship. The petitioner had challenged an administrative order in the Jaunpur district of Uttar Pradesh where use of loudspeaker for azaan had been banned. The high court had said, “No religion prescribes that prayers are required to be performed through voice amplifiers or by beating of drums If there is such a practice, it should not adversely affect rights of the others, including that of not being disturbed.” The details of the Allahabad HC ruling may be read here. The court was hearing a plea by Ghazipur MP Afzal Ansari Congress Leader Salman Khurshid and senior advocate S Wasim A Qadri. A division bench comprising Justices Shashikant Gupta and Ajit Kumar ruled that azaan may be recited by the muezzin from mosque minarets “by human voice without using any amplifying device and the administration is directed not to cause hindrance… unless such guidelines are being violated.”

The bench had also banned use of amplifying devices from 10 PM to 6 AM. In response to Ansari’s plea, the Uttar Pradesh government had filed a counter affidavit stating that Azaan was a call to congregate for prayer and hence a violation of lockdown protocol.

Now, the VC also sent copies of her complaint to the Allahabad divisional commissioner, the Inspector General of Police and the senior superintendent of police. The Wire report quoted Prayagraj IG of police Kavindra Pratap Singh who said he will be “writing to all SP’s, telling them that without permission there should not be any public address at religious places.” He added that a meeting will also be held to explain this to the “concerned parties” and said the instructions will be communicated to them and “they will be asked to follow them.”

Meanwhile, the news report stated that Kalimurrahman, caretaker at Masjid-e-Noor also known as Lal Masjid, confirmed that they have already reduced the volume of the speaker by 50 percent, and also changed the direction of the speaker facing her house, and tilted it towards the road. He added, “The issue could have been solved amicably even if she had come to us once,” it was reported that the VC’s house is almost 400 metres away from the mosque.

Meanwhile, it is not yet known if the VC is now satisfied with this solution, but it is not the first time Azaan call has been targeted, especially ahead of Ramzan. In April 2020, two Delhi policemen had unilaterally decided to ban azaan drawing flak for targeting the customs of the Muslim community. The Gujarat government too had banned the use of loudspeakers and public gatherings for religious events. While on the surface, the order seems to apply to religious functions of all communities, the timing of it was curious given how it was issued after the various lunar new year celebrations of other communities, but just before Ramzan began.
https://sabrangindia.in/article/allahabad-univ-vc-can-sleep-better-mosque-reduces-azaan-volume

Nice, good news pe good news.. where are the acche din doubters now ? :D

@padamchen

Every time I have my reservations about Hindutva I am encouraged to spend some time between bans on PDF.

And funnily Iranian brothers tell me that you guys are probably the only people on earth who understand militant Islam well. And are going about it the right way.

Imagine the irony. I was gobsmacked man ....

And we've been wishing each other Nowruz Pirouz a few days back too.

Cheers, Doc

Every time I have my reservations about Hindutva I am encouraged to spend some time between bans on PDF.

And funnily Iranian brothers tell me that you guys are probably the only people on earth who understand militant Islam well. And are going about it the right way.

Imagine the irony. I was gobsmacked man ....

And we've been wishing each other Nowruz Pirouz a few days back too.

Cheers, Doc
Not surprised, the Iranians (despite, or perhaps to an extent because of their current circumstances) know the score.

As they say, those fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it.

We here are quite a learned bunch. Our poorvajes very silly to remain pacifist in the face of an unapologetically aggressive expansionist ideology. Never again bro, never.. and shayad aap logon se acchi tareh koi bhi nahi ye samajhta hai.

All said and done, though.. warts and all.. they're still very humanitarian in how they're going about it, the current Hindutvawadi lot.

Jai Sri Ram, Yatha Ahu Vairyo because Satyamev Jayate.

To be fair, the muslims living in hindu india have no right to do azaan in a loud speaker. If they want all freedom of religion, they should demand a new country. U cannot have all ur religious freedom while being a minority.

Not surprised, the Iranians (despite, or perhaps to an extent because of their current circumstances) know the score.

As they say, those fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it.

We here are quite a learned bunch. Our poorvajes very silly to remain pacifist in the face of an unapologetically aggressive expansionist ideology. Never again bro, never.. and shayad aap logon se acchi tareh koi bhi nahi ye samajhta hai.

All said and done, though.. warts and all.. they're still very humanitarian in how they're going about it, the current Hindutvawadi lot.

Jai Sri Ram, Yatha Ahu Vairyo because Satyamev Jayate.

The thread about the Uttarakhand mandirs being closed to non Hindus.

You cannot imagine how happy I was to read that.

A temple is NOT a community center. It is designed for a single purpose. And that is worship and your connect with your celestial maker.

All your power and energy and good vibes and purity of thought and words and action and cleansing of your soul and energy chakras happens there.

I have NEVER understood the very Abrahamic concept of Hindus letting anyone and everyone traipse into their holiest temples.

I really get Sabarimala and Jagannath temples.

Its time you guys take off your neo liberal pseudo secular garbs and revert to tradition.

Cheers, Doc

Prof. Sangita Srivastava had complained to DM that her sleep was disturbed due to loud azaan
Sabrangindia19 Mar 2021

Allahabad%20Univ.jpg
Allahabad University’s vice-chancellor Prof. Sangita Srivastava had had her wish of uninterrupted morning slumber come true, as the mosque committee of Lal Mosque, has now decided to reduce the volume by 50 percent, and also change the direction of the speaker away from her house, reported The Wire. Prof. Sangita Srivastava had written to District Magistrate Bhanu Chandra Goswami complaining that she was forced to wake up too early every day, due to the azaan being recited on a loudspeaker. She urged the DM to take action as her “sleep [gets] so disturbed [that it] does not resume even after trying very hard.”

Her complaint soon went viral and she was quoted as writing that her “disturbed” sleep “also results in a headache throughout the day, causing losses in working hours”. The VC claimed that she is not against any religion, and suggested that the azaan can be recited even without a loudspeaker. However, she also complained about the announcement of sehri, the morning meal consumed by Muslims in the month of Ramzan, stated the news report.

“Your freedom ends where my nose begins,” Srivastava wrote adding, “I am not against any religion, caste or creed, they may perform the Azan without the mike so that others are not disturbed. Even before Eid, they announce Sehri on the mike at 4.00 am. This practice also creates disturbance to other people.” She cited an Allahabad high court judgement from 2020 in her letter that said azaan was an essential part of Islam, but not its recitation through the use of loudspeakers.

According to news reports it was in January 2020, that the Allahabad High Court had ruled that no religion advocates the use of loudspeakers for worship. The petitioner had challenged an administrative order in the Jaunpur district of Uttar Pradesh where use of loudspeaker for azaan had been banned. The high court had said, “No religion prescribes that prayers are required to be performed through voice amplifiers or by beating of drums If there is such a practice, it should not adversely affect rights of the others, including that of not being disturbed.” The details of the Allahabad HC ruling may be read here. The court was hearing a plea by Ghazipur MP Afzal Ansari Congress Leader Salman Khurshid and senior advocate S Wasim A Qadri. A division bench comprising Justices Shashikant Gupta and Ajit Kumar ruled that azaan may be recited by the muezzin from mosque minarets “by human voice without using any amplifying device and the administration is directed not to cause hindrance… unless such guidelines are being violated.”

The bench had also banned use of amplifying devices from 10 PM to 6 AM. In response to Ansari’s plea, the Uttar Pradesh government had filed a counter affidavit stating that Azaan was a call to congregate for prayer and hence a violation of lockdown protocol.

Now, the VC also sent copies of her complaint to the Allahabad divisional commissioner, the Inspector General of Police and the senior superintendent of police. The Wire report quoted Prayagraj IG of police Kavindra Pratap Singh who said he will be “writing to all SP’s, telling them that without permission there should not be any public address at religious places.” He added that a meeting will also be held to explain this to the “concerned parties” and said the instructions will be communicated to them and “they will be asked to follow them.”

Meanwhile, the news report stated that Kalimurrahman, caretaker at Masjid-e-Noor also known as Lal Masjid, confirmed that they have already reduced the volume of the speaker by 50 percent, and also changed the direction of the speaker facing her house, and tilted it towards the road. He added, “The issue could have been solved amicably even if she had come to us once,” it was reported that the VC’s house is almost 400 metres away from the mosque.

Meanwhile, it is not yet known if the VC is now satisfied with this solution, but it is not the first time Azaan call has been targeted, especially ahead of Ramzan. In April 2020, two Delhi policemen had unilaterally decided to ban azaan drawing flak for targeting the customs of the Muslim community. The Gujarat government too had banned the use of loudspeakers and public gatherings for religious events. While on the surface, the order seems to apply to religious functions of all communities, the timing of it was curious given how it was issued after the various lunar new year celebrations of other communities, but just before Ramzan began.
https://sabrangindia.in/article/allahabad-univ-vc-can-sleep-better-mosque-reduces-azaan-volume
Suddenly its azan.
Economic issues, solved.
Law and order issues, solved.
Internal politics in order.
Only azan is remaining to be fixed.

To be fair, the muslims living in hindu india have no right to do azaan in a loud speaker. If they want all freedom of religion, they should demand a new country. U cannot have all ur religious freedom while being a minority.

It's something that Indian Muslims should have understood decades ago, their leadership failed them

I instigate alot on Indian social media and the poison there is unmatched anywhere in the world

Indians genuinely hate each other

And as a divided society they are dividing even more, becoming localities, pushing the other out

Indian Muslims are in on the act now, and begun to understand the importance of these Indian Muslim only areas

India is only going ONE WAY and it's something that Pakistani patriots need to oil, whether it be Sikhs, Dalits, Indian Muslims we need to act

A temple is NOT a community center. It is designed for a single purpose. And that is worship and your connect with your celestial maker

Sadguru disagree with you on this. He says Mandir was not a place of warship. It was just a place where people will come and sit. And that's it. Spend sometime here and than go back.

He's a long haired weed smoking baba who's a kindred spirit biker and lived an interesting life before people started lapping up his alternative soft Hindutva spiel.

I find him harmless but I really cannot listen to more than 5 minutes of his very lengthy videos in spite of many of my well meaning enthusiastic sanghi friends insisting that he's the next best thing after sliced bread.

I won't say he's fake. I think he''s a genuine gyani with interesting views. But I'm not the guru sort of guy or one who will touch people's feet.

Plus I'm not much younger than him either. That helps.

Cheers, Doc

He's a long haired weed smoking baba who's a kindred spirit biker and lived an interesting life before people started lapping up his alternative soft Hindutva spiel.

I find him harmless but I really cannot listen to more than 5 minutes of his very lengthy videos in spite of many of my well meaning enthusiastic sanghi friends insisting that he's the next best thing after sliced bread.

I won't say he's fake. I think he''s a genuine gyani with interesting views. But I'm not the guru sort of guy or one who will touch people's feet.

Plus I'm not much younger than him either. That helps.

Cheers, Doc

It's good to know how much you admire him :P .. though you should have also commented on his "claim". But considering that you just consider him a genuine, weed smoking Baba only, I won't insist on getting a comment .

No I think that is bs.

Temples are channels of energy.

Always have been.

Hindus are only now beginning to slowly unapologetically go back to some of the traditional orthodox tenets of their religion.

For too long they have been fed and subliminally accepted that theirs is a free for all faith without dogma and open to everything.

Cheers, Doc

Sabrangindia19 Mar 2021

Allahabad%20Univ.jpg

While she may sleep better, her bigotry will never improve.

I see you have toned it down nicely after the news of PDF having to abide by Indian laws.

Accha hai.

How are we sleeping now?

Cheers, Doc